New synth from Roland?

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.
Post Reply
User avatar
winnebago
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 203
Joined: Sat May 14, 2011 7:23 am
Location: York
Contact:

New synth from Roland?

Post by winnebago » Wed Aug 22, 2012 10:48 pm


User avatar
megamanx
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 838
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 4:39 am
Gear: nord lead2, roland sh101, yamaha cs5,mono/poly, sub37,Ms20, Chroma polaris,prodigy, esq-1, jx3p
Band: Thieves & Co.

Re: New synth from Roland?

Post by megamanx » Wed Aug 22, 2012 10:55 pm

could it be...the long awaited roland modern analog?!? (not likely)

phesago
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 1097
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 5:56 pm
Real name: Douglas
Gear: tech nine, bag of coke, an erection and a hostage
Location: Arizona
Contact:

Re: New synth from Roland?

Post by phesago » Wed Aug 22, 2012 10:57 pm

Def not a modern sh101, looks a bit too big to be that, lol

But in all seriousness, come on analog! :D

User avatar
Alex E
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 2235
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 12:07 am
Gear: Virus C, Super Bass Station, M1r, TX81z, S760, Nord Rack 2, Nord Lead 3, JP-8000, JV-2080, SY99, Trinity Plus, EMX1, TB-03. Live 9, iMac MC309XX/A
Location: Anaheim, CA

Re: New synth from Roland?

Post by Alex E » Wed Aug 22, 2012 11:45 pm

Image
soundcloud.com/vectron


User avatar
Alex E
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 2235
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 12:07 am
Gear: Virus C, Super Bass Station, M1r, TX81z, S760, Nord Rack 2, Nord Lead 3, JP-8000, JV-2080, SY99, Trinity Plus, EMX1, TB-03. Live 9, iMac MC309XX/A
Location: Anaheim, CA

Re: New synth from Roland?

Post by Alex E » Wed Aug 22, 2012 11:48 pm

http://bitley.laconicsounds.net/2012/08 ... tive-work/

^ Kinda insightful. Looks to be a module of some sort.
soundcloud.com/vectron


User avatar
jeffrey1121
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 287
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 7:01 am
Gear: Moog LP, Blofeld, MoPho, Machinedrum, ART FXR, Reason, FL Studio
Location: Somewhere in upstate NY
Contact:

Re: New synth from Roland?

Post by jeffrey1121 » Thu Aug 23, 2012 12:17 am

another average VA with another legacy name no doubt! :lol:


which one haven't they done yet? hmmmmm...............all of em. yup.


well, maybe it's a new analog drum machine or bass synth.... seems too small to be a synth.....
maybe a 2 octave?

:?

User avatar
balma
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 2848
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 3:52 pm
Real name: Mauricio
Gear: DSI Tempest/Prophet 08/Roland V-Synth/Ensoniq Fizmo/E-mu MP7-XL7/Electribe ESX1/Radias/Waldorf MicroQ
Location: Costa Rica

Re: New synth from Roland?

Post by balma » Thu Aug 23, 2012 12:32 am

Misterious Box 909
His sex dungeons are rumored to hold hundreds of people in secret locations around the world.
https://soundcloud.com/balma

User avatar
tim gueguen
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 795
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2006 2:31 am
Location: the Canadian Prairies
Contact:

Re: New synth from Roland?

Post by tim gueguen » Thu Aug 23, 2012 12:34 am

There's still the Saturn name to be used.
Keys: Realistic Concertmate 500, Korg K25, Korg Micro X

Guits: '86 Fender Japan '50s Reissue Strat, '80 Aria Pro II TS-300 Thor Sound

User avatar
synthparts
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 779
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2011 12:05 pm
Location: SF Bay Area, CA
Contact:

Re: New synth from Roland?

Post by synthparts » Thu Aug 23, 2012 2:45 am

tim gueguen wrote:There's still the Saturn name to be used.
Nope, already used -

Image
Vintage Synth Parts - http://www.synthparts.com

User avatar
Z
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 3504
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 3:08 am
Gear: Bubble wrap, Styrofoam, boxes, packing tape
Location: Docking Bay 94 (Dallas, TX)
Contact:

Re: New synth from Roland?

Post by Z » Thu Aug 23, 2012 3:21 am

synthparts wrote:
tim gueguen wrote:There's still the Saturn name to be used.
Nope, already used -
They mean using a legacy name on a new instrument with hardly any relation to the original instrument.

Roland will most likely never make another analog synth, so you can rule that one out.

volumetrik
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 278
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2008 10:00 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: New synth from Roland?

Post by volumetrik » Thu Aug 23, 2012 4:06 am

Z wrote: Roland will most likely never make another analog synth, so you can rule that one out.
There's still a chance tho, eventually all the people that work at Roland will retire and make way for new and hopefully the new like analog.

User avatar
jeffrey1121
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 287
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 7:01 am
Gear: Moog LP, Blofeld, MoPho, Machinedrum, ART FXR, Reason, FL Studio
Location: Somewhere in upstate NY
Contact:

Re: New synth from Roland?

Post by jeffrey1121 » Thu Aug 23, 2012 4:10 am

Z wrote: They mean using a legacy name on a new instrument with hardly any relation to the original instrument.
yup.
Z wrote: Roland will most likely never make another analog synth, so you can rule that one out.
what makes you think that?

User avatar
Stab Frenzy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9723
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 5:41 pm
Gear: Eurorack, RYTM, Ultranova, many FX
Location: monster island*
Contact:

Re: New synth from Roland?

Post by Stab Frenzy » Thu Aug 23, 2012 7:02 am

I have a big bucket out to catch all the inevitable tears that this is gonna cause.

elsquirrel
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 150
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 4:07 am

Re: New synth from Roland?

Post by elsquirrel » Thu Aug 23, 2012 7:04 am

Yes, but does it have D-beam? That's all I want to know.

User avatar
sequentialsoftshock
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 2413
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 1:57 am
Real name: Zayne
Gear: Pro~One, MS20, MPC60, Aalto, Volca Beats, Volca Keys, Beatstep, Casio MT18, BitOne (sorta), Circle, Orbit 3, K5, Stylos, Univox Hi Flier, iPad
Band: Echo & Liora
Location: Paris / Philadelphia
Contact:

Re: New synth from Roland?

Post by sequentialsoftshock » Thu Aug 23, 2012 7:29 am

Hmm... Yeah, it seems the website assuming a module might be a good guess. Though I don't know how the guy could see under the tape from a photo. But you can see "ta" & "mo"..
bonne chance

Post Reply