Can someone help me identify this Billy Preston sound?

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.
Neer

Can someone help me identify this Billy Preston sound?

Post by Neer » Mon Mar 05, 2012 4:44 am

Hello all. I'm a lap steel guitarist who loves the sound of analog synths more than anything. One of my favorite artists is Billy Preston and I'm wondering if anyone can tell me how Billy gets that oscillation sound that you can hear in the following tune, Space Race. I know he played an Arp Pro-Soloist. What I'm wondering is if this an effect which I might be able to duplicate with an effects pedal or whether that circuit can be built into a pedal?

Here is the video link--you can hear the effect, which is a rapid oscillation, almost like a vibrato, really clearly at 1:50 and it occurs several times throughout. My thoughts are that I'd build the circuit, put it in a box and use a CV pedal to control it.

Thanks in advance!

Zamise
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Gear: Rollhand P00
Band: Quantum-Source

Re: Can someone help me identify this Billy Preston sound?

Post by Zamise » Mon Mar 05, 2012 9:55 am

No vid linked??? Is it this one?

I'd say you need a keyboard to play that, it sounds like a pretty dry square oscillator. It may be saw but def not a sine oscillator. None or little effects put on it, there is some portamento on it so it bends between notes but not too much. Could be a little pitch wheel or knob action with vibrato but not a major characteristic it sounds like to me. If you are looking for just a similar vibrato effect to ad to your guitar playing then I'd say it probably is possible with an effect pedal, just need one that has an LFO to modulate volume/amp, bonus if it can modulate an included filter as well.

I could be totally off base though, sure someone here will correct me if so, whatever it is it does have a pretty ARPy sound to it.