How to DIY repaint a synth (w/ mask, writings...)

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.
Chummy

How to DIY repaint a synth (w/ mask, writings...)

Post by Chummy » Mon Sep 14, 2015 7:17 pm

A complete noobie. Is it possible for me, to pick up an air brush, mask the writings and paint them (maybe) and the rest of my synth? My Yamaha KX5 is begging to be restored, although fully operational in a bad comsetic condition and I have no idea where to start, what would I need etc.. I saw some youtube vid but IDK if I need to wash the Metal (yeah, it's mostly metal and some plastic) after I extract the panels of the exterior what color should I be using? brush? what to use for mask? drying time? etc.

any help would be appreciated. ;)

Ashe37
Gear: Ensoniq SD-1/32,SQR,VFX,ESQm
Virus Indigo, M3-61 , MS2000BR, Volca Bass
Emu XL-7, Matrix 6r
TG-33, K3m, Blofeld, Micron, Mopho, BS II, JV-1080
Band: Eridani V

Re: How to DIY repaint a synth (w/ mask, writings...)

Post by Ashe37 » Mon Sep 14, 2015 10:31 pm

I'd like suggestions, too... my Ensoniq SQR had all the print worn off the front and honestly i'd like to sell it.

sandwich

Post by sandwich » Thu Sep 17, 2015 2:05 pm

Me too, I have an SH-09 that has much of the writing rubbed off around several knobs from years of use from its previous owner. I'd love to get it back to it's original state but there is no way I can afford to have it done by a restorer as it costs an absolute fortune. I'm a graphic designer and can easily re-create the text and lines accurately in Illustrator, just don't know how to get from that to actually re-spraying it!!

Stab Frenzy
Gear: Eurorack, RYTM, Ultranova, many FX

Post by Stab Frenzy » Fri Sep 18, 2015 4:47 am