Most important synthesisers in evolution of electronic music

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.
TheSecretRaver

Most important synthesisers in evolution of electronic music

Post by TheSecretRaver » Tue Mar 05, 2013 4:00 pm

I'm a student, and in my current project im currently looking at vintage synthesisers and instruments. I want to know what have been the most important for the growth of electronic music, more specifically electronic dance music? what synthesisers have made it what it is today? I would really appreciate feedback

I've looked at:

Mini Moog
Roland tb303, tr909, 808
linn drum

I would really appreciate feedback
thanks

Bitexion
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Gear: Alesis Andromeda A6
Roland D-50
Creamware Minimax
Yamaha DX7s
Analogue Systems modular
Ensoniq SQ-80
Waldorf Blofeld

Re: Most important synthesisers in evolution of electronic m

Post by Bitexion » Tue Mar 05, 2013 4:52 pm

Don't forget the EMS Synthi. Mostly used for making effects since it's very hard to keep the oscillators in tune with eachother. One of Jean Michel Jarre's most used synths in the 70s and 80s.

The ARP 2600 was also a hugely popular synth, since you could detach the keyboard and pretend to be a guitar player. Very popular with prog/rock bands in the 70s.
It was pretty much a direct competitor to the Minimoog.

You'll find articles on both on the front page of VSE.

The 2600/Minimoog were also a huge contribution to most 80s pop hits, like Madonna, Michael Jackson songs. The producers used them alot.

The Sequential Circuits Prophet-5 was a very popular polyphonic synth in the 80s. Also the Oberheim OB-Xa/Ob-8.

ppg_wavecomputer
Expert Member
Expert Member
Gear: more keys than hands (and feet)
Band: ['ramp]

Post by ppg_wavecomputer » Tue Mar 05, 2013 5:05 pm