Need Help Identifying Patch

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.
pablopablo

Need Help Identifying Patch

Post by pablopablo » Fri Nov 25, 2016 4:39 am

Hi all. First off, I am relatively new to synths and keyboards, so I apologize if my terminology is off. So, I'm working on making a cover of one of my favorite songs, but I can't identify a certain synth line. I was told that it was a patch of a Mellotron sound, but I wasn't able to find anything that sounded similar while researching Mellotron sounds and patches. Therefore, I was wondering if any of you could identify this. It is in the last 40ish seconds of the song, and it makes a "wuh" sound (sorry I suck at describing these things). The closest I could come to explaining it is as a combination of a hand chime and a shakuhachi (it's definitely got an Asian vibe to it) . So please give it a listen and tell me what you think it is.

Thanks

Here's the song

stickman393

Re: Need Help Identifying Patch

Post by stickman393 » Fri Nov 25, 2016 8:27 pm

I listened to the last minute of the track and it's pretty dense.
I'm hearing a lot of what could be a clean electric guitar through a fast flanger or leslie type effect, and also there is one moment where I hear a kind of metallic "ping" that if I had to reproduce I'd probably go to my trusty Korg M1 and start with the "pole" sample.

Other than that, I'm not hearing anything Asian or chime/shakuhachi.

Baus

Post by Baus » Fri Nov 25, 2016 9:21 pm

I'm with stickman393 on this.

I hear no shakuhachi and handchime.

the Wuh...wuh...wuh....wuh.... sound to me sounds like an electric guitar as well...and sometimes like a vocal.

It may as well have been a guitar lightly modulated through a talkbox. Wah wah/Flanger would do it for me as well.

Zamise
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Gear: Rollhand P00
Band: Quantum-Source

Post by Zamise » Fri Nov 25, 2016 10:33 pm

Sounds like the backing vocals.