Kawai K3m and MIDI control

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.
Post Reply
Baus
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 210
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 1:56 pm

Kawai K3m and MIDI control

Post by Baus » Mon Mar 14, 2016 2:48 am

Hi there,

I have watched several video's on the Kawai K3m and it is not clear to me if the unit will only respond to SysEx or also just to MIDI controllers.

I have a Nord Modular with 18 knobs which I could set up as a controller, just like I did for the Suzuki SX-500, by freely assigning knobs to MIDI controllers relevant to that unit. I am not sure if that will work with the K3m too.

I don't have the unit here yet so I can't try it out. Just doing some advance field work.

Thank you for any input on this.

Robn.

User avatar
Stab Frenzy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9723
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 5:41 pm
Gear: Eurorack, RYTM, Ultranova, many FX
Location: monster island*
Contact:

Re: Kawai K3m and MIDI control

Post by Stab Frenzy » Mon Mar 14, 2016 6:28 am

What does the midi implementation chart in the manual say?

User avatar
pflosi
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 3620
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 6:14 pm
Gear: more than 150 characters...
Location: zürich
Contact:

Re: Kawai K3m and MIDI control

Post by pflosi » Mon Mar 14, 2016 12:17 pm

It says that you need Sysex.

Have a look at the Kiwitechnics Patch Editor and / or the Stereoping Synth Controller.

User avatar
meatballfulton
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5776
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 9:29 pm
Gear: Live 9, Logic Pro X

Re: Kawai K3m and MIDI control

Post by meatballfulton » Mon Mar 14, 2016 12:32 pm

According to the manual, K3 responds only to mod wheel(CC1, incoming only because the K3 has no mod wheel), portamento time (CC5), MIDI volume (CC7), sustain (CC64) and portamento on/off (CC65). That's typical for a synth of that vintage.

Interestingly a quick look at the manual made it unclear what CC1 is mapped to. My guess is it's hardwired to LFO depth but that is not stated anywhere.
I listened to Hatfield and the North at Rainbow. They were very wonderful and they made my heart a prisoner.

User avatar
pflosi
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 3620
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 6:14 pm
Gear: more than 150 characters...
Location: zürich
Contact:

Re: Kawai K3m and MIDI control

Post by pflosi » Mon Mar 14, 2016 1:35 pm

Look again. It accepts sysex and you can fully program the synth from that. The Kiwi and Stereoping controllers wouldn't be possible otherwise...

Sonus
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 58
Joined: Sun May 31, 2015 5:33 pm

Re: Kawai K3m and MIDI control

Post by Sonus » Mon Mar 14, 2016 1:38 pm

K3m tone data list, manual p.54, each data byte is divided into a high and low nibble:

VCF Cutoff 300Hz, parameter 10 (0A), value 49 (03 01) => F0 40 00 10 00 01 0A 03 01 F7
VCA Attack 100ms, parameter 20 (14), value 12 (00 0C) => F0 40 00 10 00 01 14 00 0C F7

It all depends on the controller software if it's possible to split the data into nibbles.

User avatar
meatballfulton
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5776
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 9:29 pm
Gear: Live 9, Logic Pro X

Re: Kawai K3m and MIDI control

Post by meatballfulton » Mon Mar 14, 2016 3:35 pm

Following up pflosi's comments: I was only referring to the K3's very limited CC support. The K3 is fully programmable by sysex as he wrote.
I listened to Hatfield and the North at Rainbow. They were very wonderful and they made my heart a prisoner.

Baus
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 210
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 1:56 pm

Re: Kawai K3m and MIDI control

Post by Baus » Tue Mar 15, 2016 12:27 am

Thanks Everyone.

The controller mentioned are nice and a bit too pricey for my taste.

There are several units of the Novation Zero SL MkII available here. What do you think?
Will those work as well? I would think so if a Behringer BCR2000 already does the job.

max badwan
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 298
Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2013 1:34 am
Real name: Max
Gear: T1, XV 5080, ES1, Zaquencer
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Kawai K3m and MIDI control

Post by max badwan » Tue Mar 15, 2016 12:32 am

Baus wrote:Thanks Everyone.

The controller mentioned are nice and a bit too pricey for my taste.

There are several units of the Novation Zero SL MkII available here. What do you think?
Will those work as well? I would think so if a Behringer BCR2000 already does the job.
I used a BCR with the K3m, worked well.

User avatar
meatballfulton
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5776
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 9:29 pm
Gear: Live 9, Logic Pro X

Re: Kawai K3m and MIDI control

Post by meatballfulton » Tue Mar 15, 2016 3:12 am

You can find a BCR2000 template for the K3m here.
I listened to Hatfield and the North at Rainbow. They were very wonderful and they made my heart a prisoner.

Post Reply