Trigger the Nord Modular with gate signals?

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.
Post Reply
User avatar
sepiakeys
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 77
Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2006 12:22 pm
Gear: Hardware Synthesizers and Guitar Effects
Band: There will be Lions
Location: Switzerland

Trigger the Nord Modular with gate signals?

Post by sepiakeys » Tue Mar 04, 2014 9:27 am

Hello!

I am running a Roland RS-09 through a Nord Micro Modular for effects processing.

Now, the RS-09 has a gate-output. So here is my question:

Is it ok to trigger an envelope-module in the Micro Modular with the gate-signal from the RS-09? In other words, will a gate signal do any harm to the A/D-convertrers in the Micro Modular?

If it is fine to do so, can I run the signal from the audio-in-module directly into the gate-input of the envelpoe-module or is it better to put another logic- or audio-processing-mudule in the chain before the envelope-module?

Thanks to all Nord Modular Wizzards out there!
Good programming is worth more than the most expensive synthesizer.

edfunction
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 294
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 6:47 pm
Gear: sh-101, monomachine, nordmodular, esx1, nova, jx3p, jx8p, prophet vs, dx200
Location: Basel

Re: Trigger the Nord Modular with gate signals?

Post by edfunction » Tue Mar 04, 2014 12:10 pm

I don't know about the dangers to the input but you'll probably get a more consistent result putting some logic modules between. i have had some success using audio signals from drums etc. you could split an audio signal from the synth output if the gate is too much...

Post Reply