Synth Defects - Ticking Time Bombs

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.
User avatar
krzeppa
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 597
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 2:27 pm
Real name: Kevin J
Band: Where the Embers Fall
Location: Michigan, USA
Contact:

Re: Synth Defects - Ticking Time Bombs

Post by krzeppa » Sat Apr 01, 2017 8:43 pm

I didn't see this posted earlier, but I do believe the 100uF capacitor on the Virus B/Indigo 1 had a tendency to c**p out and need to be replaced. I know a couple of people who had it replaced by Access twice!

Didn't the Andromeda have problems with voice chips failing and loose ribbon cables?

User avatar
cornutt
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2117
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 6:03 am
Gear: 6th
Location: Rocket City USA
Contact:

Re: Synth Defects - Ticking Time Bombs

Post by cornutt » Mon Apr 03, 2017 9:57 pm

krzeppa wrote:
Didn't the Andromeda have problems with voice chips failing and loose ribbon cables?
I understand the early Andromedas had some voice chip issues. I'm not up on the details.
Switches, knobs, buttons, LEDs, LCD screens, monitors, keys, mice, jacks, sockets. Now two joysticks!

User avatar
pflosi
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 3620
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 6:14 pm
Gear: more than 150 characters...
Location: zürich
Contact:

Re: Synth Defects - Ticking Time Bombs

Post by pflosi » Tue Apr 04, 2017 9:45 am

Apparently... My A6 is running smooth though.

The loose ribbon cables can cause "ghost editing" (those and lots of dust). But you just have to reseat them properly.

jxalex
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 475
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2016 6:05 am
Gear: enough
Location: Sweden

Re: Synth Defects - Ticking Time Bombs

Post by jxalex » Sat Apr 08, 2017 12:17 am

Roland JX8P --- some models wont boot correctly and the countdown stops or begins again. The problem is with its CPU reset circuit which design is somewhat funny with its capacitors and transistors.

jxalex
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 475
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2016 6:05 am
Gear: enough
Location: Sweden

Re: Synth Defects - Ticking Time Bombs

Post by jxalex » Sat Apr 08, 2017 12:21 am

max badwan wrote:
coastalscrub wrote:Aren't there some synths that have humming or buzzing backlit displays?
Korg M/T series
Roland D70/MV30
Kawai K5000

That's just in my arsenal.
Korg Wavestation A/D (it helps to reduce its buzz by reducing its transistor collector current with series resistor 50 ohms do fine, however somewhat the brightness is reduced)

AKAI S3200XL (same buzz. interesting that its contrast knob is with backlight switch off function)

User avatar
belltones
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Aug 07, 2017 10:52 pm
Real name: Alison
Gear: Weller soldering iron, Hitachi oscilloscope, little hooked tool I got on Amazon for $1
Location: Philadelphia
Contact:

Re: Synth Defects - Ticking Time Bombs

Post by belltones » Mon Aug 07, 2017 11:14 pm

Oberheim OB series - bridge rectifier on digital rail side of power supply is really inadequate for the current being drawn and gets so hot that it will scorch the board as well as itself. Even if it hasn't failed yet, it should be replaced with a much higher current-rated one (e.g. 6A instead of 2A) with maybe a nice heat sink for good measure (I add a heat sink and it still gets very hot!)

DavidH
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jul 16, 2017 5:02 pm
Gear: Hammond B3/122, MK1 Rhodes Stage, Farfisa Compact Duo/Binson Echorec2, Moog LP Stage II, Kurzweil K2600XS, Roland Super JX-10/PG800, Roland JD800, DX7

Re: Synth Defects - Ticking Time Bombs

Post by DavidH » Fri Aug 11, 2017 9:11 pm

Yamaha DX7 arc suppression capacitor meltdown.

Apologies if this has been covered already, I did try searching it.

Yesterday I added a MK1 DX7 to the stable. It came with a faulty on/off switch that wouldn't turn off. Within 10 minutes there was an awful smell and on opening the lid I found that the capacitor C10 on the incoming AC board was hot and smouldering. I removed it and the synth still works fine but I have ordered a replacement. It's purpose is to suppress sparks inside the power switch when turning the synth on and it is connected to the two hot wires that go to the switch.

I researched this and found that other MK1 DX7 owners had experienced the same problem. One guy only found out he had the problem when the smoke detector went off in his studio!

If you have a MK1 DX7 change capacitor C10 on the AC board (the furthest pcb to the right as you look at the synth as if you are playing it.

This is the replacement I have ordered http://www.conrad-electronic.co.uk/ce/e ... MSSD-1-pcs

It is X2 rated. The original caps specified by Yamaha were only 250 VAC rated so were already operating close to their limit.

blueknob
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 263
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2008 12:30 pm
Gear: ESi32/E6400U, Novation Supernova, Ensoniq (a shedful), vintage Macs, Hamm C3/122
Location: England, UK

Re: Synth Defects - Ticking Time Bombs

Post by blueknob » Wed Sep 27, 2017 8:01 am

Just a brief note. I'd say be careful with the Ham XB2. I used mine for 1000 gigs, then put it away unused for about 6 months. Upon trying it again things were wrong, seriously wrong, CPU/Sound Engine wrong. There were a lot of custom chips and the best I could do was to suspect either one of the above, no schematics or chip data available and no chance of a replacement chip. I had to buy a whole replacement digital board.


BTW: Be careful when feeding the Geeks :geek: they usually spew up lectures to show only they know the most. ;)

User avatar
DX21
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 135
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 5:42 am
Real name: Fender
Gear: Yamaha DX21
Kawai K3
Band: AHHHH!?!!?
Location: Canada

Re: Synth Defects - Ticking Time Bombs

Post by DX21 » Thu Sep 28, 2017 6:17 am

Sy77 belts turn to goo, backups leak
~Playin' Those Big Fluffy Pads at the Crack o' Dawn~
Yamaha DX7 > Yamaha SY77 > Kawai K3 > PC via Roland UM-ONE Rev 1.

AK79
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2013 7:12 pm
Gear: RolandSH09, RolandSH2, Korg PS6, Korg700S, SolinaStringEnsemble, MFOS SoundLabUltimate, YamahaDX7, YamahaCS01,SielOpera6, Korg Mono/Poly,OberheimOB8
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Re: Synth Defects - Ticking Time Bombs

Post by AK79 » Fri Oct 06, 2017 1:47 pm

DavidH wrote:Yamaha DX7 arc suppression capacitor meltdown.

.
this appplies to any old PSU using that scheme. Those caps simply give up at some point.
My Solina String ensemble had this issue and that made me replacing those things on all synths I get my hands on.

on topic :
I recently found that trimpots become an issue on various synths. I had a number of broken ones in my Polysix and have seen it over the last year in numerous synths I get for repair.

Also a common problem I see regulary are busted contacts in rotary switches on Roland SH-Series and Korg MS-Series.

Did someone mention the shitty PSU in the OB 8 already ?

TB303 suffers from cracked PCB tracks especially in the area of the Tempo knob. This can diconnect the internal clock.

Another member of the Battery-Leakage-Club : Oberheim DMX.

br
Arne

Mandala Music
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2017 9:05 am

Re: Synth Defects - Ticking Time Bombs

Post by Mandala Music » Sun Feb 10, 2019 7:11 pm

"Sy77 belts turn to goo, backups leak"

All floppy disk drives will eventually fail as their rubber drive belts dry out and lose their elasticity over time.

My first floppy drive to die was the one of my Yamaha V50 keyboard. My latest to die was the floppy drive on my Kawai K5000R rack synth. I am going to replace it with a USB floppy Disk Emulator Drive next week. I have already removed the floppy drive. I had to remove the motherboard, the faceplate, the phone jack and volume knob assemblies in order to access the four screws holding it in. Not a user friendly design. :evil:

User avatar
Yekuku
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 606
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 11:29 am
Gear: dk'tronics speech synthesizer :P
Location: Greece

Re: Synth Defects - Ticking Time Bombs

Post by Yekuku » Sat Jul 06, 2019 6:16 pm

Roland XP-50.
Surface mount electrolyte caps leak , corroding pcb tracks on their way.
Classic symptoms: No Display, no output, battery low 0V.
I have one in front of me, I have replaced all electrolytes, jumpered 2 pcb tracks and it still does not work. :evil:
It is all about sharing...

Post Reply