Roland JX10 V3.0

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.
User avatar
iphoenix
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 172
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2009 9:49 am
Real name: Paul
Location: Ireland

Re: Roland JX10 V3.0

Post by iphoenix » Sun Jun 01, 2014 3:53 am

Ive been following this process with keen interest over on gearslutz, very interesting indeed.

Iv had ( & loved) my JX10 since the late 1980s.

Is there any way to disable the V3 upgrade to use the sequencer , as I happen to really like it & don't need arpeggiators , useful though the addition would be potentially.

Or can the 'as played ' option of the arpeggiator record note playing in real time, like the sequencer?

8bit9bot
No Longer Registered

Re: Roland JX10 V3.0

Post by 8bit9bot » Sun Jun 01, 2014 8:55 pm

i always thought roland omitted PWM on JX's because of the combination of 2 oscillators and chorus (and unison modes) were lush enough... i understand the logic of leaving it out... but at the same time it's why i hate the JX series

User avatar
Bitexion
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 4230
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2005 7:43 pm
Gear: Alesis Andromeda A6
Roland D-50
Creamware Minimax
Yamaha DX7s
Analogue Systems modular
Ensoniq SQ-80
Waldorf Blofeld
Location: Drammen, Norway

Re: Roland JX10 V3.0

Post by Bitexion » Sun Jun 01, 2014 9:19 pm

There is no such thing as "lush enough".

commodorejohn
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 1586
Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2013 2:39 am
Real name: John
Gear: Roland JX-10/SH-09/MT-32/D-50, Yamaha DX7-II/V50/TX7/TG33/FB-01, Korg MS-20 Mini/ARP Odyssey/DW-8000/X5DR, Ensoniq SQ-80, Oberheim SEM
Location: Sacramento, CA
Contact:

Re: Roland JX10 V3.0

Post by commodorejohn » Sun Jun 01, 2014 10:10 pm

Not to mention that PWM is a very distinct sound from either oscillator detuning or chorus. Oscillator sync can kinda fake it, but there's really no substitute for the real thing.
Computers: Amiga 1200, DEC VAXStation 4000/60, DEC MicroPDP-11/73

User avatar
ranzee
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 267
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2014 12:07 pm
Real name: Ranz
Gear: http://www.ranzs.com/gear-list/
Band: ranzee ranz

Re: Roland JX10 V3.0

Post by ranzee » Mon Jun 02, 2014 1:16 am

links? is this just for the jx10 - what about the MKS-70?

... very interested indeed.

Quavermass
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2014 9:58 pm

Re: Roland JX10 V3.0

Post by Quavermass » Wed Jun 04, 2014 8:24 pm

I`m afraid that the old JX10 sequencer has been dropped completely from the new firmware ,sorry if you liked it.

MKS70 is supported (the project started out as an MKS70 thing then JX10 owners kept wailing for an upgrade...Me Included)...head on over to Vecoven dot com for all the info.

I have one PWM prototype board in my synth and will get some sounds up soon

User avatar
corndogssg
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 217
Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2013 9:38 am
Real name: ryan
Gear: v synth,little phatty2,jx10,kiwi106 jx305, jv2080x's8,k2600,ion,microQ,blofeld,evolver,tetra,x station,ultra nova,bass station2, jd990,minibrute
Band: sesame street gangsters
Location: olympia washington

Re: Roland JX10 V3.0

Post by corndogssg » Sat Jun 07, 2014 2:24 pm

nice, have only had my jx10 now for 2 months, got it for 3 bills from some kid i met while i was working and he even had a hard case for it (its a gun case lol but works great) it has the midi fix in it but this is awesome! the jx10 is a very under rated roland analog synth! if it had all the color in the rainbow on it's faceplate it'd go for thousands like the jup 6 and 8s

Quavermass
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2014 9:58 pm

Re: Roland JX10 V3.0

Post by Quavermass » Sun Aug 17, 2014 3:29 pm

Ok It's been a while but, the V1.0 PWM boards had a slight flaw passing some DC to the outputs and V1.1 boards are in development......but the good old soundboards took that punishment and kept on going thanks to some good decoupling design.

In other news the MIDI CC software is now in rev 2 with release number 3.02 so all parameters can be edited with MIDI CCs and BOTH tones can be edited if desired...forget the PG800 and the cost involved..no arcane sysex stuff..any MIDI knob box or IPad app will do the job

User avatar
V301H
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 764
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 3:58 am
Gear: Fender The Strat, Stratocaster, Jazz Bass Rickenbacker 360-12, 320 Messenger(Mark Farner)
Band: The Characters
Location: New Jersey
Contact:

Re: Roland JX10 V3.0

Post by V301H » Sun Aug 17, 2014 5:45 pm

PWM can do more than simulate a chorus effect. At extreme settings using LFO modulation the sound of the the Oscillator can cycle in and out to different degrees. With Envelope modulation the Oscillator sound can fade in adding a delayed layer to a Patch. Perhaps PWM was omitted due to lack of space and the cost of more knobs and switches on the PG-800.
Prophet 5 rev.2, Pro-One, Juno 60, Jupiter 6, Matrix 12, OB8, MS20, Poly 800, CS70M, DX-7, CP35, Casio PX-5S, Hammond C3/M102, Vox Continental/Super Continental, Gibson G101, Farfisa Compact, RMI 300A, Pianet N, Combo Pianet, S770, S760, S50, NS3C

samaepstein
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 3:41 am
Real name: Sam
Gear: Realistic mg1
Juno 106
Modded monotribe
Dr110
Tr505
Foogers
Rhodes
Wurlitzer
Hammond
Band: Peekaboo Streetsweeper
Location: Longmont co
Contact:

Re: Roland JX10 V3.0

Post by samaepstein » Sun Aug 17, 2014 9:36 pm

Hey there finally got the new firmware installed.

Not sure if I'm missing something in the manual, but I can't figure out how to get c1 and c2 to control any tone parameters other than the few that they normally do. Was I wrong to assume I would be able to save a patch where ,for example, the filter cutoff is controlled by c1 and env release controlled by c2?

I would also vote heavily for an update if possible to have the sequencer/arpeggiator switchable.

Thanks again for your work on this sleeper legend.
Sam

Quavermass
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2014 9:58 pm

Re: Roland JX10 V3.0

Post by Quavermass » Sun Aug 24, 2014 4:34 pm

Hi Sam sorry for the delay...work has been manic but...

Press the C1 or C2 button then press TONE and you can cycle thru upper/lower tones to adjust..then spin the alpha dial to the parameter you want to tweak ...at this point hit write to store your selection or the C1/C2 button to back out.

Unfortunately due to the hardware design and limited memory the C1/C2 settings are global and cannot be stored per patch.....sorry, although if you hit the MIDI button and scroll to the last menu C1/C2 edit and switch this ON then the two sliders act as data sliders so when you edit a tone the sliders can be used instead of spinning the alpha dial with C1 editing the lower tone and C2 the upper......great for tweaking DUAL patches that even the PG800 can't do.

Hope this helps....any other questions don't hesitate to PM me.

Dave

c-level
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 394
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2012 1:57 am
Real name: Mike
Gear: Juno106, JX10, JX8P, JX3P, MKS50, SY22, SH201, Micromoog, CP 251, Korg Legacy, Triton Rack, Ableton 9, APC40, Max/MSP, Focusrite Pro40, Jazz Bass.
Band: C-Level
Location: Baltimore
Contact:

Re: Roland JX10 V3.0

Post by c-level » Tue Nov 11, 2014 5:42 pm

has anyone undertaken this mod? im seriously considering it, but then theres the issue of finding/modifying a proper JX8P editor to split the upper/lower tones. just looking for some feedback thanks....

edit right now i use this one if it helps... http://www.maxforlive.com/library/device.php?id=556

Quavermass
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2014 9:58 pm

Re: Roland JX10 V3.0

Post by Quavermass » Sat Dec 06, 2014 3:18 pm

Hi, sorry for the late reply....V3.0 has in the MIDI menu compatability modes for sysex Rx/Tx for just this...

Mode 1 Full Tilt sysex, Bulk Dump over and done in under 10s...Edit Tone A/B indepandently
Mode 2 Factory MKS-70,Bulk Dump slowed to timings expected by Soundiver/Midiquest etc..still independent tones.
Mode 3 Factory MKS/2.3SE, Slower Bulk Dump and Tone edits sent to Tone selected by front panel Upper/Lower buttons

Fred did grumble about adding delays for the sysex transmission for compatability with "old" software, but was determined to keep people that had setups with Ipads/Midi knob boxes that used a PG800 style template would not be left only being able to edit one of the tones...So you can still sit and tweak a patch by hand, then flip to a different mode and have your DAW CC lanes controlling automation however you want.

Post Reply