Alt-J: "Dissolve Me" patch

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.
Caisleyn
Gear: Roland Juno 60
Roland Space Echo RE-201
Novation BassStation II
Alesis Micron

Alt-J: "Dissolve Me" patch

Post by Caisleyn » Tue Jan 27, 2015 2:59 am

Disclaimer: This is my first time on these forums, so sorry if this is being posted in the wrong place.

Anyways, on to my question. Essentially, I need help with trying to emulate a specific timbre with my Alesis Micron modeling synthesizer. The patch in question is from Alt-J's song, "Dissolve Me"; it's the melodic theme played by the keyboardist throughout the song, and can be heard from the very first measure. I'm a seasoned pianist, but I just recently purchased the Micron and I'm very new to synthesizers.

Here's the link to a live performance:
(I'll admit it's not the greatest live performance, but you'll get the point.)

I've tried everything I can think of:
-Trying different combinations of sine, saw, triangle, and square wave
-Changing the levels of the difference waveforms to highlight one over the other
-Increasing the number of voices per note
-Messing around with filters a bit, although this part is still confusing to me

Is there something I'm missing? The patch that Alt-J just sounds so good, almost acoustic in nature, despite being artificial. So far all of my attempts have just resulted in boring, cliche, synth leads that sound like they belong in a 16bit arcade game.

Thanks in advance for any help!

machinea
Gear: K2661, JD990, NL2X, Juno 60, Mini D, V'ger, SH101, Odyssey, MS20, Dominion1, MEK, Prophet 6, D550, MKS50, JV1080, TG33

Re: Alt-J: "Dissolve Me" patch

Post by machinea » Tue Jan 27, 2015 5:19 am

From the Sound on Sound article: http://www.soundonsound.com/sos/apr13/a ... andrew.htm