Page 1 of 1

Initializing a patch on a Jx10

Posted: Thu Mar 31, 2016 2:07 am
by Peopleunderthesun
Sorry if this has already been covered but I can't seem to find it anywhere. Please tell me I am losing my mind and there is a patch initialization procedure for the Jx10. Thanks

Re: Initializing a patch on a Jx10

Posted: Thu Mar 31, 2016 11:34 pm
by Baus
Hi,

On the JX-8P there is no such function and so I made an INIT patch myself. You might need to do that for the JX-10 also.

DCO on any of the waveforms, No Modulations at all. ENV2 controlling the VCA: A=0 D=40 S=40 R=0 (or something). Filter open, no Resonance; Save it.

Are you using a software editor like Ctrlr or Sounddiver? In that case it really is a piece of cake.

All the best,

Robin.

Re: Initializing a patch on a Jx10

Posted: Fri Apr 01, 2016 12:31 am
by max badwan
You are not losing your mind, and there is no initialisation routine on the JX 10.

I created an initial patch, which I called basic, and stored it on an M 16c, so I could quickly edit from scratch.

Re: Initializing a patch on a Jx10

Posted: Fri Apr 01, 2016 1:45 am
by Peopleunderthesun
Thanks so much for the replies. I'll have to make up an init patch tonight. I have tried to use ctrlr but I dont have a 3.0 jx panel. I've only been able to find one for the original and the 4.0 pwm version. They must have changed quite a bit between 3.0 and 4.0 because it doesn't respond at all

Re: Initializing a patch on a Jx10

Posted: Fri Apr 01, 2016 3:18 am
by Baus
Did you take a look a super-jx dot com yet? There might be links there to editors that will work with the 3.0 of your JX.

Re: Initializing a patch on a Jx10

Posted: Fri Apr 01, 2016 7:08 am
by Peopleunderthesun
Thank you!

Re: Initializing a patch on a Jx10

Posted: Fri Apr 01, 2016 6:42 pm
by gs
Don't forget that on the JX10 you have to create both a "tone" INIT and a "patch" INIT. The "tone" is a conventional JX8P patch, and the "patch" is the memory location for two JX "tones" layered or split on the JX10. Then, insert the two INIT tones into the single INIT patch, and you should be all set.

I used to own this synth, it was super nice for deep silky strings and pads... not so great for leads. But then that's what polyphonic analogs were best at anyway. I also had the PG-800 programmer... which would make creating an INIT tone easy-as-pie.