Make high quality digi synth sound Exactly analogue

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.
vox345

Make high quality digi synth sound Exactly analogue

Post by vox345 » Thu Apr 12, 2012 2:37 am

I kind of asked this before but asking again more specifically .Do not reply if you don’t know what yer talking about.This is not another analog vs digital train wreck thread or anything.

Bare with me if this is ridiculous. I’m an analog noob and learned most of what I know from reading synth forums which can be misleading.

Take a high quality digital synth that literally, scientifically has no aliasing/stepping fall/other digital ‘bad’ elements that can be heard by humans. (Which ones are like that? just curious). You’d have a sound that sounds the same to people as an analog signal minus the analog fatness/harmonics/grit/lushness/etc?
IOW, the elements that make up the analog fatness/gritty/lushness, which are more specifically called harmonics, and are extra layered sounds and random fluctuations along with the main sound, right? Is it possible to layer all those harmonics with said high quality digi synth and randomize everything and program unpredictability to create the analog harmonics and end up with something that sounds exactly the same as analog to the human ear? ‘Exactly’, except that it would be impossibly/near impossible to mimic every single little detail, but ‘close enough’?