What tuning intervals with 2 oscillators?

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.
superdadan

What tuning intervals with 2 oscillators?

Post by superdadan » Sat Mar 09, 2013 12:39 pm

Hi guys,
I'm a musician but total newbie in synths. I just bought a monotron duo to test the feeling to play on a analog synth before bying a bigger one.
Here is my question:
The monotron duo has 2 VCOs so I can play 2 sounds at the same time. How you guys do u like to tune intervals with 2 oscillators?
It's sure that I can tune them with the following intervals: perfect 4th, perfect 5th or octave.
But if I want to tune them at the 3rd for example, the problem is that when It's not following the harmony of the scale.
For instance, if I'm playing in the CM scale and I tune my first VCO in C et the second one in E, I have a major 3th, but when I play a D with the keyboard on the first VCO, the second will play a #F instead of a F for keeping the harmony of the scale. How do you manage that?
Thank you for your attention!

zoomtheline
No Longer Registered

Re: What tuning intervals with 2 oscillators?

Post by zoomtheline » Sat Mar 09, 2013 12:46 pm

You don't. It will always be the 3rd, 5th, 7th etc of the 1st osc. Sounds like you want a polysynth to get what you want.

superdadan

Post by superdadan » Sat Mar 09, 2013 12:59 pm

Ok thank you for your fast response =)
I often read in the forums that having several oscillators in a good point for a synth. So I'm wondering that if it's not for harmonizing the notes, what is the idea of having several oscillators? In what way synthetizer musicians are using them together?
Thanks!

Zamise
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Gear: Rollhand P00
Band: Quantum-Source

Post by Zamise » Sat Mar 09, 2013 2:16 pm