New Moog apparently...

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.
User avatar
Z
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 3506
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 3:08 am
Gear: Bubble wrap, Styrofoam, boxes, packing tape
Location: Docking Bay 94 (Dallas, TX)
Contact:

Re: New Moog apparently...

Post by Z » Thu Jan 05, 2012 3:19 am

And AUDIO IN. Guess you turn the volume down on both oscillators and process your external audio.

Nice job, Moog!

User avatar
lazerface
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 150
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2011 3:34 pm
Real name: Mike
Gear: Tempest, JX3P, Pro-One, Roland Gaia, Monotribe
Band: Solaires
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: New Moog apparently...

Post by lazerface » Thu Jan 05, 2012 3:46 am

smart move from Moog,
cheap unit to give the laptop/sequencer crowd that 'moog' sound..
i'd buy one if I didnt already have a little phatty

might still buy one :D

edit - does the taurus sound differ from the phatty at all?
Last edited by lazerface on Thu Jan 05, 2012 3:51 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Stab Frenzy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9723
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 5:41 pm
Gear: Eurorack, RYTM, Ultranova, many FX
Location: monster island*
Contact:

Re: New Moog apparently...

Post by Stab Frenzy » Thu Jan 05, 2012 3:49 am

TheKeytarist wrote:
Stab Frenzy wrote: ...people seem to be going more nuts over this.
:D

Don't people go nuts over anything that's moog? :lol:
Oh wow, I've actually done a bit more googling of this and it seems like there's more people doing an anti-moog backlash about it already than are gushing about it. The interworld is a strange place, the dudes on gearslutz are already saying $600 is way too expensive and it's some kind of hipster accessory. Looks more like a rad synth to hook up to a sequencer like an MPC, Elektron box or laptop running Live to me.

Wonder how the audio input works without a knob on the panel for it? Maybe it's just always on and to hear it without the oscs you just turn them down? Also wonder how the mixer sounds, wasn't there some kind of mojo from the Taurus about how the oscs drove the mixer/filter stage that made it so good? I'm loving driving my STG .mix for a similar kind of effect in the modular.

User avatar
soundxplorer
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 280
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2007 4:48 am
Location: PA

Re: New Moog apparently...

Post by soundxplorer » Thu Jan 05, 2012 4:09 am

Stab Frenzy wrote: the dudes on gearslutz are already saying $600 is way too expensive and it's some kind of hipster accessory.
To be fair there's only 2 or 3 people over there saying that, but they just seem to be the loudest and they're posting a lot in that thread. GS is weird anyway.

I think the Minitaur looks awesome. I'm so glad they went with a knobby interface, and added an audio input. It's like a Taurus Old School. Err, without the pedals.

User avatar
sequentialsoftshock
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 2413
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 1:57 am
Real name: Zayne
Gear: Pro~One, MS20, MPC60, Aalto, Volca Beats, Volca Keys, Beatstep, Casio MT18, BitOne (sorta), Circle, Orbit 3, K5, Stylos, Univox Hi Flier, iPad
Band: Echo & Liora
Location: Paris / Philadelphia
Contact:

Re: New Moog apparently...

Post by sequentialsoftshock » Thu Jan 05, 2012 4:11 am

TheKeytarist wrote:Anybody else see this yet?

Looks pretty sweet...

http://www.moogmusic.com/forum/viewtopi ... =1&t=12629
Yeah, we had a nice time in bed last night :lol:
Stab Frenzy wrote:Funny that this is pretty much the same as the Vermona Mono Lancet (loses some waveforms and the modular expander, gains USB midi and an envelope) for almost the same price but people seem to be going more nuts over this. The I've played with the Vermona and it sounds very moogy and very good.
<3 the Vermona. Next permanent purchase in that price range.
bonne chance

User avatar
tekkentool
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 3218
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2009 10:51 am
Real name: Steve
Gear: Lasers (ส้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้ ωส้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้)
Band: none currently
Location: Sydney, australia.(I moved)

Re: New Moog apparently...

Post by tekkentool » Thu Jan 05, 2012 5:42 am

lazerface wrote:smart move from Moog,
cheap unit to give the laptop/sequencer crowd that 'moog' sound..
i'd buy one if I didnt already have a little phatty
Most laptop/sequencer crowd guys will probably still go for the slim phatty.

User avatar
Stab Frenzy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9723
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 5:41 pm
Gear: Eurorack, RYTM, Ultranova, many FX
Location: monster island*
Contact:

Re: New Moog apparently...

Post by Stab Frenzy » Thu Jan 05, 2012 6:04 am

tekkentool wrote:
lazerface wrote:smart move from Moog,
cheap unit to give the laptop/sequencer crowd that 'moog' sound..
i'd buy one if I didnt already have a little phatty
Most laptop/sequencer crowd guys will probably still go for the slim phatty.
That's a pretty big generalisation. I'd think that people doing acid-y stuff (and electro, and a whole lot of other things where you play the synth by playing the knobs) would much prefer to have all those knobs to tweak, especially being able to tweak cutoff and res at the same time. On top of that it's smaller so would fit in to a tabletop setup better than the SP. It's not like you need patch storage for a 2 osc monosynth with very limited modulation options.

User avatar
Blue Monster 65
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 1593
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 3:19 am
Location: down in the lab ...

Re: New Moog apparently...

Post by Blue Monster 65 » Thu Jan 05, 2012 6:08 am

I'm wondering if it will play nice with the Tempest. Hmm ... overkill?
Muhahahahahahahahaha!

phesago
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 1097
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 5:56 pm
Real name: Douglas
Gear: tech nine, bag of coke, an erection and a hostage
Location: Arizona
Contact:

Re: New Moog apparently...

Post by phesago » Thu Jan 05, 2012 6:28 am

I think this is pretty sweet to be honest. I have had a t3 for quite some time, and in that time I have only really used the same two patches I have dialed up, so I think this unit is awesome. Takes up less space, costs less and has an audio in. Seems like a better option if you ask me. Ever since I have seen the actual unit, I have been thinking about "down grading" to this one.

Then again I might just ignore it all together since I actually have the t3, and shipping it would be the biggest pain in the a*s. Those who havent wanted that cumbersome behemoth might actually consider getting one now.

I am a bit disappointed at the lack of midi options, even though I understand the point was to make it cheap and accessible.

User avatar
hyphen nation
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 877
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2007 10:43 am
Gear: boxes that make noises
Location: sunny northwest

Re: New Moog apparently...

Post by hyphen nation » Thu Jan 05, 2012 8:10 am

Stab Frenzy wrote: Looks more like a rad synth to hook up to a sequencer like an MPC, Elektron box or laptop running Live to me.
Yes. I've been mulling on moving on from my voyager RME for months now, I could absolutely see using this with the monomachine, and trading out the Voyager for something [half a Tempest?, used PEK?] I might use more.

User avatar
Hybrid88
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 2251
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 8:26 am
Gear: V-Synth, and other stuff...
Location: Australia

Re: New Moog apparently...

Post by Hybrid88 » Thu Jan 05, 2012 9:09 am

mmm, nice 8-)

User avatar
tekkentool
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 3218
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2009 10:51 am
Real name: Steve
Gear: Lasers (ส้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้ ωส้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้)
Band: none currently
Location: Sydney, australia.(I moved)

Re: New Moog apparently...

Post by tekkentool » Thu Jan 05, 2012 9:09 am

I'm just saying most laptop type producers I know who have bought moogs were after them for slippery leads and basic moog bass. I reckon most will still go for the phatty but hey, Just my opinion. I've never been particularly enamored by the taurus III sound because almost all the youtube demos basically show the same damn sound. Will wait till a proper moog video on the mini taur.

User avatar
bouzoukijoe1
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 234
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2011 9:10 pm

Re: New Moog apparently...

Post by bouzoukijoe1 » Thu Jan 05, 2012 9:25 am

wow! Moog continues to pave the way.
the Minitaur is what the Monotron eventually needs to be.

User avatar
winnebago
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 203
Joined: Sat May 14, 2011 7:23 am
Location: York
Contact:

Re: New Moog apparently...

Post by winnebago » Thu Jan 05, 2012 2:13 pm

Just seen they have them on gear4music for £499.99 and says you can order now and will be in on 18th of this month. Gonna wait for some vids of it before saying for sure but I would think it will be my next purchase. Looks like it might go perfectly on that tray on the radias.

Just got a message on twitter off gear4music saying sorry the website is wrong, it will be more like spring 2012.
Thought it was too good to be true.

User avatar
soundxplorer
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 280
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2007 4:48 am
Location: PA

Re: New Moog apparently...

Post by soundxplorer » Thu Jan 05, 2012 3:30 pm

winnebago wrote:Just got a message on twitter off gear4music saying sorry the website is wrong, it will be more like spring 2012.
Thought it was too good to be true.
Yeah, the page now says estimated delivery is March 6th:
http://www.gear4music.com

Post Reply