Played a Model D, had an epiphany!

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.
smitty.west
Gear: Oberheim OB-8
Roland SH-101
Teenage Engineering OP-1
Akai S1000HD & S1000PB

Played a Model D, had an epiphany!

Post by smitty.west » Mon Oct 20, 2014 12:55 am

I'm fairly new to the wonderful world of synthesis so my experience with classic analog synths is-- or rather was-- limited, but last night I had the chance to play several of my friends classics, among which were the Jupiter 6, Jupiter 8, OBX, SH3A, Voyager, etc., etc. and... a Model D.

WOW

I've never been so smitten by a piece of gear in my life before. This thing was truly revelatory for me. I'm still grinning, 24 hours later. Most people who haven't played one first hand know how a MiniMoog sounds, but hearing it in person greatly surpasses any preconceived notions you might have about it. I had an audio-epiphany. Warm, fat, soaring, rich, etc.

This will be my next synth- hopefully in the New Year.

I know what I'm sharing here isn't news; it's just a personal revelation.

Never have I felt this good and excited about a piece of gear. Can't wait to get one and be inspired.

Walter Ego
Gear: Various noisemakers hidden around my home and classroom. And a great quantity of caffeine.
Band: 12"VS

Re: Played a Model D, had an epiphany!

Post by Walter Ego » Mon Oct 20, 2014 5:30 am

Congratulations. It'll pretty much be down hill from there... :D
Walter Ego
seamonkey wrote:I nominate this for STUPIDEST THREAD ever in the history of the internez. ;)

ppg_wavecomputer
Expert Member
Expert Member
Gear: more keys than hands (and feet)
Band: ['ramp]

Post by ppg_wavecomputer » Mon Oct 20, 2014 11:20 am

Same thing with me 25 years ago.

And it still is.

Stephen
"Like the light from distant stars, Stephen Parsick's music has existed for some time, but is only now reaching us on Earth." Chuck van Zyl

https://doombientmusic.bandcamp.com/