Juno 60 "JU-60" marking

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.
beenthere
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2012 8:13 am

Juno 60 "JU-60" marking

Post by beenthere » Thu Mar 29, 2012 8:57 am

Hi everyone. I have not been able to find an answer to this question ANYWHERE.

I finally got a mint Juno 60 and I'm really curious about a discrepancy in the front and rear panel markings.

Some models say "Programmable Polyphonic Synthesizer" and others say "Programmable Polyphonic Synthesizer JU-60".

A friend of mine also just recently got a Juno 60 and both of ours have the JU-60 marking.

What does the JU-60 marking indicate (aside from the obvious 'Juno 60')? Year of production? Change in circuitry? A particular lot of serial numbers? Region of manufacture? Nothing at all, simply cosmetic?

It must mean something, even if it's insignificant. There must be a reason why some boards have the marking and others don't.

If anyone can shed some light on this, it would be really appreciated.

Thanks.
Last edited by beenthere on Fri Mar 30, 2012 9:16 am, edited 3 times in total.

User avatar
Alex E
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 2235
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 12:07 am
Gear: Virus C, Super Bass Station, M1r, TX81z, S760, Nord Rack 2, Nord Lead 3, JP-8000, JV-2080, SY99, Trinity Plus, EMX1, TB-03. Live 9, iMac MC309XX/A
Location: Anaheim, CA

Re: Juno 60 question

Post by Alex E » Thu Mar 29, 2012 9:14 am

Try punching the serial numbers in here:

http://www.bossarea.com/serial/sndecoder.aspx

My guess is that the earliest models had the JU-60 name on it.
soundcloud.com/vectron


beenthere
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2012 8:13 am

Re: Juno 60 question

Post by beenthere » Thu Mar 29, 2012 9:35 am

Alex E wrote:Try punching the serial numbers in here:

http://www.bossarea.com/serial/sndecoder.aspx

My guess is that the earliest models had the JU-60 name on it.
Thanks Alex.

You're correct about it being an early model marking.
I put in my serial# and it says "Produced October 1982," which is the year the Juno 60 was introduced.

However, knowing the date of manufacture still doesn't answer why Roland decided to remove the marking or what its significance is in relation to the boards that don't have that marking.

Maybe it's something as simple as some guy in Roland's marketing department saying "Hey guys, I think that JU-60 model abbreviation is a bit redundant. Let's remove it. I mean, it already says 'Juno 60' in giant type."

What I want to know is: are there any changes in internal components or improvements made to later boards produced without the JU-60 marking?
Last edited by beenthere on Thu Mar 29, 2012 9:41 am, edited 1 time in total.

Synthacon
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 242
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2004 7:57 pm
Gear: Hard and Soft Synths
Location: Synth Heaven - UK

Re: Juno 60 question

Post by Synthacon » Thu Mar 29, 2012 9:40 am

Mine does not say JU60, as far as I know there were no internal changes. The JP8000 also had changes to it's markings too, it does happen and is not always related to internal upgrades.
You always want just one more Synth!

beenthere
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2012 8:13 am

Re: Juno 60 question

Post by beenthere » Thu Mar 29, 2012 9:44 am

Synthacon wrote:Mine does not say JU60, as far as I know there were no internal changes. The JP8000 also had changes to it's markings too, it does happen and is not always related to internal upgrades.
I just want to know WHY the change was made and what that change entails (if anything at all).

Someone from Roland want to step up and take this one?

User avatar
Alex E
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 2235
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 12:07 am
Gear: Virus C, Super Bass Station, M1r, TX81z, S760, Nord Rack 2, Nord Lead 3, JP-8000, JV-2080, SY99, Trinity Plus, EMX1, TB-03. Live 9, iMac MC309XX/A
Location: Anaheim, CA

Re: Juno 60 question

Post by Alex E » Thu Mar 29, 2012 9:55 am

I can guarantee it was done for no reason other than aesthetics.
soundcloud.com/vectron


beenthere
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2012 8:13 am

Re: Juno 60 question

Post by beenthere » Thu Mar 29, 2012 9:58 am

Alex E wrote:I can guarantee it was done for no reason other than aesthetics.
I hope this is the case ;)

User avatar
synthparts
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 779
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2011 12:05 pm
Location: SF Bay Area, CA
Contact:

Re: Juno 60 question

Post by synthparts » Thu Mar 29, 2012 11:18 am

Yes it was only on the earlier ones. My SN 23xxx has it but not my SN 25xxx or any later ones. The Juno-6 had "JU-6" on it so it was a hold over for a while until they decided it was redundant...
Vintage Synth Parts - http://www.synthparts.com

User avatar
Sir Ruff
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 3519
Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 11:55 pm
Gear: Two persimmon modulators and a frequency adjudicator.
Band: Ruff in the jungle
Location: Philadelphia

Re: Juno 60 question

Post by Sir Ruff » Thu Mar 29, 2012 5:29 pm

beenthere wrote:
Alex E wrote:I can guarantee it was done for no reason other than aesthetics.
I hope this is the case ;)
Little known secret, the earlier ones actually used VCOs instead of DCOs.
Do you even post on vse bro?

Rooftree
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 79
Joined: Wed May 05, 2010 4:59 am

Re: Juno 60 question

Post by Rooftree » Thu Mar 29, 2012 6:04 pm

Sir Ruff wrote:
Little known secret, the earlier ones actually used VCOs instead of DCOs.
Yes. And Moog ladder filters too! :lol:
Prophet 08 :: CS-30 :: Odyssey :: Korg 01W :: Juno-60 :: 606 :: Sonar :: soft synths

User avatar
Sir Ruff
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 3519
Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 11:55 pm
Gear: Two persimmon modulators and a frequency adjudicator.
Band: Ruff in the jungle
Location: Philadelphia

Re: Juno 60 question

Post by Sir Ruff » Thu Mar 29, 2012 6:33 pm

Rooftree wrote:
Sir Ruff wrote:
Little known secret, the earlier ones actually used VCOs instead of DCOs.
Yes. And Moog ladder filters too! :lol:
Roland only started using the IR309 filters because of a Moog lawsuit, which is still sealed.
Do you even post on vse bro?

User avatar
space6oy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5401
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2007 5:29 am
Gear: vimpat, citalopram & vitamin D.
Location: stuck in ohio.
Contact:

Re: Juno 60 question

Post by space6oy » Thu Mar 29, 2012 6:55 pm

Sir Ruff wrote:
beenthere wrote:
Alex E wrote:I can guarantee it was done for no reason other than aesthetics.
I hope this is the case ;)
Little known secret, the earlier ones actually used VCOs instead of DCOs.
do you know the point at which they switched?

Rooftree
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 79
Joined: Wed May 05, 2010 4:59 am

Re: Juno 60 question

Post by Rooftree » Thu Mar 29, 2012 7:09 pm

Sir Ruff wrote:
Roland only started using the IR309 filters because of a Moog lawsuit, which is still sealed.
Seriously? I thought you were making a funny. Do you have more information to share about this?
Prophet 08 :: CS-30 :: Odyssey :: Korg 01W :: Juno-60 :: 606 :: Sonar :: soft synths

beenthere
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2012 8:13 am

Re: Juno 60 question

Post by beenthere » Thu Mar 29, 2012 7:27 pm

Sir Ruff wrote:
Little known secret, the earlier ones actually used VCOs instead of DCOs.
right.... and i suppose the first 10 made featured a touchscreen interface. :lol:

pretty sure they're all DCOs that happen to sound like VCOs.

User avatar
nathanscribe
VSE Review Contributor
VSE Review Contributor
Posts: 2889
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 1:03 pm
Location: The right side of the Pennines
Contact:

Re: Juno 60 question

Post by nathanscribe » Thu Mar 29, 2012 8:23 pm

OK. The Juno never used VCOs. The circuits closely resemble VCOs (voltage-driven ramp with retriggering and subsequent analogue waveshaping) but the retrig point is clocked by a digital timer. It's a DIGITALLY CONTROLLED ANALOGUE OSCILLATOR. Fuxxake.

Also, the IR3109 IC is a bundle of 4 OTAs and an exponential current drive. It's there for convenience. Previous Roland filters of that type were made from 4 separate OTA ICs with intermediate FETs. More real-estate, more solder, so put it in one block to make things easier. It's nothing like a Moog filter.

Roland did use a filter that caused some issues but that was way before, in the original SH-3 if I remember rightly, and that was a transistor ladder, not series OTAs.

This thread is starting to become a BIG FICKING RETARDATHON. STOP IT.

Post Reply