Page 1 of 1

Waldorf Q digital out @ 48k?

Posted: Wed Apr 11, 2012 2:27 pm
by waveplantstudios
VSE says the Q's SPDIF out is switchable between 44.1k & 48k but I can only get it to work at 44.1k.

Can anyone verify whether this is an error and if not, help me figure out what I'm missing?

Can't find anything in the manual or menus regarding sample rates.

Thanks!!

Re: Waldorf Q digital out @ 48k?

Posted: Mon Jul 14, 2014 4:51 pm
by Syn-Fi
hi,
manual doesn't refer to 48khz mode nor does addendum.
Can't find 48khz mode in global settings either so i think its fixed to 44.1khz and the spec on VSE is wrong.

Re: Waldorf Q digital out @ 48k?

Posted: Wed Jul 16, 2014 11:39 am
by Mino
I know it's 44.1 khz only as well.

Re: Waldorf Q digital out @ 48k?

Posted: Wed Jul 16, 2014 1:30 pm
by Syn-Fi
i'm not sure about clock stability either. I think it only works as master and it does seem to lose clock and causes some pops. Anyone else experience this? When it works it sounds much better than the analog outs.

Re: Waldorf Q digital out @ 48k?

Posted: Wed Jul 16, 2014 3:52 pm
by madtheory
SPdif will do that with an audio (i.e. wrong) cable. It won't do it with a proper 75 ohm cable unless something is broken, or Waldorf messed it up really (and I mean really very) badly. Which I doubt.

Re: Waldorf Q digital out @ 48k?

Posted: Wed Jul 16, 2014 10:12 pm
by splitpoint
Syn-Fi wrote:i'm not sure about clock stability either. I think it only works as master and it does seem to lose clock and causes some pops. Anyone else experience this? When it works it sounds much better than the analog outs.
I never had that problem with clock stability on mine.

I will say the Q sounds fantastic through an external converter. It was a night and day difference when I had mine.

Re: Waldorf Q digital out @ 48k?

Posted: Thu Jul 17, 2014 7:48 am
by ejlif
I use mine also with the digital out into a Metric Halo Lio 8. I had to get a SPDIF to AES converter box though I had all kind of problems with pops and clicks until I got the converter box. It sounds great now and works no problem. Really good sounding out of the digital out

Re: Waldorf Q digital out @ 48k?

Posted: Thu Jul 17, 2014 11:53 am
by madtheory
Ya the SPdif to AES/ EBU converter box has a transformer in it, which would probably solve issues with the cable as long as the cable is short.

Re: Waldorf Q digital out @ 48k?

Posted: Sun Jul 27, 2014 12:16 pm
by Syn-Fi
I made my own cables and also have a purchased spdif cable but there are still pops and clicks. I have spdif going to my digital sony amp from my Roland Octa capture too and there are no pops. Checked the cables with my multi meter I don't think its the cable as it occurs pretty randomly and particularly with 'Arp' programs. I think the waldorf Q digital clocking isn't great or there is some clocking or grounding issue. Maybe an isolator will sort it.

Want to put Spdif on my waldorf xtk

The sound through Spdif, sans pops is very good however.