Page 2 of 2

Re: anyone using the "hidden waves" EPROM V3.53 on their ESQ

Posted: Fri Jan 03, 2014 11:48 pm
by genshi
You guys are torturing me; I just sold my ESQ1 (which I bought brand new the day it first came out) just a couple of months ago because I was in a bind financially. One of my biggest regrets. Wish I never sold it.

Re: anyone using the "hidden waves" EPROM V3.53 on their ESQ

Posted: Sat Jan 04, 2014 3:25 pm
by fh991586
boingboing wrote:I have to dig out this old thread - got an esq1 these days with hidden waveforms preinstalled - but i cant just access waves higher than 127 with the data slider . I am able to reach higher numbers only by pressing PLUS many many times :shock: I've done the re-initalizing and the filter reset/calibration but nothing worked out yet... is there any trick?
127 is the magic number for MIDI data (higher parameter). Maybe it's related to your issue?

Re: anyone using the "hidden waves" EPROM V3.53 on their ESQ

Posted: Sat Jan 04, 2014 9:59 pm
by boingboing
maybe i'm expecting too much from a hacked OS... But any feedback from ESQ1 owners about this behavior?

Re: anyone using the "hidden waves" EPROM V3.53 on their ESQ

Posted: Sat Jan 04, 2014 11:50 pm
by commodorejohn
I'm going to guess that the encoder on the slider just doesn't go any higher than 127.

Re: anyone using the "hidden waves" EPROM V3.53 on their ESQ

Posted: Sun Jan 05, 2014 12:07 am
by silikon
I vaguely recall something from days past that you could access them via sysex... I'll have to look back in the archives... have you by chance done a cursory google search for this?

... If memory serves the hidden waveforms are little more than glitched/random seeks of the waveforms; mind you, it's been for bloody ever.

I know this was discussed on the Analogue Heaven mailing list a few times... perhaps hitting the AH mailing list archive might give you what you need...

Re: anyone using the "hidden waves" EPROM V3.53 on their ESQ

Posted: Sun Jan 05, 2014 3:00 am
by kushwonder
boingboing wrote:I have to dig out this old thread - got an esq1 these days with hidden waveforms preinstalled - but i cant just access waves higher than 127 with the data slider . I am able to reach higher numbers only by pressing PLUS many many times :shock: I've done the re-initalizing and the filter reset/calibration but nothing worked out yet... is there any trick?

There is nothing wrong with your synth. That's just the way it works with the hidden waveforms EPROMs....You just have to flip through the waves higher than a certain number (127 ish) one at a time, and you can not go back wards either