Recommendations for eerie/warm analog sounds for psych-folk

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.
incircles

Recommendations for eerie/warm analog sounds for psych-folk

Post by incircles » Thu Jan 22, 2015 2:57 am

I'm looking for something capable of subtle and eerie leads/textures to complement an otherwise largely acoustic project. I'm fairly new to the synth world. In another band, I played an MS-2000 and loved it, so I'll probably pick up one of those (maybe the R version). Wondering about the MS-10/MS-20 or Microbrute, though, or if there's anything else anyone would suggest. Again, going for subtle, not sawtooth blats or dubstep whomps. Pardon my naivete. I can justify up to $1000 on a single synth and maybe $2k total. FWIW, I've got space echo, rotary, and digital delay in my effects chain.

Relatedly, also looking for a good reedy organ sound without a lot of weight/expense.

commodorejohn
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Gear: Roland JX-10/SH-09/MT-32/D-50, Yamaha DX7-II/V50/TX7/TG33/FB-01, Korg MS-20 Mini/ARP Odyssey/DW-8000/X5DR, Ensoniq SQ-80, Oberheim SEM

Re: Recommendations for eerie/warm analog sounds for psych-f

Post by commodorejohn » Thu Jan 22, 2015 3:22 am

The MS-20 is more gnarly and weird than warm or eerie, although you can coax more traditional analog sounds out of it without too much trouble. You could hold out for the Korg ARP Odyssey rerelease, sounds like that's going to be priced at $999.
Computers: Amiga 1200, DEC VAXStation 4000/60, DEC MicroPDP-11/73

incircles

Post by incircles » Thu Jan 22, 2015 3:34 am

commodorejohn wrote:The MS-20 is more gnarly and weird than warm or eerie, although you can coax more traditional analog sounds out of it without too much trouble. You could hold out for the Korg ARP Odyssey rerelease, sounds like that's going to be priced at $999.