Roland JV-1080 JV1080 Editor freeware by akatuystudio

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.
User avatar
akatuystudio
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed May 20, 2015 2:08 am
Gear: Mac
JV-1080
Contact:

Roland JV-1080 JV1080 Editor freeware by akatuystudio

Post by akatuystudio » Fri May 29, 2015 5:23 am

Hello, I'm akatuystudio.
I made an Editor on Mac and PC for Roland JV-1080.
JV-1080 might be very old for now.
but I think It is very powerful if many params in JV-1080 are real time controlled by MIDI controller.
You can control JV1080 like a virtual analogue synthesiser with this editor.
Please try this if you have a time. ;)

http://akatuystudio.comImage

Rbh
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2014 11:44 pm
Real name: Rbh
Gear: Kurz-MidiBoard/ K2000R/Ax module -Roland JV1080 -Arp PRO DGX- Moog Taurus I - Oberheim TVS - Wavestation - QS8.1 - TX7-R8M-Hammond X5 w/ 760 Leslie-

Re: Roland JV-1080 JV1080 Editor freeware by akatuystudio

Post by Rbh » Sat May 30, 2015 3:08 am

I'll be glad to try this out - Thank you for this kind offering.

User avatar
akatuystudio
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed May 20, 2015 2:08 am
Gear: Mac
JV-1080
Contact:

Re: Roland JV-1080 JV1080 Editor freeware by akatuystudio

Post by akatuystudio » Thu Nov 05, 2015 10:28 am

Hello!
I updated this Editor today.
Please download again if you have a time!
http://akatuystudio.com
;)

JeEA
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 104
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2015 2:49 pm

Re: Roland JV-1080 JV1080 Editor freeware by akatuystudio

Post by JeEA » Thu Nov 19, 2015 8:50 am

Cool. Will it work with a JV-880 ?

Cheers

Wolf77
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2015 8:47 am

Re: Roland JV-1080 JV1080 Editor freeware by akatuystudio

Post by Wolf77 » Fri Dec 11, 2015 8:59 am

Hi! The Editor is awesome! It opened a new dimension! But... ...the patch capture doesn't work... What do I do wrong? :oops:

User avatar
akatuystudio
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed May 20, 2015 2:08 am
Gear: Mac
JV-1080
Contact:

Re: Roland JV-1080 JV1080 Editor freeware by akatuystudio

Post by akatuystudio » Wed Dec 16, 2015 6:03 am

Wolf77 wrote:Hi! The Editor is awesome! It opened a new dimension! But... ...the patch capture doesn't work... What do I do wrong? :oops:
Thank you for downloading my app!
Please check some points below.
1, Connecting MIDI cables In & Out right? PC>>JV & JV>>PC
2, About receiving sysex. If your JV-1080 has old firmware you can not edit correctly some params. fixed firmware is on JV-1080 after serial number ZG61690.
3, Match Unit # No. on JV-1080 and on Editor.
4, Turn ON Rx.Exc & Tx.Edit at System Mode on JV-1080 manually.
5, Please try factory preset.
Please let me know again if you can't.
:wink:

User avatar
akatuystudio
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed May 20, 2015 2:08 am
Gear: Mac
JV-1080
Contact:

Re: Roland JV-1080 JV1080 Editor freeware by akatuystudio

Post by akatuystudio » Wed Dec 16, 2015 6:09 am

JeEA wrote:Cool. Will it work with a JV-880 ?

Cheers
Sorry, It doesn't work with JV-880.
The Sys-ex messages are different.
Regards. :)

Patrick Martin
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2015 12:58 pm

Re: Roland JV-1080 JV1080 Editor freeware by akatuystudio

Post by Patrick Martin » Sun Dec 20, 2015 1:18 pm

Hallo, i think you've done great work, your editor seems very inspiring and user friendly. Have an XP50, does it work with it?
Thanx in advance, and bravo, making such a great job and share it on the net for free, you're keeping alive the spirit of humanity, money is not everything, i'm tired of people making everything just to make money, guys like you makes me see that fellowship and solid people still exists, therefore i'm hoping for a better future..

Thanx my friend..:)

Wolf77
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2015 8:47 am

Re: Roland JV-1080 JV1080 Editor freeware by akatuystudio

Post by Wolf77 » Tue Jan 19, 2016 10:04 am

akatuystudio wrote:
Wolf77 wrote:Hi! The Editor is awesome! It opened a new dimension! But... ...the patch capture doesn't work... What do I do wrong? :oops:
Thank you for downloading my app!
Please check some points below.
1, Connecting MIDI cables In & Out right? PC>>JV & JV>>PC
2, About receiving sysex. If your JV-1080 has old firmware you can not edit correctly some params. fixed firmware is on JV-1080 after serial number ZG61690.
3, Match Unit # No. on JV-1080 and on Editor.
4, Turn ON Rx.Exc & Tx.Edit at System Mode on JV-1080 manually.
5, Please try factory preset.
Please let me know again if you can't.
:wink:
First, I wolud like to thank for your help! The connection between PC and JV is good, I checked it with midiOX. The sysex dump (JV -> PC) is also well. The ROM version is 1.02, but i don't think this is the problem... I tried capture the patch parameters (in parameter mode), but the software couldn't read the JV... Thank you in advance!

baz99
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 96
Joined: Sun May 25, 2014 9:19 am
Location: Europe

Re: Roland JV-1080 JV1080 Editor freeware by akatuystudio

Post by baz99 » Tue Jan 19, 2016 7:25 pm

akatuystudio wrote: 2, About receiving sysex. If your JV-1080 has old firmware you can not edit correctly some params. fixed firmware is on JV-1080 after serial number ZG61690.
Do you know what firmware version that corresponds to?

I don't know the s/n of my JV-1080 as the label came off a long time ago.

GMSN!
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2016 9:24 pm

Re: Roland JV-1080 JV1080 Editor freeware by akatuystudio

Post by GMSN! » Thu Feb 11, 2016 9:27 pm

Wow! Thanks so much for creating this. I've just registered so I could say thank you :)

Is it possible to control the editor from something like Ableton?

addsuk
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue May 17, 2016 12:37 pm

Re: Roland JV-1080 JV1080 Editor freeware by akatuystudio

Post by addsuk » Tue May 17, 2016 12:39 pm

Hi there - downloaded your software and will try it on my Jv1080

I also have a JD 990 arriving - do you know if it will work on this ?

thanks !

pietro909
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat May 28, 2016 9:40 pm

Re: Roland JV-1080 JV1080 Editor freeware by akatuystudio

Post by pietro909 » Sat May 28, 2016 9:55 pm

Hi akastuystudio,
First, congratulations for having done such an impressive editor for the JV-1080. It’s wonderfully beautiful! I used it on my JV-1080 and it is so much easier to edit with your software than on the device itself with the front panel buttons.
I have two questions:

1) in order to run your software I downloaded the MAX application, it is now at version 7 but I could not find the runtime version only. It seems a full version with 30 days trial. Any idea how to use runtime only and then is a license still necessary to buy ?

2) I like the impressive big panel where every parameter of the common and 4 parts can be edited with dragging the mouse on the value but is it possible to assign any of these parameters to a midi controller instead of the mouse ? I have seen in your video that you use a Korg nanoKontrol 2 controller. I actually have the exact same controller and I was wondering how I can control multiple parameters in your editor with this device.

Thank you so much for reply and kudos again for this superb editor !
Cheers
Pietro

User avatar
akatuystudio
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed May 20, 2015 2:08 am
Gear: Mac
JV-1080
Contact:

Re: Roland JV-1080 JV1080 Editor freeware by akatuystudio

Post by akatuystudio » Sat Jun 11, 2016 9:24 pm

GMSN! wrote:Wow! Thanks so much for creating this. I've just registered so I could say thank you :)

Is it possible to control the editor from something like Ableton?
Thank you for using this!
However, I’m making this for only stand alone.
Because I’m alone. :D

User avatar
akatuystudio
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed May 20, 2015 2:08 am
Gear: Mac
JV-1080
Contact:

Re: Roland JV-1080 JV1080 Editor freeware by akatuystudio

Post by akatuystudio » Sat Jun 11, 2016 9:38 pm

addsuk wrote:Hi there - downloaded your software and will try it on my Jv1080

I also have a JD 990 arriving - do you know if it will work on this ?

thanks !
Thank you for using this!
Me too! I also have a JD-990.
But this doesn’t work with JD, because “model ID of sysex” is different.
You might be able to change the patch or perform of JD.
But it’s not perfectly.

After I get completion.
I may or mayn’t try JD’s editor. :D
Thanks!

Post Reply