multiple minibrutes

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.
Post Reply
User avatar
corndogssg
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 217
Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2013 9:38 am
Real name: ryan
Gear: v synth,little phatty2,jx10,kiwi106 jx305, jv2080x's8,k2600,ion,microQ,blofeld,evolver,tetra,x station,ultra nova,bass station2, jd990,minibrute
Band: sesame street gangsters
Location: olympia washington

multiple minibrutes

Post by corndogssg » Thu Aug 28, 2014 5:50 am

Hey can you chain two minibrutes together? Or even 3 or 4? Really am wondering about just two but just figured I would ask about more. Anyone have two minibrutes chained together??

commodorejohn
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 1587
Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2013 2:39 am
Real name: John
Gear: Roland JX-10/SH-09/MT-32/D-50, Yamaha DX7-II/V50/TX7/TG33/FB-01, Korg MS-20 Mini/ARP Odyssey/DW-8000/X5DR, Ensoniq SQ-80, Oberheim SEM
Location: Sacramento, CA
Contact:

Re: multiple minibrutes

Post by commodorejohn » Thu Aug 28, 2014 5:54 am

They've got MIDI and CV/gate out and in, so that'd be a definite "yes." You could even chain the audio and filter one through the other, if you were so inclined.

Also, this thread title is pleasingly reminiscent of Multiple Maniacs.
Computers: Amiga 1200, DEC VAXStation 4000/60, DEC MicroPDP-11/73

User avatar
Stab Frenzy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9723
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 5:41 pm
Gear: Eurorack, RYTM, Ultranova, many FX
Location: monster island*
Contact:

Re: multiple minibrutes

Post by Stab Frenzy » Thu Aug 28, 2014 6:49 am

You can with a midipal to do the voice assignments, not straight out of the box though.

I'm assuming you mean to play polyphonically right?

User avatar
corndogssg
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 217
Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2013 9:38 am
Real name: ryan
Gear: v synth,little phatty2,jx10,kiwi106 jx305, jv2080x's8,k2600,ion,microQ,blofeld,evolver,tetra,x station,ultra nova,bass station2, jd990,minibrute
Band: sesame street gangsters
Location: olympia washington

Re: multiple minibrutes

Post by corndogssg » Thu Aug 28, 2014 10:29 am

yeah, to play poly.

Synthacon
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 242
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2004 7:57 pm
Gear: Hard and Soft Synths
Location: Synth Heaven - UK

Re: multiple minibrutes

Post by Synthacon » Thu Aug 28, 2014 11:13 am

Would be similar to playing an Oberheim 2/4/8 voice in that each voice would not be 100% the same due to the fact each synth will not be exactly the same as the next in relation to its settings. Gives a nice timbre however.
You always want just one more Synth!

User avatar
Cybercardinal
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 482
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 12:16 pm
Location: Denmark

Re: multiple minibrutes

Post by Cybercardinal » Thu Aug 28, 2014 11:51 am

Several examples of that on the tube. Happened to bump into one of them the other day. Micro's here though.



User avatar
Kenneth
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 327
Joined: Sat Apr 23, 2011 12:57 am
Real name: Kenneth
Gear: Nothing I own will make you jealous.
Band: KGB
Location: Minnesota
Contact:

Re: multiple minibrutes

Post by Kenneth » Thu Aug 28, 2014 2:52 pm

All you have to do is set them up where one is controlling the other via CV or MIDI, and then hook them both up to your computer via USB. Go into the editor software for the first one, and change keyboard priority to "low note". On the second, change keyboard priority to "high note". Boom. You have polyphony. Thanks to Marc Doty for that one (I stole the idea from one of his videos. Works great!)
Comparison is the thief of joy.

User avatar
Psy_Free
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 818
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 6:36 pm
Gear: Synths 'n' stuff.
Band: Klangzeit
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: multiple minibrutes

Post by Psy_Free » Thu Aug 28, 2014 3:03 pm

"Any noise is good. For what is a different matter"
Bandcamp 1
Bandcamp 2
Soundcloud

Aaron2
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 720
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 5:18 am
Real name: Aaron
Gear: Pioneer: Toraiz SP-16
Elektron: AK, AR, MnM, MD, OT
DSI: Evolver, MEK, P08, Pro2
Korg: Arp Odyssey
Waldorf: Blofeld Keyboard
Location: Phoenix, AZ

Re: multiple minibrutes

Post by Aaron2 » Sat Sep 06, 2014 8:03 am

Psy_Free wrote:Or buy a Future Retro Mondovox

http://www.future-retro.com/mondovoxoverview.html
Yeah, so you spend $300 for that, and about a grand on four Microbrutes, and for $1,300, you've got a four-voice polyphonic synth. Personally, I think that money would be better spent on a DSI Prophet 08 module (I got mine new for $1,275). You get 8 voices for that price, and fewer of the inherent limitations that the four-Microbrute setup will no doubt have.

User avatar
Stab Frenzy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9723
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 5:41 pm
Gear: Eurorack, RYTM, Ultranova, many FX
Location: monster island*
Contact:

Re: multiple minibrutes

Post by Stab Frenzy » Sun Sep 07, 2014 12:43 pm

Kenneth wrote:All you have to do is set them up where one is controlling the other via CV or MIDI, and then hook them both up to your computer via USB. Go into the editor software for the first one, and change keyboard priority to "low note". On the second, change keyboard priority to "high note". Boom. You have polyphony. Thanks to Marc Doty for that one (I stole the idea from one of his videos. Works great!)
Only works via midi, not CV. Good one though, I'd forgotten about that trick. :thumbleft:

Post Reply