A-ha "Take On Me" sound.

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.
Post Reply
bigman2005
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 11:15 pm

A-ha "Take On Me" sound.

Post by bigman2005 » Mon Aug 29, 2011 11:07 am

This article should shed some light on what synths were used
http://www.soundonsound.com/sos/mar11/a ... s-0311.htm

mizu
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 66
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 9:02 am
Real name: Seiji
Gear: Casio MA-101 (going to buy a synth to replace that toy keyboard)
Yanagisawa Saxophone
Location: Tokyo, Japan

Re: A-ha "Take On Me" sound.

Post by mizu » Mon Aug 29, 2011 11:34 am

prophet5 it is. I heard they first used yamaha DX 7 but they ended up with the prophet 5

User avatar
philip
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 625
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2005 6:52 pm
Real name: Philip
Contact:

Re: A-ha "Take On Me" sound.

Post by philip » Mon Aug 29, 2011 6:01 pm

Last time I saw them, Magne did use 106 for all those sounds.

bigman2005
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 11:15 pm

Re: A-ha "Take On Me" sound.

Post by bigman2005 » Mon Aug 29, 2011 9:25 pm

Juno 60 was used for the main sound

DX7, and PPG Wave were also in the studio at the time.

User avatar
iProg
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1019
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 1:28 pm
Real name: Carl
Gear: Prophet-5, Korg PolySix, Roland D-50, JV-1080
Band: ArtWithHeart
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Contact:

Re: A-ha "Take On Me" sound.

Post by iProg » Fri Dec 02, 2011 3:26 pm

The melody line is DX-7 layered with PPG. The pads are P5.

User avatar
philip
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 625
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2005 6:52 pm
Real name: Philip
Contact:

Re: A-ha "Take On Me" sound.

Post by philip » Sat Dec 03, 2011 1:28 am

iProg wrote:The melody line is DX-7 layered with PPG. The pads are P5.
To me the melody sound is more like analog,I made something similar with my 106,so I think that was made with juno60 layered with dx7 or PPG. And I can repeat,Magne did use juno 106 for that sound on the last concert

gunnare
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 1:18 am

Re: A-ha "Take On Me" sound.

Post by gunnare » Sat Dec 03, 2011 1:47 pm

bigman2005 wrote:This article should shed some light on what synths were used
http://www.soundonsound.com/sos/mar11/a ... s-0311.htm
Hm , it should not be difficult to read that text, it says:

“When they came to RG Jones, my equipment was already there,” adds Tarney. “This included a [Roland] Juno 60 that provided the song’s main theme and which I still use, as well as a UMI computer system that a friend of mine put together, and which Vince Clark also used. "


And I remeber Magne said to a norwegian music magazine that he used juno60 for the main theme.

User avatar
Nightdare
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 8:44 pm
Real name: Jacky
Gear: Roland D-50 / XV-88
Various guitars
Location: Neverlands

Re: A-ha "Take On Me" sound.

Post by Nightdare » Mon Dec 05, 2011 7:52 pm

Hm, I'm guessing "The Sun Always Shines On TV" was done with the same setup

Though I'm wondering how they done the piano intro for that

User avatar
DLovas
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 495
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 8:48 pm
Real name: David
Gear: Roland JP-8000
Roland JV-1080
Roland D-550
Roland S-760 (3x)
Waldorf Pulse+
u-he Zebra2
Location: Connecticut

Re: A-ha "Take On Me" sound.

Post by DLovas » Mon Dec 05, 2011 7:53 pm

i know that they used to have an alesis a6 andromeda - not sure if it was used in that song but possibly.

User avatar
philip
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 625
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2005 6:52 pm
Real name: Philip
Contact:

Re: A-ha "Take On Me" sound.

Post by philip » Mon Dec 05, 2011 8:20 pm

DLovas wrote:i know that they used to have an alesis a6 andromeda - not sure if it was used in that song but possibly.

OMG :facepalm:

User avatar
Nightdare
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 8:44 pm
Real name: Jacky
Gear: Roland D-50 / XV-88
Various guitars
Location: Neverlands

Re: A-ha "Take On Me" sound.

Post by Nightdare » Mon Dec 05, 2011 11:11 pm

May I?




Aha - Take On ME
1984


Alesis Andromeda
2000

User avatar
madtheory
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 5456
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 12:45 pm
Real name: Tomas Mulcahy
Gear: Wurlitzer Opus 1536, Model F, Morovdis Arpeggiator, Maplin My First EQ, Jeff Wayne Thunderchild rack, Thermostat, Buck Owens' Moog.
Location: Cork, Ireland
Contact:

Re: A-ha "Take On Me" sound.

Post by madtheory » Mon Dec 05, 2011 11:34 pm

Nightdare wrote:Hm, I'm guessing "The Sun Always Shines On TV" was done with the same setup

Though I'm wondering how they done the piano intro for that
Probably with a piano.

User avatar
Nightdare
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 8:44 pm
Real name: Jacky
Gear: Roland D-50 / XV-88
Various guitars
Location: Neverlands

Re: A-ha "Take On Me" sound.

Post by Nightdare » Mon Dec 05, 2011 11:38 pm

madtheory wrote:Probably with a piano.
:lol:

yeah I figured

It's more the 'mix' I'm trying to figure out, should be doable with something like Proteus VX and some eq/fx Right?

User avatar
DLovas
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 495
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 8:48 pm
Real name: David
Gear: Roland JP-8000
Roland JV-1080
Roland D-550
Roland S-760 (3x)
Waldorf Pulse+
u-he Zebra2
Location: Connecticut

Re: A-ha "Take On Me" sound.

Post by DLovas » Tue Dec 06, 2011 2:26 am

Nightdare wrote:May I?




Aha - Take On ME
1984


Alesis Andromeda
2000
ah ok lol guess not - but i do know they had one - or at least the keyboardist owned one at some point. I know this because at one point (when i was on the market for one) somebody PM'd me (on VSE i believe) saying that they had an Andromeda they were willing to sell, that had been used by A-ha...

maybe he was lying....

didn't think too much of it at the time, because i didn't really care if A-ha had used it, and he didn't ask for anything above the ordinary.

Post Reply