Would you make this trade?

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.
Moxsam

Would you make this trade?

Post by Moxsam » Tue Jun 14, 2016 6:08 pm

Hey guys,

Synth newbie here with a quick question.

I recently purchased an Ensoniq SQ-80 and a EPS sampler keyboard. Both are in mint condition.

Life is pretty busy these days so I haven't had enough time to really sink my teeth into playing around with both of them. I've been fiddling with the SQ-80 a bit and having lots of fun but I have barely touched the EPS.

A local guy has asked me if I would be interested in trading the EPS for his Microkorg. He is REALLY interested in the EPS and is trying to convince me that I NEED the Microkorg. I just don't know enough about either machine to know their value or abilities. I realize one is a synth and the other a sampler.

One thing that bugs me about the SQ-80 is that I can't seem to adjust parameters in real time without repressing the key. Kind of seems opposite of what I was expecting.

Anyhow, any opinions on this potential trade?

micahjonhughes

Re: Would you make this trade?

Post by micahjonhughes » Tue Jun 14, 2016 6:34 pm

The SQ 80 is a cool synth. Unfortunately, you do have to trigger a new note when changing parameters.

As you noted, the EPS is a sampler. It was innovative when it came out, but very limited by current standards. Unless you are interested in the sound of the EPS, no need to keep gear you are not using or looking to get into.

Whether you want a microkorg or not, is something I can't tell you. It would be different from the SQ 80.

You can look at sold listings on ebay to judge what you might get the the EPS if you were to sell it and what a used microkorg costs.

Bitexion
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Gear: Alesis Andromeda A6
Roland D-50
Creamware Minimax
Yamaha DX7s
Analogue Systems modular
Ensoniq SQ-80
Waldorf Blofeld

Post by Bitexion » Tue Jun 14, 2016 7:06 pm