Page 1 of 1

Jupiter 6 Voice Layering

Posted: Fri Mar 16, 2012 5:58 pm
by dzlvs8
I was recently blessed with the opportunity to rip off some kid and get his Jupiter 6 for less than half the going rate. I didn't think I would like the super bright, super 80's sound, but it is so unique and powerful that I have fell in love with it. So now I am looking into getting the Europa mod. However, much to my surprise, I am not finding anything on layering sounds. Because you can split the keyboard, I assumed that either as a stock system or with the Europa mod you could layer two sounds (two different voice settings per note, for a total of three notes).

Is this possible with or without the Europa mod? I've searched the Europa manual and cant find anything on layering of voice assignment.

Re: Jupiter 6 Voice Layering

Posted: Fri Mar 16, 2012 7:29 pm
by schmidtc
IIRC, layering is in the new Europa version that's currently in Beta.

Re: Jupiter 6 Voice Layering

Posted: Fri Mar 16, 2012 8:09 pm
by Alex E
The best thing about being my age is that we don't really care when we well stuff well under market value. :lol:

Re: Jupiter 6 Voice Layering

Posted: Fri Mar 16, 2012 9:32 pm
by V301H
The Stock Jupiter 6 doesn't layer sounds. With Europa version 2 it can do layering although it is not full-service three and three. It's two and four so there will be some limitations.

Re: Jupiter 6 Voice Layering

Posted: Fri Mar 16, 2012 9:43 pm
by drawtippy
Congrats on the 6. It's as loved as it is hated. Currently you can't layer sounds, only split the keyboard. I don't know much about the new Europa but I have the old one and it's amazing. Yes, removing a board from your synth and shipping it off can be scary but it's well worth it. Best/weirdest Europa feature? Random patch generator. It sometimes provides great starting points for building sounds you didn't even think the 6 could do.

have fun!

Re: Jupiter 6 Voice Layering

Posted: Sat Mar 17, 2012 1:54 am
by synthparts
Yes Europa 2.0 beta which I've been testing for a long time has layer mode and the other really cool thing is 5 times the patch memory. The only real problem holding it up is a bug with external arpeggiator timing.

Re: Jupiter 6 Voice Layering

Posted: Sun Mar 18, 2012 6:57 pm
by dzlvs8
synthparts wrote:Yes Europa 2.0 beta which I've been testing for a long time has layer mode and the other really cool thing is 5 times the patch memory. The only real problem holding it up is a bug with external arpeggiator timing.
AWESOME, if I assume correctly that any regular europa owner will be able to get the beta software. That is kind of a bummer about the external arp clock though. The timing in the J6 is terrible. I assume that if I don't like the beta software I can revert to older versions of the software? If someone can confirm that I will drop my money on some delicious europa asap!

ps. Doug stop hanging out in forums and get my j6 sliders in the mail! ;) A stuck VCF LFO is no fun. Thanks, Steve