A few questions about the Jupiter 80

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.
macdev

A few questions about the Jupiter 80

Post by macdev » Thu Feb 23, 2017 8:08 pm

Hi all,
This is my last resort because I've been researching the Jupiter 80 for months and there are a few things that forums and youtube videos can't answer, and there are none in stores in my area to play with.

I've been playing keyboards as a hobby for about 30 years. I figured it was time to get a little more serious about it, so I started looking for something that wasn't several generations old. I already have a D-50 (love it) and an ESQ-1 (eBay soon), so I wanted something that was modern, and sounded good with analog. I was going to get a Polysix and then a Juno-106 but I read stories about failing boards and batteries and decided to not put money into those. At first I was going to get the JP-08 but I read that there was no chorus and the sliders are teeny. Long story short, my search led me to the Jupiter-80. However, there are questions I have that nobody's given a satisfactory answer to, so here goes.

1) How good of an analog sound does it have? There are some OK videos out there, but nothing really shows how well the J80 sounds if you're going for a straight analog-type sound for a patch. I'm not buying the J80 just for that, but what brought me to the J80 was its mix of possible analog sound and the SuperNatural sounds.

2) Is the J80 really a "live session" instrument? That's what I hear about it, but the videos I see show otherwise. Does it work well as a studio instrument?

3) I realize the J80 doesn't have a sequencer, but can you at least program the arpeggiator if you want more of a specific sequence?

4) I read that the J80 uses a whole USB stick for backing up patches. That's fine (I have some old ones), but has anyone made a librarian?

5) Can the D-Beam be assigned to something other than volume for a patch?