Page 2 of 2

Re: Do you ever feel pressured to use a synth?

Posted: Tue Dec 24, 2013 2:39 am
by 8bit9bot
*thumbs up* if this were facebook... i like this thread

i have a fear of this issue myself and it helps me to control GAS

Re: Do you ever feel pressured to use a synth?

Posted: Tue Dec 24, 2013 2:34 pm
by ryryoftokyo
I once had a VST that guilted me into sending it nude pictures. Does that count?

Re: Do you ever feel pressured to use a synth?

Posted: Tue Dec 24, 2013 2:46 pm
by synthRodriguez
Nah, they're just tools in the toolbox, just more expensive than hand tools! It's the price we pay.

I don't get rid of a hammer (or look for something to build) just because I haven't used it for a while. It's there when I need it. I HAVE gotten rid of tools though I concluded were simply not useful for the stuff I do build.

That's the way I approach my stable anyway. Relieves a lot of guilt!

Re: Do you ever feel pressured to use a synth?

Posted: Tue Dec 24, 2013 10:05 pm
by synthroom
I have never felt pressured.

I do sometimes wish I have more time to play with some of them - mostly the Fairlight, since I've pined for it for so long.

Re: Do you ever feel pressured to use a synth?

Posted: Thu Dec 26, 2013 5:50 pm
by synthRodriguez
synthroom wrote:I do sometimes wish I have more time to play with some of them -
This.

Re: Do you ever feel pressured to use a synth?

Posted: Tue Apr 29, 2014 12:19 am
by moremagic
if ive left my mono/poly on to warm up for a while and forgotten about it i def dont wanna turn her off without playin a little bit first

Re: Do you ever feel pressured to use a synth?

Posted: Tue Apr 29, 2014 1:51 am
by Percivale
No pressure whatsoever and I think it is good to take things in a more positive perspective. Things come and go, nothing lasts forever. My motivation to play comes from wanting to hear them in action, making a new riff, patch, etc.

Re: Do you ever feel pressured to use a synth?

Posted: Tue Apr 29, 2014 3:06 am
by bluntedcircuit
I feel this way when i really get into a project on my computer with maschine and then I look over and feel guilt that I didn't use any of my hardware.

Re: Do you ever feel pressured to use a synth?

Posted: Wed Apr 30, 2014 1:13 pm
by Sheherezadeh
Not that much, usually, mostly just when I read threads like these. :) I have a lot of guitars as well, but I don't fret (haha) if I'm not playing any particularly one much at any given point. They're always there for me when I get an urge to play a particular one. I don't sell gear anymore because the few times I did early on I had extreme seller's remorse. I just make sure that I buy gear that I'm pretty sure I'm gonna keep for the long haul after copious amounts of research. I've frequently discover needs and ways to use existing gear that I hadn't used for years. Maybe I do feel a little internal pressure (and likely not nearly enough) to make more use out of what I already have rather than buying something new to make up for my own deficiencies in knowledge and programming.

Re: Do you ever feel pressured to use a synth?

Posted: Wed Apr 30, 2014 1:44 pm
by Psy_Free
Only when said synth whimpers "use me, use me".

Re: Do you ever feel pressured to use a synth?

Posted: Wed Apr 30, 2014 2:20 pm
by tomorrowstops
I mostly apply pressure to myself to use whatever synths I've got to make music. Although, like to think of it as 'challenging' instead of 'pressuring.' Interestingly enough, I've (begrudgingly) found I can be creative with anything. Even when I was stuck with just software a few months ago, I still cranked out a pretty interesting score to a short film.

Of course, trouble is, I keep buying and selling synths! Kind of derails the whole music making thing sometimes...

Typically, even if I've gone to great lengths to score a piece of gear, I have no trouble flipping it if I don't get along with it - usually the purchase gets me into debt anyways!

Re: Do you ever feel pressured to use a synth?

Posted: Wed Apr 30, 2014 7:15 pm
by calaverasgrande
meatballfulton wrote:
I was just purging my computer of unused plugins yesterday for the same reason.
amen to that!
I'm down to just the UA plugs and a few of the non-awful Logic plugs. Waiting for Stilwell and Waldorf to make theirs 64 bit so I can get those back on board. But then, heck I should just make it sound good going in.