Page 1 of 1

Kawai K3m and MIDI control

Posted: Mon Mar 14, 2016 2:48 am
by Baus
Hi there,

I have watched several video's on the Kawai K3m and it is not clear to me if the unit will only respond to SysEx or also just to MIDI controllers.

I have a Nord Modular with 18 knobs which I could set up as a controller, just like I did for the Suzuki SX-500, by freely assigning knobs to MIDI controllers relevant to that unit. I am not sure if that will work with the K3m too.

I don't have the unit here yet so I can't try it out. Just doing some advance field work.

Thank you for any input on this.

Robn.

Re: Kawai K3m and MIDI control

Posted: Mon Mar 14, 2016 6:28 am
by Stab Frenzy
What does the midi implementation chart in the manual say?

Re: Kawai K3m and MIDI control

Posted: Mon Mar 14, 2016 12:17 pm
by pflosi
It says that you need Sysex.

Have a look at the Kiwitechnics Patch Editor and / or the Stereoping Synth Controller.

Re: Kawai K3m and MIDI control

Posted: Mon Mar 14, 2016 12:32 pm
by meatballfulton
According to the manual, K3 responds only to mod wheel(CC1, incoming only because the K3 has no mod wheel), portamento time (CC5), MIDI volume (CC7), sustain (CC64) and portamento on/off (CC65). That's typical for a synth of that vintage.

Interestingly a quick look at the manual made it unclear what CC1 is mapped to. My guess is it's hardwired to LFO depth but that is not stated anywhere.

Re: Kawai K3m and MIDI control

Posted: Mon Mar 14, 2016 1:35 pm
by pflosi
Look again. It accepts sysex and you can fully program the synth from that. The Kiwi and Stereoping controllers wouldn't be possible otherwise...

Re: Kawai K3m and MIDI control

Posted: Mon Mar 14, 2016 1:38 pm
by Sonus
K3m tone data list, manual p.54, each data byte is divided into a high and low nibble:

VCF Cutoff 300Hz, parameter 10 (0A), value 49 (03 01) => F0 40 00 10 00 01 0A 03 01 F7
VCA Attack 100ms, parameter 20 (14), value 12 (00 0C) => F0 40 00 10 00 01 14 00 0C F7

It all depends on the controller software if it's possible to split the data into nibbles.

Re: Kawai K3m and MIDI control

Posted: Mon Mar 14, 2016 3:35 pm
by meatballfulton
Following up pflosi's comments: I was only referring to the K3's very limited CC support. The K3 is fully programmable by sysex as he wrote.

Re: Kawai K3m and MIDI control

Posted: Tue Mar 15, 2016 12:27 am
by Baus
Thanks Everyone.

The controller mentioned are nice and a bit too pricey for my taste.

There are several units of the Novation Zero SL MkII available here. What do you think?
Will those work as well? I would think so if a Behringer BCR2000 already does the job.

Re: Kawai K3m and MIDI control

Posted: Tue Mar 15, 2016 12:32 am
by max badwan
Baus wrote:Thanks Everyone.

The controller mentioned are nice and a bit too pricey for my taste.

There are several units of the Novation Zero SL MkII available here. What do you think?
Will those work as well? I would think so if a Behringer BCR2000 already does the job.
I used a BCR with the K3m, worked well.

Re: Kawai K3m and MIDI control

Posted: Tue Mar 15, 2016 3:12 am
by meatballfulton
You can find a BCR2000 template for the K3m here.