Page 1 of 1

Modifying Card Slot: to take 3.5 volt cards instead of 5V

Posted: Tue Jul 07, 2015 6:12 pm
by dawnmist studio
Hiy

QUESTION:
Has anyone successfully modified a Roland JP8080 card slot to allow 3.5 volt 2mb smartmedia cards to be used?

As manufactured the unit takes 2mb or 4mb cards but they are 5v and are not easy to get and painfully expensive.
But changing the voltage of the slot if it can be done means I can then buy a pack of the whole lot cheaper 2mb cards.

My partner is an electronics engineer and is considering doing this to my JP8080 but I was curious to know if anyone else has attempted it and succeeded, or found out in the process that it can or can not be done???

The other alternative is write a special program to grab the MIDI uploads and convert them into a library manager that we created for other synths I have which works well. But the JP8080 sends clusters of MIDI information at a certain speed which means the program would take a few more hours to write than the one we did for the Korg M1.

Thanks.
Heather

Re: Modifying Card Slot: to take 3.5 volt cards instead of 5

Posted: Tue Jul 07, 2015 8:53 pm
by meatballfulton
Actually it's 3.3V.

Have your engineer friend look up the specs on the two types of SM cards. That would make it clear if anything other than the voltage supply is different.

Physical Spec

Electrical Spec

Pinouts

Re: Modifying Card Slot: to take 3.5 volt cards instead of 5

Posted: Tue Jul 07, 2015 10:12 pm
by moremagic
theyre made to not fit into the wrong voltage reader, as the notched corner is on opposite sides

Re: Modifying Card Slot: to take 3.5 volt cards instead of 5

Posted: Wed Jul 08, 2015 5:28 am
by synthroom
I think you'd need to make an adaptor like is done for connecting the various kinds of SCSI or IDE drives together.

Re: Modifying Card Slot: to take 3.5 volt cards instead of 5

Posted: Wed Jul 08, 2015 10:50 am
by meatballfulton
moremagic wrote:theyre made to not fit into the wrong voltage reader, as the notched corner is on opposite sides
Depending on the part Roland used for the slot, it might be possible to swap in a 3.3V part while doing the power supply mods. You could carve a notch in the SM cards. Etc.