New analog Arturia synth?

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.
Shanesaw
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 324
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2005 9:44 pm
Gear: Ultranova, Minibrute, Microbrute, Spark, microKORG, microX,
Location: Long Beach, California

Re: New analog Arturia synth?

Post by Shanesaw » Sat Nov 09, 2013 3:20 am


Cool demo! I really dig the splitter idea for the mini patch-bay too.
"There was never a notion that a synthesizer would be used by itself for anything" - Robert Moog (1934-2005)

User avatar
Jabberwalky
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 2161
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 6:03 pm
Gear: A hybrid of vintage and modern junk
Band: Variar
Location: Pgh, PA
Contact:

Re: New analog Arturia synth?

Post by Jabberwalky » Sat Nov 09, 2013 3:55 pm

This just looks great. The overtone feature is interesting, but not sure how well it's applied. I'm really interested in using this with my Paia. The sequencer is just killer. Also, being able to output the screamingly fast LFO (also syncable) via CV is incredible. Yves Usson is a brilliant dude, and Arturia are learning what works.

User avatar
meatballfulton
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6010
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 9:29 pm
Gear: Logic Pro X

Re: New analog Arturia synth?

Post by meatballfulton » Sat Nov 09, 2013 8:14 pm

Shanesaw wrote: I really dig the splitter idea for the mini patch-bay too.
The Stackcables mentioned in that video are made by TipTop:

Image

I bought a half dozen and they work great. Microbrute users will love them. You can also make do with 1/8" Y-cables sold for headphone sharing on iPods and smartphones.
I listened to Hatfield and the North at Rainbow. They were very wonderful and they made my heart a prisoner.

Aaron2
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 720
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 5:18 am
Real name: Aaron
Gear: Pioneer: Toraiz SP-16
Elektron: AK, AR, MnM, MD, OT
DSI: Evolver, MEK, P08, Pro2
Korg: Arp Odyssey
Waldorf: Blofeld Keyboard
Location: Phoenix, AZ

Re: New analog Arturia synth?

Post by Aaron2 » Tue Nov 12, 2013 12:51 am

Just got mine today and it sounds great. But why doesn't it have a latch function on the sequencer? To keep it playing, you've got to hold a key down. That's one key feature that differentiates it from an otherwise SH-101 type of sequencer experience. :cry:

User avatar
sentientprogram
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 108
Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 6:10 pm
Gear: Pro 2, MiniBrute, MicroBrute, Prophet 12, El Capistan, blueSky, Deco, Abelton Live, DX7, RX15, TR-8, Metasonix F-1, MF Drive.

Re: New analog Arturia synth?

Post by sentientprogram » Tue Nov 12, 2013 1:08 am

Sequencer hold functionality is rumored to be coming in an update to the software.

Loving this tiny little beast; it is the perfect travel companion. I'm definitely going to pick up some stackcables for it.

User avatar
supermel74
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 965
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2006 8:56 am
Location: Maine
Contact:

Re: New analog Arturia synth?

Post by supermel74 » Tue Nov 12, 2013 4:01 am

sentientprogram wrote:Sequencer hold functionality is rumored to be coming in an update to the software.
I hope so because that's a huger bummer if they don't.

Aaron2
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 720
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 5:18 am
Real name: Aaron
Gear: Pioneer: Toraiz SP-16
Elektron: AK, AR, MnM, MD, OT
DSI: Evolver, MEK, P08, Pro2
Korg: Arp Odyssey
Waldorf: Blofeld Keyboard
Location: Phoenix, AZ

Re: New analog Arturia synth?

Post by Aaron2 » Tue Nov 12, 2013 7:02 am

supermel74 wrote:
sentientprogram wrote:Sequencer hold functionality is rumored to be coming in an update to the software.
I hope so because that's a huger bummer if they don't.
Is Arturia planning to release a patch-librarian program, possibly with sequence-editing capabilities? That would be quite cool. :geek:

commodorejohn
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 1586
Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2013 2:39 am
Real name: John
Gear: Roland JX-10/SH-09/MT-32/D-50, Yamaha DX7-II/V50/TX7/TG33/FB-01, Korg MS-20 Mini/ARP Odyssey/DW-8000/X5DR, Ensoniq SQ-80, Oberheim SEM
Location: Sacramento, CA
Contact:

Re: New analog Arturia synth?

Post by commodorejohn » Tue Nov 12, 2013 7:49 am

Uh, I think your patch librarian is a ream of paper and a photocopier with this thing...
Computers: Amiga 1200, DEC VAXStation 4000/60, DEC MicroPDP-11/73

User avatar
redchapterjubilee
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 846
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 3:59 pm
Location: Arden, NC
Contact:

Re: New analog Arturia synth?

Post by redchapterjubilee » Tue Nov 12, 2013 4:22 pm

Mine arrives tomorrow. Hopefully we get latch AND open VCA (for leaving the envelopes open so the oscillators can drone or we can use the filter in for other stuff) in that software update.
http://facebook.com/greatunwashedluminaries
ANALOG SYNTHESIZERS + EFFECTS + COMPUTERS

User avatar
supermel74
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 965
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2006 8:56 am
Location: Maine
Contact:

Re: New analog Arturia synth?

Post by supermel74 » Tue Nov 12, 2013 4:42 pm

So what's up at 8:50 to 9:50 of this video? Sequence playing, no holding of key.


Aaron2
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 720
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 5:18 am
Real name: Aaron
Gear: Pioneer: Toraiz SP-16
Elektron: AK, AR, MnM, MD, OT
DSI: Evolver, MEK, P08, Pro2
Korg: Arp Odyssey
Waldorf: Blofeld Keyboard
Location: Phoenix, AZ

Re: New analog Arturia synth?

Post by Aaron2 » Tue Nov 12, 2013 7:12 pm

supermel74 wrote:So what's up at 8:50 to 9:50 of this video? Sequence playing, no holding of key.

I wish I could tell you because that's not how mine works. And there's nothing in the manual suggesting that it's supposed to work this way.

User avatar
supermel74
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 965
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2006 8:56 am
Location: Maine
Contact:

Re: New analog Arturia synth?

Post by supermel74 » Tue Nov 12, 2013 7:30 pm

Aaron2 wrote: I wish I could tell you because that's not how mine works. And there's nothing in the manual suggesting that it's supposed to work this way.
Might be this? From the manual, page 44.

Play Mode
This selects between PLAY, OFF and RECORD.
• Play - In Play mode, the sequencer will play based on the Keymode. Keymode is
set in the MicroBrute editor software.

Aaron2
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 720
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 5:18 am
Real name: Aaron
Gear: Pioneer: Toraiz SP-16
Elektron: AK, AR, MnM, MD, OT
DSI: Evolver, MEK, P08, Pro2
Korg: Arp Odyssey
Waldorf: Blofeld Keyboard
Location: Phoenix, AZ

Re: New analog Arturia synth?

Post by Aaron2 » Tue Nov 12, 2013 7:31 pm

supermel74 wrote:So what's up at 8:50 to 9:50 of this video? Sequence playing, no holding of key.

OK, I just figured it out. You need to download the "MicroBrute Connexion" software. In it, you can modify certain parameters on the sequencer that you can't do from the front panel, including the hold function.

The software can be found here: http://www.arturia.com/evolution/en/pro ... urces.html

User avatar
meatballfulton
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6010
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 9:29 pm
Gear: Logic Pro X

Re: New analog Arturia synth?

Post by meatballfulton » Tue Nov 12, 2013 9:49 pm

It's always that damn software :agree:
I listened to Hatfield and the North at Rainbow. They were very wonderful and they made my heart a prisoner.

User avatar
Stab Frenzy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9723
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 5:41 pm
Gear: Eurorack, RYTM, Ultranova, many FX
Location: monster island*
Contact:

Re: New analog Arturia synth?

Post by Stab Frenzy » Wed Nov 13, 2013 3:28 am

commodorejohn wrote:Uh, I think your patch librarian is a ream of paper and a photocopier with this thing...
Digital camera actually.

Post Reply