Page 1 of 1

ARP 2600 questions: patch cables / voltage

Posted: Fri Jul 08, 2011 3:17 am
by username
my friend is letting me borrow an ARP 2600 that hasn't been used in years. just curious, will it take normal 1/8 mini or something else? i assume it's easy enough to wire up my own, but are there any caveats? I have a ton of doepfer cables. can it use those? what about inter-voltage issues between a 2600 and a eurorack?

Re: ARP 2600 questions: patch cables / voltage

Posted: Fri Jul 08, 2011 3:39 am
by CZ Rider
username wrote:my friend is letting me borrow an ARP 2600 that hasn't been used in years. just curious, will it take normal 1/8 mini or something else?
Unless it is modified,an Arp 2600 used Switchcraft Tini-jax. They are .141" and very close to the 3.5mm that euro systems use. YMMV as many users swap in 3.5mm without any problems. Usually the problem is the tip on the 3.5mm sometimes does not have the correct width to disengage the switching type 42 Switchcraft jacks. Or touching a patch cord might trigger an intermittent connection. But it should do no harm to use 3.5mm patch cords with a Tini-jax system like the Arp/Aries/Buchla. But I would not plug a .141" Switchcraft patchcord into a 3.5mm euro jack. The Tini-jax are about 3.58mm dia.

Re: ARP 2600 questions: patch cables / voltage

Posted: Fri Jul 08, 2011 8:45 am
by Automatic Gainsay
CZ Rider wrote:
username wrote:my friend is letting me borrow an ARP 2600 that hasn't been used in years. just curious, will it take normal 1/8 mini or something else?
Unless it is modified,an Arp 2600 used Switchcraft Tini-jax. They are .141" and very close to the 3.5mm that euro systems use. YMMV as many users swap in 3.5mm without any problems. Usually the problem is the tip on the 3.5mm sometimes does not have the correct width to disengage the switching type 42 Switchcraft jacks. Or touching a patch cord might trigger an intermittent connection.
THANK YOU. This explains EVERYTHING!!! I was sure my jacks had just become loose with age!

Re: ARP 2600 questions: patch cables / voltage

Posted: Thu Jul 14, 2011 4:31 pm
by xpander
i had no idea! i've got a bunch of tini-jax cables for my Buchla, i'll give 'em a try.

Re: ARP 2600 questions: patch cables / voltage

Posted: Thu Jul 14, 2011 4:45 pm
by Automatic Gainsay
xpander wrote:i had no idea! i've got a bunch of tini-jax cables for my Buchla, i'll give 'em a try.
Are these things still made? Does anyone have a source for them?

Re: ARP 2600 questions: patch cables / voltage

Posted: Tue Nov 24, 2015 9:05 am
by thermite zapruder
Automatic Gainsay wrote:
xpander wrote:i had no idea! i've got a bunch of tini-jax cables for my Buchla, i'll give 'em a try.
Are these things still made? Does anyone have a source for them?
Did you ever find a source for them?

Re: ARP 2600 questions: patch cables / voltage

Posted: Tue Nov 24, 2015 10:25 am
by ppg_wavecomputer
CZ Rider wrote:
username wrote:my friend is letting me borrow an ARP 2600 that hasn't been used in years. just curious, will it take normal 1/8 mini or something else?
Unless it is modified,an Arp 2600 used Switchcraft Tini-jax. They are .141" and very close to the 3.5mm that euro systems use. YMMV as many users swap in 3.5mm without any problems. Usually the problem is the tip on the 3.5mm sometimes does not have the correct width to disengage the switching type 42 Switchcraft jacks. Or touching a patch cord might trigger an intermittent connection. But it should do no harm to use 3.5mm patch cords with a Tini-jax system like the Arp/Aries/Buchla. But I would not plug a .141" Switchcraft patchcord into a 3.5mm euro jack. The Tini-jax are about 3.58mm dia.
This, plus corroded connectors within the switching jacks which hardly make any contact at all -- or too much contact which can render entire sections of the instrument unusable (i. e. when unplugging, the jack still behaves as if something was plugged in).

I had nearly all jacks replaced on my 2600. Now it's working quite the way it should -- sort of.

Stephen

Re: ARP 2600 questions: patch cables / voltage

Posted: Tue Nov 24, 2015 10:33 pm
by thermite zapruder
ppg_wavecomputer wrote:
I had nearly all jacks replaced on my 2600. Now it's working quite the way it should -- sort of.

Stephen
Are the new jacks Tini-Jax and, if so, do you have a source for the cables?

Re: ARP 2600 questions: patch cables / voltage

Posted: Wed Nov 25, 2015 12:49 am
by ppg_wavecomputer
thermite zapruder wrote:
ppg_wavecomputer wrote:
I had nearly all jacks replaced on my 2600. Now it's working quite the way it should -- sort of.

Stephen
Are the new jacks Tini-Jax and, if so, do you have a source for the cables?
The new jacks were manufactured by Switchcraft but they were not called Tini-Jax. It was the standard 1/8" type of jack that works well with my other cables (original ARP cables and self-made ones).

Stephen

Re: ARP 2600 questions: patch cables / voltage

Posted: Wed Nov 25, 2015 2:00 am
by piRoN
thermite zapruder wrote:
Automatic Gainsay wrote:
xpander wrote:i had no idea! i've got a bunch of tini-jax cables for my Buchla, i'll give 'em a try.
Are these things still made? Does anyone have a source for them?
Did you ever find a source for them?
Digikey still has Tini-Plug and Tini-Jax in stock, if you're up for rolling your own cables.

See here.

Re: ARP 2600 questions: patch cables / voltage

Posted: Sat Nov 28, 2015 7:17 am
by analoglsd
The cables labeled as audio cables are the ones as well.
http://www.buchla.com/product-category/accessories/