Alesis nanosynth compatibility to QS synth

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.

Alesis nanosynth compatibility to QS synth

Postby powerslabelle » Tue Dec 09, 2014 9:32 am

Is it possible to edit a Nanosynth with a synth from the QS line ? I know they share the same synth engine, do they share the same patch information ?

For instance uploading a bank via sysex from a QS dump directly to the nanosynth, that'd be really great.

I can get a really good deal on a QS6 and that would save me the trouble of getting the nanosynth home, open my mac, open a virtual image of an old Mac OS to run an outdated editor that isn't very intuitive.

+ it would be nice to have the keyboard version for other stuff, the module works for me now because it's so small, perfect for gigs where space is limited.
powerslabelle
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed May 14, 2014 11:11 pm

Re: Alesis nanosynth compatibility to QS synth

Postby Stab Frenzy » Tue Dec 09, 2014 10:11 am

Check the midi implementation charts in the manuals of both synths, that'll tell you.
User avatar
Stab Frenzy
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 9723
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 5:41 pm
Location: monster island*
Gear: Eurorack, RYTM, Ultranova, many FX

Re: Alesis nanosynth compatibility to QS synth

Postby powerslabelle » Tue Dec 09, 2014 9:41 pm

They seem compatible, but i'm looking for first hand experience, also how hard/easy is it to program the QS6 from the front panel ?

The nanosynth editor has A LOT of parameters, which makes it great and flexible but also a pain to edit
powerslabelle
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed May 14, 2014 11:11 pm

Re: Alesis nanosynth compatibility to QS synth

Postby Ashe37 » Wed Dec 10, 2014 12:44 pm

powerslabelle wrote:They seem compatible, but i'm looking for first hand experience, also how hard/easy is it to program the QS6 from the front panel ?

The nanosynth editor has A LOT of parameters, which makes it great and flexible but also a pain to edit


I had a QS6 and sold it because editing on that tiny 2-line display was slow and painful. lots of paging and paging and paging...
Ashe37
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3748
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 3:43 pm
Location: Central VA
Real name: Unpronounceable
Gear: Ensoniq SD-1/32,SQR,VFX,ESQm
Virus Indigo, M3-61 , MS2000BR, Volca Bass
Emu XL-7, Matrix 6r
TG-33, K3m, Blofeld, Micron, Mopho, BS II, JV-1080
Band: Eridani V

Re: Alesis nanosynth compatibility to QS synth

Postby powerslabelle » Thu Dec 11, 2014 7:56 am

Ah thanks, good to know, i guess i'll stick with an old laptop i don't care about that i can leave at the rehearsal room.
powerslabelle
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed May 14, 2014 11:11 pm


Return to General Synthesizers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: fuixoeny and 17 guests