Making A Rompler Rancid

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.
Solyaris
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 4:14 am

Making A Rompler Rancid

Post by Solyaris » Mon May 18, 2015 9:10 pm

I'm not sure what the antonym of sterile is so I went with Rancid. ;) I've got a Roland Rompler I've had for a long while. I don't plan on getting rid of it because it's so buggy that I couldn't in good faith sell it to anyone. And over the years I've even gotten halfway decent at programming it. My biggest problem with it is how sterile it sounds. My current go to method is to bounce it off of cassette. Sometimes that dirties it up too much though, and I can never do that process live. I can come close doing it with a Marantz portable recorder with the monitor function. But even then there is a slight delay. Anyway, does anyone have an suggestions? Would a pre-amp of some kind do the trick and which one? Micing the monitors has helped too sometimes.

User avatar
Zamise
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 2352
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2004 2:41 am
Gear: Rollhand P00
Band: Quantum-Source
Location: DenverMetroUSA, Quantum-Source.com
Contact:

Re: Making A Rompler Rancid

Post by Zamise » Mon May 18, 2015 9:44 pm

An effects processor with a distortion effect. No on board effects in that synth?
<ZQS> [....<OII>.....soundcloud player v2.42.....................link]

Solyaris
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 4:14 am

Re: Making A Rompler Rancid

Post by Solyaris » Mon May 18, 2015 10:11 pm

It does have (very poor) distortion effects. But that's too pronounced of an effect for what I want. I think a what I was is some mild coloration, but not into distortion territory.

User avatar
madtheory
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 5191
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 12:45 pm
Real name: Tomas Mulcahy
Gear: Flangebeast Mk1, Plonkotron, Morovdis Arpeggiator, Maplin My First EQ, Jeff Wayne Thunderchild rack, Thermostat, Buck Owens' Moog.
Band: Minim
Location: Cork, Ireland
Contact:

Re: Making A Rompler Rancid

Post by madtheory » Mon May 18, 2015 11:17 pm

What model of Roland?

Solyaris
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 4:14 am

Re: Making A Rompler Rancid

Post by Solyaris » Mon May 18, 2015 11:27 pm

Juno-G.

max badwan
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 298
Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2013 1:34 am
Real name: Max
Gear: T1, XV 5080, ES1, Zaquencer
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Making A Rompler Rancid

Post by max badwan » Tue May 19, 2015 3:11 am

A tube/valve pre-amp inline will do the trick.

User avatar
Alex E
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 2235
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 12:07 am
Gear: Jupiter-6, DX7, TX7, Juno-106, AX60, Pro One, S1000, M1r, Live 9, iMac MC309XX/A
Location: Anaheim, CA

Re: Making A Rompler Rancid

Post by Alex E » Tue May 19, 2015 4:43 am

Run it through a VCR.
soundcloud.com/vectron


User avatar
Stab Frenzy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9723
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 5:41 pm
Gear: Eurorack, RYTM, Ultranova, many FX
Location: monster island*
Contact:

Re: Making A Rompler Rancid

Post by Stab Frenzy » Tue May 19, 2015 4:49 am

My favourite tricks for this kind of thing are a bit of overdrive, filtering through a nice dirty filter, and reverb and delay.

Spatial effects are great at giving something pristine more grit, just running through a preamp is going to do very little, cheap distortion isn't gonna be great either.

User avatar
zmd
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 287
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2006 2:32 am
Gear: ion, djx, su200, fb01, sk50d, dotcom, kodyssey, volcas, minibrute, minilogue, tg33, 522, streichfett, monotrons, cp35
Band: Shrimp ring/usse/wrote/usurper
Location: saint john NB canada
Contact:

Re: Making A Rompler Rancid

Post by zmd » Tue May 19, 2015 5:12 am

An overdriven ART tube mp is a cheap solution that actually sounds good! I have three of them and they all give a nice high frequency rolloff, and a mild breakup
that's not dirt, that's chili sauce!

User avatar
Hybrid88
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 2251
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 8:26 am
Gear: V-Synth, and other stuff...
Location: Australia

Re: Making A Rompler Rancid

Post by Hybrid88 » Tue May 19, 2015 7:12 am

Opposite of sterile would be potent or virile, how did you get rancid? Meaning stale or gone off. You're essentially saying you want it to sound worse ;)

But semantics aside the Juno G is a fine sounding instrument you just have to pick the better sounds in it, the effects are probably not fantastic but that's what the computer/outboard is for, if analog saturation is your thing though driving a preamp or distortion pedal would be a good idea.

User avatar
madtheory
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 5191
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 12:45 pm
Real name: Tomas Mulcahy
Gear: Flangebeast Mk1, Plonkotron, Morovdis Arpeggiator, Maplin My First EQ, Jeff Wayne Thunderchild rack, Thermostat, Buck Owens' Moog.
Band: Minim
Location: Cork, Ireland
Contact:

Re: Making A Rompler Rancid

Post by madtheory » Tue May 19, 2015 8:26 am

I doubt you'd need any outboard. Have you dived in to the programming? It seems fairly straightforward. The onboard effects are pretty comprehensive- filters, ring modulator and pitch shifters are included (as well as delay chorus and reverb). Have you exhausted the possibilities there? You can also put a 512MB DIMM in to expand the memory, and fill it with samples. It doesn't multisample but then you wouldn't want that if you want the thing to sound "potent". Your samples can be as rancid as you like :) You can record audio/ sample into the keyboard. From what I can gather, you can apply processing to the recorded sound over and over again. I might be wrong about that, but if it can do that you basically have one of the big features that people used to rave about with the Ensoniq samplers. True Grit.

gcoudert
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1198
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 1:24 pm
Real name: Gilles
Gear: Roland Fantom X7 with Ultimate Keys expansion, Yamaha TX802, Roland JP-8080, Tascam DP-24SD.
Location: SE England

Re: Making A Rompler Rancid

Post by gcoudert » Tue May 19, 2015 11:05 am

Has it got a signal booster like the JV1080?
GC

User avatar
madtheory
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 5191
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 12:45 pm
Real name: Tomas Mulcahy
Gear: Flangebeast Mk1, Plonkotron, Morovdis Arpeggiator, Maplin My First EQ, Jeff Wayne Thunderchild rack, Thermostat, Buck Owens' Moog.
Band: Minim
Location: Cork, Ireland
Contact:

Re: Making A Rompler Rancid

Post by madtheory » Tue May 19, 2015 11:28 am

gcoudert wrote:Has it got a signal booster like the JV1080?
Now that IS rancid :)

@solyaris Interesting you use the Marantz. Tape messes things up in wonderful ways. These days I use SoundToys EchoBoy for cassette and other wonky tape effects (I used to use Line 6 Pod Farm, the Tube Echo was just as cool but it's no longer supported). The "tweak" buttons let you adjust all sorts of crazy stuff. It'll do bucket brigade delay stuff as well. Put it on an insert and set it to no delay, makes everything sound like a Mellotron :)

Solyaris
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 4:14 am

Re: Making A Rompler Rancid

Post by Solyaris » Tue May 19, 2015 1:29 pm

Thanks for all the replies! I actually do have an ART preamp laying around that I totally forgot about. I don't think I ever tried overdriving it so I didn't think it'd be a possible solution! I'll give it a shot. I probably shouldn't be too hard on the Juno-G. As far as Rompler's go in the past decade it has more knobs than most and good functionality. I'm sure once I succeed in coloring the tone I'll be pleased with what I get out of it.

As for semantics, rancid was an antonym in some online dictionary. But I suppose I am looking to "spoil" the sound in a way! ;)

Solyaris
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 4:14 am

Re: Making A Rompler Rancid

Post by Solyaris » Tue May 19, 2015 1:30 pm

gcoudert wrote:Has it got a signal booster like the JV1080?
I don't believe so. But I'm not 100% sure.

Post Reply