CASIO CZ Sysex!

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.
Floss
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 162
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 12:08 am

CASIO CZ Sysex!

Post by Floss » Thu Jun 13, 2013 1:18 am

Anyone know where these are??

I assume that CZ1 to CZ 5000 use the same architecture. It's insane, I can't find one page for sysex presets

User avatar
CZ Rider
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 265
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 12:31 am
Location: The Edge of Space
Contact:

Re: CASIO CZ Sysex!

Post by CZ Rider » Thu Jun 13, 2013 4:53 pm

I had a Geocities page up since the 90's. But when Yahoo took over they wanted me to pay a fee to keep the 10MEG site up. Too bad, there were quite a few free sites with great information that vanished from the web.
Here is a zipped file of all the CZ sysex files. CZ-1 sysex have some extra bytes of info for names and velocity/aftertouch, so there are a few CZ-1 patches that I converted to CZ-101,1000,2000s,3000,5000 syx patches. Along with CZ-1 patches of the factory RC carts.
There was also an old site called "Temple of CZ" , and all those files are included in the zip file.
Zip file containing many CZ sysex patches 317K
Just unzip and it should create folders for the different type files.

Floss
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 162
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 12:08 am

Re: CASIO CZ Sysex!

Post by Floss » Fri Jun 14, 2013 6:10 am

I love you bro. I absolutely love this synth!!!!! Way better than my dx7. Sounds so creamy

Floss
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 162
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 12:08 am

Re: CASIO CZ Sysex!

Post by Floss » Fri Jun 14, 2013 6:28 am

Is the CZ noise oscillator suppose to be that much over powering?

Also, what patch can emulate the DX100s Talkbox?

Thanks

Floss
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 162
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 12:08 am

Re: CASIO CZ Sysex!

Post by Floss » Wed Jun 19, 2013 10:30 pm

Just tried to do this reading the manual with extreme failure.

Anyone care to provide their steps on how they did a sysex dump inside the CZ

User avatar
madtheory
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 5178
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 12:45 pm
Real name: Tomas Mulcahy
Gear: Flangebeast Mk1, Plonkotron, Morovdis Arpeggiator, Maplin My First EQ, Jeff Wayne Thunderchild rack, Thermostat, Buck Owens' Moog.
Band: Minim
Location: Cork, Ireland
Contact:

Re: CASIO CZ Sysex!

Post by madtheory » Wed Jun 19, 2013 11:25 pm

Have you backed up your patches? I guess not if you're having sysex trouble. First step is to reset the CZ synth. Which one do you have?

To turn down the noise set the first amp envelope step to SUS and the second one to END. Then use the level in the first step to adjust noise level.
Last edited by madtheory on Thu Jun 20, 2013 1:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Floss
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 162
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 12:08 am

Re: CASIO CZ Sysex!

Post by Floss » Wed Jun 19, 2013 11:49 pm

Thank you MADTHEORY!!!!


Im dying here!!! I plug in the cable to my CZ 1 MIDI IN and it says DATA ERROR, without even doing anything

And Went to your page. Awesome btw....

User avatar
madtheory
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 5178
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 12:45 pm
Real name: Tomas Mulcahy
Gear: Flangebeast Mk1, Plonkotron, Morovdis Arpeggiator, Maplin My First EQ, Jeff Wayne Thunderchild rack, Thermostat, Buck Owens' Moog.
Band: Minim
Location: Cork, Ireland
Contact:

Re: CASIO CZ Sysex!

Post by madtheory » Thu Jun 20, 2013 1:05 pm

Are you using one of those USB to MIDI cables?

Floss
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 162
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 12:08 am

Re: CASIO CZ Sysex!

Post by Floss » Fri Jun 21, 2013 1:53 am

Yes USB to midi Cables
Last edited by Floss on Fri Jun 21, 2013 12:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Floss
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 162
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 12:08 am

Re: CASIO CZ Sysex!

Post by Floss » Fri Jun 21, 2013 11:25 am

THANK YOU. Figured it out!!!! I will make a tutorial for everyone

hellowwworld
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2014 10:01 pm

Re: CASIO CZ Sysex!

Post by hellowwworld » Fri Mar 07, 2014 10:48 pm

Hello everyone, this is my 1st post!

I'm trying to figure out how to send Sysex patches to my CZ-1000. I lost all my patches a while ago since I had to open and fix my Casio and now I'm looking for a way to save them externally before I take this awesome synth to the next level. Unfortunately I don't have an external data cartridge.

So far, I have managed to send requests, program changes etc. and receive and save Sysex data from CZ-1000 using a diy Max Msp patch and SysEx Librarian but I haven't succeeded in sending any sounds back to the synth. I've also tried CZSysexy but so far I've only managed to mess up a few patches.

I've tried two different USB-MIDI interfaces so I don't think it's a driver related data corruption issue but something surely is going wrong along the way. Or maybe I'm just missing something.

I have been trying to find a guaranteed to work CZ-1000 Sysex patch for testing but so far I have found nothing. Can anyone help? Tips, patches, anything would be highly appreciated. Many thanks in advance.

If I ever get this, and my dedicated Max Msp patch working properly I'll certainly share the info.
I'm also thinking about a smaller battery mod(AAs or 9V instead of Ds) to make my CZ-1000 more portable since I also use it on gigs. There's no point in carrying heavy and expensive D-batteries around if their power is only used for storing data...this should be quite simple but maybe worth a share anyway.

User avatar
madtheory
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 5178
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 12:45 pm
Real name: Tomas Mulcahy
Gear: Flangebeast Mk1, Plonkotron, Morovdis Arpeggiator, Maplin My First EQ, Jeff Wayne Thunderchild rack, Thermostat, Buck Owens' Moog.
Band: Minim
Location: Cork, Ireland
Contact:

Re: CASIO CZ Sysex!

Post by madtheory » Sat Mar 08, 2014 1:06 pm

Have you tried slowing down the data rate being sent to the Casio?

zukskywalker
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 117
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2004 9:39 pm

Re: CASIO CZ Sysex!

Post by zukskywalker » Sat Mar 08, 2014 4:41 pm

Hello and welcome hellowwworld!
Madtheory's suggestion is on the money and sounds like the trick.

CZ-101 was my first synth, my intro to midi 101, and I'm digging it back out because of this thread and also because of how it relates to all of my FM stuff. I know I still have at least one data cartridge and maybe a few floppies buried somewhere with more banks. I'll post up if I come up with anything.
It will be a bit of a project for me because the last time I powered it up(a few years back) a few of the buttons were sticking badly and I'm going to have to open it up to fully restore it (not to mention what I'm going to have to dig out to read floppies!).
I have heard that it is not an easy fix, and you mentioned that you opened and fixed your 1000. How'd that go?

hellowwworld
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2014 10:01 pm

Re: CASIO CZ Sysex!

Post by hellowwworld » Sun Mar 09, 2014 1:39 am

Thank you.

Yes, I have slowed down the data rate with Sysex Librarian, I tried a few different settings up from 100 bytes per second or so. That's quite slow I presume. I wonder if it's possible to overdo this...

There was a contact issue with the keys and some keys would trigger 2-3 notes. I could hear that there was something loose inside the case so I opened it up and found a tiny piece broken of a black key loose inside the synth. The piece was so small that I couldn't even find out which key was damaged but after removing it all the keys seem to work properly. So it was a lucky shot.
The insides were clean, quite robust but neatly layered. I've heard that you might need to cut some wires or use soldering iron if you need to dig deeper and take the layered circuit boards apart.

commodorejohn
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 1564
Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2013 2:39 am
Real name: John
Gear: Roland JX-10/SH-09/MT-32/D-50, Yamaha DX7-II/V50/TX7/TG33/FB-01, Korg MS-20 Mini/ARP Odyssey/DW-8000/X5DR, Ensoniq SQ-80, Oberheim SEM
Location: Sacramento, CA
Contact:

Re: CASIO CZ Sysex!

Post by commodorejohn » Sun Mar 09, 2014 2:03 am

As I recall, the CZ-1000 I had simply didn't want to accept normal SysEx bank dumps from a normal send utility - I had to use CZLib to send it piecemeal, or it wouldn't go.
Computers: Amiga 1200, DEC VAXStation 4000/60, DEC MicroPDP-11/73

Post Reply