Sync an old Roland arpeggiator with CV?

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.
dswo

Sync an old Roland arpeggiator with CV?

Post by dswo » Wed Apr 23, 2014 12:31 am

Since I got my Juno 6, I've been looking at ways to sync the arpeggiator with my MIDI gear. I've come up with a few so far: the sync signal from a Korg Volca will produce eighth notes; the Korg SyncKontrol app can do the same thing (and produce 16th notes if I double the bpm); so can a drum machine, like the Alesis SR-16, with separate outputs.

I'm wondering, though: is this something the new Arturia Beatstep could do, since it outputs CV? Specifically: "BeatStep has a standard 1 volt per octave CV output as well as a standard 1 volt per octave GATE output." I'm new to both of these -- CV and the Roland arp sync -- so please tell me: if I plug a Beatstep into my Juno, will one of them start smoking?
David Wilson-Okamura

Z
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Gear: Bubble wrap, Styrofoam, boxes, packing tape

Re: Sync an old Roland arpeggiator with CV?

Post by Z » Wed Apr 23, 2014 1:50 am

You can use the Beatstep or any other CV step sequencer to control the Juno's VCF via the VCF pedal input. There is no way to control the Juno's pitch externally.

The Juno's arpeggiator requires a 5V pulse signal from a drum machine trigger out or sequencer clock output.
youtube.com/zibbybone facebook.com/ZsFlippinGear

dswo

Post by dswo » Wed Apr 23, 2014 3:43 am

Z wrote:The Juno's arpeggiator requires a 5V pulse signal from a drum machine trigger out or sequencer clock output.
Thank you, Z.
David Wilson-Okamura

moremagic
Gear: electribe er-1, sp-303, sp-404sx, s612, nuo 2, sl-1200 mk ii, beatstep, eurorack, tb-03, vx-99

Post by moremagic » Wed Apr 23, 2014 4:04 am