New Moog apparently...

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.
User avatar
bochelli
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 482
Joined: Wed Jun 28, 2006 11:57 pm
Gear: minimoog polymoog memorymoog multimoog micromoog minitmoog and tons more.
Location: UK

Re: New Moog apparently...

Post by bochelli » Sat Jan 14, 2012 10:47 pm

Sir Ruff wrote:Ah.. just when it looked like Moog was going to take over the desktop mono-market with the Minitaur, comes word that Ken MacBeth is still planning to release the Minimac - basically a desktop equivelant of the minimoog... I realize this will probably be pricier than every other comparable desktop mono out there and have no idea on price, but I'd say anything near $1000 would make this pretty desirable.

Image

(pic stolen from MW thread)
tekkentool wrote:
Sir Ruff wrote: Funny... I practically never use - or want - noise on a mono.
Why particularly on a mono?
er.. I just don't use noise a lot in general, mono or poly, unless it has some modulation function. Saying that, I have found it useful in some cases for making cymbal sounds.
Its not very pretty, i will stick to the little minitaur for now .
yamoto773

User avatar
Sir Ruff
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 3519
Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 11:55 pm
Gear: Two persimmon modulators and a frequency adjudicator.
Band: Ruff in the jungle
Location: Philadelphia

Re: New Moog apparently...

Post by Sir Ruff » Sat Jan 14, 2012 10:52 pm

bochelli wrote: Its not very pretty, i will stick to the little minitaur for now .
Ok.
Do you even post on vse bro?

User avatar
bochelli
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 482
Joined: Wed Jun 28, 2006 11:57 pm
Gear: minimoog polymoog memorymoog multimoog micromoog minitmoog and tons more.
Location: UK

Re: New Moog apparently...

Post by bochelli » Sat Jan 14, 2012 10:58 pm

As ive already mentioned , this is a sensible product from moog, not too hard on the wallet small portable and sounds quite good, i wish them well with this little chap.
yamoto773

User avatar
Sir Nose
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 785
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2008 3:54 pm
Real name: Bob
Gear: Machinedrum, Octatrack, Moog LP, x0xb0x, Elka Solist 505, Simmons SDS-400
Location: PA

Re: New Moog apparently...

Post by Sir Nose » Sun Jan 15, 2012 12:35 am

Sir Ruff wrote:
bochelli wrote: Its not very pretty, i will stick to the little minitaur for now .
Ok.
That is just the prototype. The finished layout, case, and knobs looks like this:
Image
Funkadelic wrote: nothing is good unless you play with it
all that is good is nasty

User avatar
bochelli
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 482
Joined: Wed Jun 28, 2006 11:57 pm
Gear: minimoog polymoog memorymoog multimoog micromoog minitmoog and tons more.
Location: UK

Re: New Moog apparently...

Post by bochelli » Sun Jan 15, 2012 12:57 am

Sir Nose wrote:
Sir Ruff wrote:
bochelli wrote: Its not very pretty, i will stick to the little minitaur for now .
Ok.
That is just the prototype. The finished layout, case, and knobs looks like this:
Image
A little better but i will still take the minitaur, the minimoog road is getting a well used one now , its time to move on to other things, perhaps a new concept of module the rotary dials are not new , how about voice activated ?
yamoto773

User avatar
Automatic Gainsay
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 3962
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 12:22 am
Real name: Marc Doty
Gear: Minimoog, 2600, CS-15, CS-50, MiniBrute, MicroBrute, S2, Korg MS-20 Mini, 3 Volcas, Pro 2, Leipzig, Pianet T, Wurli 7300, Wurli 145-A, ASR-10, e6400.
Band: Godfrey's Cordial
Location: Tacoma
Contact:

Re: New Moog apparently...

Post by Automatic Gainsay » Sun Jan 15, 2012 2:49 am

cgren72 wrote:i wonder how this stacks up to the mg-1/ rouge and other cheap moog synths. i bet it wont really lower prices in the used market any. i kind of have been thinking about selling my moog to buy a couple modules for a modular, but its the only synth i have that sounds the way it does. it doesnt really sound like a "moog" to me, probably because of how i play it. but i wonder how well this new synth will go over. its good to see menus gone. i usually use software, but i like my analogs very "bare"
Despite being the international fanboy for the MG-1, I have to say that the MG-1 is probably the least-bassy Moog ever, due a number of its limitations.
As for the Rogue, the Minitaur is better because of the filter architecture, which actually differs from non-Taurus Moogs.
It has a seriously incredible low end.
That being said, if you're looking for a full-range monosynth, this is not what you're looking for. If you're looking for Moog bass, this IS what you're looking for.
‎"I am not able rightly to apprehend the kind of confusion of ideas that could provoke such a question." -Charles Babbage
"Unity and Mediocrity are forever in bed together." -Zane W.
http://www.youtube.com/automaticgainsay

User avatar
Automatic Gainsay
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 3962
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 12:22 am
Real name: Marc Doty
Gear: Minimoog, 2600, CS-15, CS-50, MiniBrute, MicroBrute, S2, Korg MS-20 Mini, 3 Volcas, Pro 2, Leipzig, Pianet T, Wurli 7300, Wurli 145-A, ASR-10, e6400.
Band: Godfrey's Cordial
Location: Tacoma
Contact:

Re: New Moog apparently...

Post by Automatic Gainsay » Sun Jan 15, 2012 2:52 am

meatballfulton wrote:
Automatic Gainsay wrote:I played it yesterday quite extensively, and it is not meant to be your standard full-pitch-range synthesizer.
Outside of no keytracking for the filter or octave ranges for the VCOs, what else is an issue? Is there a limitation to how many octaves you can play over MIDI?

BTW the specs claim release can be set on/off individually for both EGs but there's only one button...what's up with that?
Not so fast, sir.
The pitch knob for VCO2 goes an octave above on the plus end, and an octave below on the negative end.
There is a limitation of how many octaves it will play, yes... although I didn't note which octaves those were in my work with it.
If the Release button works with the filter EG, I didn't explore that!
‎"I am not able rightly to apprehend the kind of confusion of ideas that could provoke such a question." -Charles Babbage
"Unity and Mediocrity are forever in bed together." -Zane W.
http://www.youtube.com/automaticgainsay

User avatar
Sir Ruff
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 3519
Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 11:55 pm
Gear: Two persimmon modulators and a frequency adjudicator.
Band: Ruff in the jungle
Location: Philadelphia

Re: New Moog apparently...

Post by Sir Ruff » Sun Jan 15, 2012 2:57 am

Sir Nose wrote:
Sir Ruff wrote:
bochelli wrote: Its not very pretty, i will stick to the little minitaur for now .
Ok.
That is just the prototype. The finished layout, case, and knobs looks like this:
Think you're mixing models - no idea what this is, but maybe you're thinking of the Vortex? In it's most recent form, the minimac is as it is in the photo I posted.
Do you even post on vse bro?

User avatar
soundxplorer
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 280
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2007 4:48 am
Location: PA

Re: New Moog apparently...

Post by soundxplorer » Sun Jan 15, 2012 5:08 am

Sir Nose wrote:That is just the prototype. The finished layout, case, and knobs looks like this:
Image
No, that was an "in-between" prototype design, after the first Micromac and before the Vortex.
I think the Micromac will look like the latest pictures (the black model above) since he says it is almost ready for production.
But we'll just have to wait and see.

tunedLow
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 384
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 11:08 pm
Gear: Sage XP 4wt 10
Sage TXL 3wt 710
Location: Salt Lake City, UT

Re: New Moog apparently...

Post by tunedLow » Sun Jan 15, 2012 6:09 am

Concerning the Micromac, I guess beauty is in the eye of the beholder because I think that black version above looks cool as h**l.

User avatar
Stab Frenzy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9723
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 5:41 pm
Gear: Eurorack, RYTM, Ultranova, many FX
Location: monster island*
Contact:

Re: New Moog apparently...

Post by Stab Frenzy » Sun Jan 15, 2012 6:42 am

bochelli wrote:Its not very pretty, i will stick to the little minitaur for now .
Buying synths based on what they look like: truly the best way of doing things.

User avatar
bochelli
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 482
Joined: Wed Jun 28, 2006 11:57 pm
Gear: minimoog polymoog memorymoog multimoog micromoog minitmoog and tons more.
Location: UK

Re: New Moog apparently...

Post by bochelli » Sun Jan 15, 2012 11:42 am

Stab Frenzy wrote:
bochelli wrote:Its not very pretty, i will stick to the little minitaur for now .
Buying synths based on what they look like: truly the best way of doing things.
I think so, it might just explain why ive just bought another 203a polymoog , you cant store patches and i dont care still looks sleek, dave luce i salute you.
yamoto773

User avatar
tekkentool
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 3218
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2009 10:51 am
Real name: Steve
Gear: Lasers (ส้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้ ωส้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้)
Band: none currently
Location: Sydney, australia.(I moved)

Re: New Moog apparently...

Post by tekkentool » Sun Jan 15, 2012 12:26 pm

No noise is actually a bit of a dealbreaker for me. I use it on a lot of my bass sounds. Makes them crunchy.

User avatar
soundxplorer
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 280
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2007 4:48 am
Location: PA

Re: New Moog apparently...

Post by soundxplorer » Sun Jan 15, 2012 2:59 pm

tekkentool wrote:No noise is actually a bit of a dealbreaker for me. I use it on a lot of my bass sounds. Makes them crunchy.
Get a cheap (free?) pocket transistor radio, tune it in between stations, then plug it into the Audio IN.

User avatar
pflosi
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 3620
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 6:14 pm
Gear: more than 150 characters...
Location: zürich
Contact:

Re: New Moog apparently...

Post by pflosi » Sun Jan 15, 2012 4:48 pm

That trick is so awesome for a lot of stuff. They're already starting to make eurorack radio modules :lol:

Post Reply