Why the V-Synth is the best thing Roland ever did

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.
Post Reply
User avatar
Black Tomorrow
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 367
Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2006 7:52 am
Real name: kp Catalano
Gear: MG-1, V-Synth w/ VC1, Poly800, PSR740, Triton, SHS10, Boss DR770, Stylophone, Hammond M-143, acoustic piano, reed organ, didgeridoo, Garritan library.
Location: North Carolina
Contact:

Re: Why the V-Synth is the best thing Roland ever did

Post by Black Tomorrow » Fri Aug 23, 2013 7:05 am

Awesome. Thanks for the link, Hybrid.
You can't synthesize love

User avatar
vladimotor
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 111
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2011 6:58 am
Gear: V-Synth, Kurzweil PC3le6, Akai Miniak, Korg MicroX, Godin Solidac, Breedlove AC25, Live, Samplitude pro, Zebra, Z3ta, Imposcar, Absynth 4, FM8, Pro53

Re: Why the V-Synth is the best thing Roland ever did

Post by vladimotor » Fri Aug 23, 2013 11:30 am

I just remembered my first impressions of V-Synth when i first tried one in the store, i did not like the sound at all, but was seriously impressed with the interface. Later ver2 was introduced and i heard some better sounds.

User avatar
Hybrid88
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 2251
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 8:26 am
Gear: V-Synth, and other stuff...
Location: Australia

Re: Why the V-Synth is the best thing Roland ever did

Post by Hybrid88 » Fri Aug 23, 2013 12:51 pm

Black Tomorrow wrote:Awesome. Thanks for the link, Hybrid.
No worries, haven't seen that doc before could be helpful :)

User avatar
Pro5
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1000
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2008 9:30 pm
Gear: OB-6 | SH-2 | JX-3P | JD-800 | Performer
Location: U.K

Re: Why the V-Synth is the best thing Roland ever did

Post by Pro5 » Tue Aug 27, 2013 11:44 am

vladimotor wrote:I just remembered my first impressions of V-Synth when i first tried one in the store, i did not like the sound at all, but was seriously impressed with the interface. Later ver2 was introduced and i heard some better sounds.
Seriously I doubt anyone would be impressed with an in store demo, you need to dig in and use better samples - then all is revealed. It can sound very close to analog warm (and thick with full texture unlike a lot of normal digitals) when you program it well with the right samples or blend of samples and VA and everything else besides! V-synth is far from a preset machine and is a blank canvas for your imagination not Roland's preset makers.

ellaguru
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 156
Joined: Sun May 02, 2010 1:56 pm
Gear: juno106 korg ms20 roland vsynth yamaha an200 yamaha tx81z boss sp303 boss sp505 roland sp606 roland mc909 zoom st224

Re: Why the V-Synth is the best thing Roland ever did

Post by ellaguru » Sat Mar 22, 2014 11:46 am

hi i have the vsynth (the first one), i have win7 64bit, i would like to know if there is a workaround to play the version2 4 Patches trick with it, i mean, have you suggestions to make recorgnise the v2 drivers from a win7 OS?
thanks in advance

Hugo76
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1431
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2007 10:57 pm

Re: Why the V-Synth is the best thing Roland ever did

Post by Hugo76 » Sat Mar 22, 2014 8:20 pm

ellaguru wrote:hi i have the vsynth (the first one), i have win7 64bit, i would like to know if there is a workaround to play the version2 4 Patches trick with it, i mean, have you suggestions to make recorgnise the v2 drivers from a win7 OS?
thanks in advance
Hey ellaguru, are you thinking about the librarian software?

ellaguru
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 156
Joined: Sun May 02, 2010 1:56 pm
Gear: juno106 korg ms20 roland vsynth yamaha an200 yamaha tx81z boss sp303 boss sp505 roland sp606 roland mc909 zoom st224

Re: Why the V-Synth is the best thing Roland ever did

Post by ellaguru » Sat Mar 22, 2014 11:24 pm

Hugo76 wrote:
ellaguru wrote:hi i have the vsynth (the first one), i have win7 64bit, i would like to know if there is a workaround to play the version2 4 Patches trick with it, i mean, have you suggestions to make recorgnise the v2 drivers from a win7 OS?
thanks in advance
Hey ellaguru, are you thinking about the librarian software?
i've read somewhere on the net that win7 64bit ,after upgrading the vsynth old OS with the OS v2 , the pc doesn't recognize the vsynth as usb storage...i would like to upgrade my vsynth because with the v2 OS you can play 4 patches simultaneously (a sort of primitive multitimbral)...

Hugo76
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1431
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2007 10:57 pm

Re: Why the V-Synth is the best thing Roland ever did

Post by Hugo76 » Sun Mar 23, 2014 1:42 am

ellaguru wrote:
Hugo76 wrote:
ellaguru wrote:hi i have the vsynth (the first one), i have win7 64bit, i would like to know if there is a workaround to play the version2 4 Patches trick with it, i mean, have you suggestions to make recorgnise the v2 drivers from a win7 OS?
thanks in advance
Hey ellaguru, are you thinking about the librarian software?
i've read somewhere on the net that win7 64bit ,after upgrading the vsynth old OS with the OS v2 , the pc doesn't recognize the vsynth as usb storage...i would like to upgrade my vsynth because with the v2 OS you can play 4 patches simultaneously (a sort of primitive multitimbral)...
Yeah, I'm on Windows 8, and no luck there either on recognizing the V-Synth. I don't think v2 of the OS lets you play 4 patches simultaneously, though. The V-Synth is in fact 16 part multitimbral, but the remaining 15 parts can only be accessed through midi externally. You definately should upgrade. Just load your samples to the Compact Flash card, and also do backups to the pc that way.

ellaguru
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 156
Joined: Sun May 02, 2010 1:56 pm
Gear: juno106 korg ms20 roland vsynth yamaha an200 yamaha tx81z boss sp303 boss sp505 roland sp606 roland mc909 zoom st224

Re: Why the V-Synth is the best thing Roland ever did

Post by ellaguru » Sun Mar 23, 2014 2:32 am

thanks, this could be a good idea but my v-synth doesn't have a compact flash slot...it got a PC card slot...i didn't even know that you could load/save samples via PC cards...but how to connect them to a computer? and you're right, i would like to play 4 different vsynth patches by the mc909, wich is also multitimbral.

Hugo76
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1431
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2007 10:57 pm

Re: Why the V-Synth is the best thing Roland ever did

Post by Hugo76 » Sun Mar 23, 2014 3:24 am

What you need is an adapter for the Compact Flash card. The V-Synth is capable of reading up to 1gb cards, I think, maybe it's 512mb officially. Nevertheless, these cards can easily be purchased on ebay. So you just plug the CF card to your pc (requires a card reader of some sort, they're cheap and also read other formats - mine is great as it can also read Smart Media, something I need for my RS7000). Then you can just put whatever wav files you want on the card, and when you insert it back into the V-synth, all the files are available for importing. It's a great feature, I almost never actually sample with the V-Synth itself.

There are also some resources with patches for the V-Synth you might want to check out:
http://kineticsoundprism.com/Vsynth.html
http://www.jp-80.com/xt/xt.html
(the link above indicates the patches are for the V-Synth XT, but I think most of them work with the original as well)

This might also come in handy:
http://www.rolandus.com/go/v-synth/Semi ... ToUse.html

Accessing the other parts on the V-Synth with the mc-909 should work great

ellaguru
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 156
Joined: Sun May 02, 2010 1:56 pm
Gear: juno106 korg ms20 roland vsynth yamaha an200 yamaha tx81z boss sp303 boss sp505 roland sp606 roland mc909 zoom st224

Re: Why the V-Synth is the best thing Roland ever did

Post by ellaguru » Sun Mar 23, 2014 4:22 am

thanks very much Hugo 76!
could you tell me if those ones work? (i live in france)
http://ppa-usa.com/computer-products/pc ... cmcia.html
http://www.leboncoin.fr/image_son/610006450.htm?ca=17_s
http://www.amazon.fr/PCMCIA-adaptateur- ... B003IIWT46
what do you have anyway?

thanks also for the site of patches.
what is a refill patch?

Hugo76
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1431
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2007 10:57 pm

Re: Why the V-Synth is the best thing Roland ever did

Post by Hugo76 » Sun Mar 23, 2014 12:40 pm

No problem, ellaguru! I think those would work, the only specification I've seen is that it must be a pcmcia adapter for Compact Flash. So the one that says Microdrive as well might not be working...? I really don't know, maybe someone else could chime in. I just checked my adapter, and it just says Compact Flash adapter, pcmcia.

I think "refill patch" is just Roland talk for patches. I normally don't use patches I haven't made myself, but if you're out of inspiration it can be interesting to load your own samples in other patches just to see what happens :-)

Oh, it seems 1gb CF cards work just fine in the V-Synth.

User avatar
pflosi
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 3620
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 6:14 pm
Gear: more than 150 characters...
Location: zürich
Contact:

Re: Why the V-Synth is the best thing Roland ever did

Post by pflosi » Sun Mar 23, 2014 1:30 pm

I have a 4 GB card in my XT - I think it's just single projects that cannot exceed 512 MB...?

Hugo76
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1431
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2007 10:57 pm

Re: Why the V-Synth is the best thing Roland ever did

Post by Hugo76 » Sun Mar 23, 2014 1:35 pm

pflosi wrote:I have a 4 GB card in my XT - I think it's just single projects that cannot exceed 512 MB...?
I think single projects can't exceed the limits of the internal memory, which is about 50mb. It has a limit of 512 samples within that project. At least on the V-Synth, but I think this applies to the XT as well.

ellaguru
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 156
Joined: Sun May 02, 2010 1:56 pm
Gear: juno106 korg ms20 roland vsynth yamaha an200 yamaha tx81z boss sp303 boss sp505 roland sp606 roland mc909 zoom st224

Re: Why the V-Synth is the best thing Roland ever did

Post by ellaguru » Sun Mar 23, 2014 4:36 pm

ok thanks Hugo, i'll check thos pcmia adapters, they seem cheap.
no problems for the CF cards, i got some (i have 16mb or 128mb cards, the max i have is 512mb) that i bought for the sp6o6 :2cool: ...

Post Reply