Isolation Transformer

Discussions on sound production outside the synthesizer such as mixing, processing, recording, editing and mastering.
Post Reply
User avatar
micahjonhughes
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 702
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 4:27 pm
Location: Chicago

Isolation Transformer

Post by micahjonhughes » Thu Feb 08, 2018 5:53 pm

Anyone use an isolation transformer in their studio? Which one? Thanks - Micah

User avatar
synthRodriguez
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 368
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2009 11:46 pm
Real name: Scott
Gear: Moog - Roland - Yamaha
Location: Western Ohio

Re: Isolation Transformer

Post by synthRodriguez » Fri Feb 09, 2018 6:54 pm

Are you talking about for 120 VAC power or for audio signals?

I have a couple of (expensive) Jensen boxes I use for the occasional audio hum I can't seem to fix any other way. They work great with synths, never have overdriven one.

For power, I used a Sola isolation transformer for a while but it started to hum so I got rid of it. Our power here has been really clean and consistent for years now anyway with only the occasional dropout, maybe twice a year. It used to suck.

User avatar
madtheory
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 5136
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 12:45 pm
Real name: Tomas Mulcahy
Gear: Flangebeast Mk1, Plonkotron, Morovdis Arpeggiator, Maplin My First EQ, Cabaret Voltaire, Jeff Wayne Thunderchild rack, thermostat, Buck Owens Moog.
Band: Minim
Location: Cork, Ireland
Contact:

Re: Isolation Transformer

Post by madtheory » Fri Feb 09, 2018 9:53 pm

I have used ART DTI I and II for some units that have ground loop issues, such as Lexicon LXP15II and Novation KSR. Works best with short unbalanced cable on output and a balanced input at the other end.

Isolation for AC is not a thing here in 240VAC land. Signal to noise ratio is much better than 120VAC.

Post Reply