Roland SH2 Plugout

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.
Post Reply
User avatar
meatballfulton
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6228
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 9:29 pm
Gear: Logic Pro X

Roland SH2 Plugout

Post by meatballfulton » Tue Sep 23, 2014 7:21 pm

Sonic State video...it does sound nice!

I listened to Hatfield and the North at Rainbow. They were very wonderful and they made my heart a prisoner.

User avatar
Alphacode
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 187
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 10:45 am
Location: I'm around...

Re: Roland SH2 Plugout

Post by Alphacode » Tue Sep 23, 2014 8:16 pm

wow how disappointing , not only you have to pay for it 75€ (it should be free after paying 599) the interface of that system 1 is really bad. But for me in the Aira range only the TR8 is worth buying. hope the 707 update for it will be free though...

PS: i hope someone can do a demo of the System 1 vs SH 101 or Sh2 plug-outs i bet they sound the same and Roland is fooling us haha :)

Hugo76
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1433
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2007 10:57 pm

Re: Roland SH2 Plugout

Post by Hugo76 » Tue Sep 23, 2014 8:38 pm

Sounds great! Sensibly priced, as well. The System 1 is getting harder and harder to resist...

User avatar
garranimal
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 1728
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2004 8:57 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Roland SH2 Plugout

Post by garranimal » Wed Sep 24, 2014 3:54 am

:agree: Priced well, sounds really nice and fat from what I can tell. I've enjoyed the Sh-101 model and will definitely buy the sh-2. This synth has been a tweakers dream, the sound is really very good without the on-board effects. I really do forget I am playing dsp.

User avatar
Jabberwalky
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 2171
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 6:03 pm
Gear: A hybrid of vintage and modern junk
Band: Variar
Location: Pgh, PA
Contact:

Re: Roland SH2 Plugout

Post by Jabberwalky » Wed Sep 24, 2014 4:26 am

That sounds pretty spot on, at least based on my memory of my sh2. It's not a product I'm interested in, but someone could easily ditch their old Sh-2 if sound is the important factor.

User avatar
ejlif
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 71
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2013 9:36 pm
Real name: Ryan
Gear: Roland V synth Waldorf Q Roland Juno 106 MOOg slim phatty, Elektron analog 4, DSI P12, MS20 mini, Virus TI, Novation BSII,
Band: ejlif

Re: Roland SH2 Plugout

Post by ejlif » Wed Sep 24, 2014 4:37 am

This sounds really good audio quality from the demo to my ear. I wonder what the difference would be having the actual keyboard vs only the plug in. Can anyone confirm the ease of use of this keyboard when connected only via USB?

User avatar
desmond
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 885
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2005 12:32 pm
Contact:

Re: Roland SH2 Plugout

Post by desmond » Wed Sep 24, 2014 1:10 pm

Alphacode wrote:wow how disappointing , not only you have to pay for it 75€ (it should be free after paying 599)
No it's shouldn't, you just have an unrealistic expectaion that buying one thing once continues to get you free stuff at your convenience. The SH101 is free with a System-1 purchase, not other proimises were given. The fact that future software products can also be used by the System-1 is a benefit, not a right.
Alphacode wrote:PS: i hope someone can do a demo of the System 1 vs SH 101 or Sh2 plug-outs i bet they sound the same and Roland is fooling us haha :)
The 101 and 2 are different synths, the first is a modern-ish 1-ocillator analog synth with a thinnish Roland sound, the SH2 is an older, fatter, 2-oscillator synth that's a bit more Moogy than the later Roland sound. They also have different features.

User avatar
Bitexion
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 4230
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2005 7:43 pm
Gear: Alesis Andromeda A6
Roland D-50
Creamware Minimax
Yamaha DX7s
Analogue Systems modular
Ensoniq SQ-80
Waldorf Blofeld
Location: Drammen, Norway

Re: Roland SH2 Plugout

Post by Bitexion » Wed Sep 24, 2014 2:01 pm

I doubt Roland dares risking their reputation by doing the Arturia trick of using the same sound engine with different graphical skins for all their softsynths :P

User avatar
meatballfulton
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6228
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 9:29 pm
Gear: Logic Pro X

Re: Roland SH2 Plugout

Post by meatballfulton » Wed Sep 24, 2014 2:35 pm

Why not, they risk their reputation every time they release a product that isn't a Jupiter 8 reissue :roll:
I listened to Hatfield and the North at Rainbow. They were very wonderful and they made my heart a prisoner.

User avatar
garranimal
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 1728
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2004 8:57 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Roland SH2 Plugout

Post by garranimal » Sun Sep 28, 2014 11:24 pm

Had it loaded and tweaking for a couple of days now. It sounds damn good. Roland has really busted this ACM thing wide open, the possibilities seem endless. Eagerly awaiting poly hardware and plug-outs.

User avatar
Broadwave
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 414
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2011 10:50 am
Gear: Kronos 2-88, Fantom 6, Novation Summit, Modal Argon8X, Yamaha MODX6, Behringer Odyssey, Behringer Poly D, BroadWAVE ARP 2600EX.
Location: Manchester UK
Contact:

Re: Roland SH2 Plugout

Post by Broadwave » Tue Sep 30, 2014 12:40 pm

I would be all over the System 1... But only if it had a 5oct keyboard! :roll: (an absolute minimum if they go down the Poly Plug-out route)

Post Reply