quick n easy question about rackmount equipment

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.
Post Reply
User avatar
jeffrey1121
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 287
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 7:01 am
Gear: Moog LP, Blofeld, MoPho, Machinedrum, ART FXR, Reason, FL Studio
Location: Somewhere in upstate NY
Contact:

quick n easy question about rackmount equipment

Post by jeffrey1121 » Sat Jan 12, 2013 5:02 am

how many pieces of rackmount gear do you think you need--IYHO--to justify actually buying a rack? I'm sick of my stuff just sitting out :lol:


phesago
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 1097
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 5:56 pm
Real name: Douglas
Gear: tech nine, bag of coke, an erection and a hostage
Location: Arizona
Contact:

Re: quick n easy question about rackmount equipment

Post by phesago » Sat Jan 12, 2013 5:19 am

08465219979974752778709-74752/3*2.73894

^dat many

one or two? as long as it helps the work flow?

User avatar
Hybrid88
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 2251
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 8:26 am
Gear: V-Synth, and other stuff...
Location: Australia

Re: quick n easy question about rackmount equipment

Post by Hybrid88 » Sat Jan 12, 2013 11:32 am

Pfft I've learnt you can justify anything if you want it enough haha ;)

User avatar
Bitexion
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 4230
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2005 7:43 pm
Gear: Alesis Andromeda A6
Roland D-50
Creamware Minimax
Yamaha DX7s
Analogue Systems modular
Ensoniq SQ-80
Waldorf Blofeld
Location: Drammen, Norway

Re: quick n easy question about rackmount equipment

Post by Bitexion » Sat Jan 12, 2013 2:14 pm

Your spouse/girlfriend/mom will say "Oh god, yet another box of useless s**t" no matter what you buy (unless it's Victoria's Secret underwear for her), so might aswell buy a rack for your single module. Maybe get a box of underwear on the side to soften the blow.

User avatar
Hybrid88
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 2251
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 8:26 am
Gear: V-Synth, and other stuff...
Location: Australia

Re: quick n easy question about rackmount equipment

Post by Hybrid88 » Sat Jan 12, 2013 2:52 pm

yeah, be warned too, once you buy a rack you will start looking for things to fill the blank spaces. :mrgreen:

User avatar
cram1960
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 87
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2008 5:18 pm
Location: Cedarhurst, NY

Re: quick n easy question about rackmount equipment

Post by cram1960 » Sat Jan 12, 2013 6:45 pm

jeffrey1121 wrote:how many pieces of rackmount gear do you think you need--IYHO--to justify actually buying a rack? I'm sick of my stuff just sitting out :lol:
Justify to whom?

I buy what I want. No other justification is needed.
Craig
Powerman has spoken!
Amituofo! Image

User avatar
fh991586
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 972
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2010 10:20 pm
Real name: Francis
Gear: Roland JX3P, D50, U220, MVS1, JP8080.
Korg Kaossilator, Monotrons, MicroKorg, M3R.
Yamaha Motif Rack.
Midines
Location: French Canada

Re: quick n easy question about rackmount equipment

Post by fh991586 » Sat Jan 12, 2013 7:18 pm

If you have only one rack unit, and whose ears can be removed, it is possible to simply keep it as is on your desktop (and put up some other gear in top of it). Otherwise, you'll find a rack case (road or desktop type) very usefull, if not indispensable. And yes, when you'll see those empty slots, you will most likely search to fill them! :oops:

I started with a M3R, but quickly added a TX81Z and a U220. So a rack was really needed, and I ended up also getting a mixer that could be put in the 20U rack furniture as well. Then I got a 12U SKB case to put on top of it, and I still can't get enough space. Some patchbay or power bars are now left standing on the side of my synth "A" rack legs, because it uses less space this way...

Rack units are great if you are low on space available for keyboards. But don't forget they still weight a lot when you need to move a full roadcase by yourself!
Considering parting away from:
-Roland TR707
-DSI Mopho

User avatar
megamanx
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 838
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 4:39 am
Gear: nord lead2, roland sh101, yamaha cs5,mono/poly, sub37,Ms20, Chroma polaris,prodigy, esq-1, jx3p
Band: Thieves & Co.

Re: quick n easy question about rackmount equipment

Post by megamanx » Sat Jan 12, 2013 7:31 pm

Hybrid88 wrote:yeah, be warned too, once you buy a rack you will start looking for things to fill the blank spaces. :mrgreen:
:lol: yeah! I bought my rack because I bought a radias r and a bass stantion r. they have been long gone but I keep filling those empty spaces with whatever I find at flea markets for cheap.

User avatar
CS_TBL
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 1677
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 3:47 pm
Gear: All "In-The-Box"
Mainly FM8
Location: NL
Contact:

Re: quick n easy question about rackmount equipment

Post by CS_TBL » Sat Jan 12, 2013 7:42 pm

I bought my 14u rack (which can be tilted) when I only had an FS1r.. Tilting meant I could operate it by looking down on it, that was the handy bit that justified it all for me. Now it's more or less filled up with the JD990, SN2r, VL70m (bolted onto a plate), SRV3030, 2 patch bays and the E-Mu.
"You know I love you, CS, but this is bullshit." (Automatic Gainsay)
s: VSL/FM8/EWQL/LASS h: DX7/FS1r/VL70/SY77/SN2r/JD800/JD990/XV88/Emu6400/Poly61/Amek35:12:2/genelec1030 r: Violin/AltoSax/TinWhistle c: i7-4770/RAM32GB/SSD
FM8 vids

User avatar
DesolationBlvd
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 260
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2012 1:24 am

Re: quick n easy question about rackmount equipment

Post by DesolationBlvd » Mon Jan 14, 2013 12:37 am

I started looking for a rack when I had the MKS-30 and 80 and MPG-80 (8U total).
The vaccine for the Access Virus.

Roland Jupiter-8 / Juno-60 / SH-101 / RS-09 / JP-8080
Moog Voyager RME
Korg MS-20 Kit / Volca Keys / Minilogue
Boss CE-300
Yamaha DX7
Akai S5000
Elektron Analog RYTM

Kidney05
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 360
Joined: Tue May 04, 2010 5:34 am
Gear: Juno 106, Tetra, Mopho Keyboard, Little Phatty Stage II, RX-5, Volcas, JX-3P, R5, 505, TX-7, D550, TX81Z, Korg MS-20 Mini, Minibrute, Six Traks, TR-8
Contact:

Re: quick n easy question about rackmount equipment

Post by Kidney05 » Mon Jan 14, 2013 2:04 am

Bitexion wrote:Your spouse/girlfriend/mom will say "Oh god, yet another box of useless s**t" no matter what you buy (unless it's Victoria's Secret underwear for her), so might aswell buy a rack for your single module. Maybe get a box of underwear on the side to soften the blow.
might be the truest thing i've ever read on this damn site. my old man always says "oh great, another box of knobs."

User avatar
Hybrid88
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 2251
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 8:26 am
Gear: V-Synth, and other stuff...
Location: Australia

Re: quick n easy question about rackmount equipment

Post by Hybrid88 » Mon Jan 14, 2013 6:47 am

True, at least software is easier to hide ;)

User avatar
Stab Frenzy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9723
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 5:41 pm
Gear: Eurorack, RYTM, Ultranova, many FX
Location: monster island*
Contact:

Re: quick n easy question about rackmount equipment

Post by Stab Frenzy » Mon Jan 14, 2013 7:05 am

fh991586 wrote:If you have only one rack unit, and whose ears can be removed, it is possible to simply keep it as is on your desktop (and put up some other gear in top of it). Otherwise, you'll find a rack case (road or desktop type) very usefull, if not indispensable.
True, some units are well designed for use without a rack whereas some aren't and don't have feet etc. Depends on the unit really.

I have 16U of rack space on my desk (2x 6U racks which I also use to get my monitors to a good height and a 4U roadcase with my soundcard, convertors and an FX unit in it which I use for live and location recording as well as in the studio) and it's about 50% full, has been for a few years and I don't really feel the need to fill it up just cause it's empty. Not like I do with a Eurorack case at least... :D

Post Reply