Ensoniq SQ80 and Ensoniq EPS

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.

Ensoniq SQ80 and Ensoniq EPS

Postby Moxsam » Wed Apr 20, 2016 3:56 am

Hello,

Newbie synthesizer question here...

Last week I purchased a mint condition Ensoniq SQ80 synthesizer. I'm new to synths and just learning the ropes. So far I love this thing!

Anyhow I was looking on Craigslist today and found an Ensoniq EPS sampler for sale.

I don't know enough to know whether I "need" this too :) I mean I know I don't NEED it but if the two units could be used together and do things I otherwise couldn't then I think that would be pretty cool. Especially two matching old school synths.

I just don't want to buy it if it is going to be redundant with what I already have.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Sam
Moxsam

Re: Ensoniq SQ80 and Ensoniq EPS

Postby commodorejohn » Wed Apr 20, 2016 5:01 am

I don't think the EPS is redundant to the SQ-80, or vice-versa. The SQ-80 sits just on the boundary between a hybrid digital/analog synth like the Korg DW-8000 and a sampler with analog filters like the Emax, but it's definitely closer to the synth side of the equation.
Computers: Amiga 1200, DEC VAXStation 4000/60, DEC MicroPDP-11/73
commodorejohn
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer

Gear: Roland JX-10/SH-09/HS-80D-50, Yamaha DX7-II/V50/TG33, Korg MS-20 Mini/Odyssey/DW-8000/M1, Ensoniq SQ-80, E-mu Emax, Casio CZ-5000, SCI Prophet-600

Postby elsongs » Wed Apr 20, 2016 6:06 am

The Ensoniq EPS and SQ-80 were both released at the same time and share the same casing (and visually match each other). They were both marketed together in Ensoniq ads back in the late '80s. You can use one without the other, and you gain nothing special by MIDI'ing or using them together. Basically the EPS was the successor to the Mirage and the SQ-80 was the successor to the ESQ-1.
elsongs

Postby meatballfulton » Wed Apr 20, 2016 1:38 pm