Forget Firewire Mixers... I need a new FW interface with...

Discussions on sound production outside the synthesizer such as mixing, processing, recording, editing and mastering.

Postby JSRockit » Sat Oct 14, 2006 1:31 pm

I'm using a Mac.
Korg Volcas / 6 x TE POs / MicroBrute / EH Space Drum & Crash Pad
User avatar
JSRockit
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
 
Posts: 3911
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: New York City

Postby aeon » Sat Oct 14, 2006 11:50 pm

Do it right: Metric Halo 2882
Do it right on the "cheap": MOTU w/Black Lion mods.

I chose those two because you use a Mac, and their drivers are the business.

If RME had really solid Mac drivers, I for sure would include them as well.

That all said, at the end of the day, your A/D is vitally important - this is not an area to skimp or compromise if the sound of what you do is important to you.


cheers,
Ian
User avatar
aeon
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 881
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 8:18 am
Location: a lily-pad in the pool of my mind.

Postby Bill_Schroder » Sun Oct 15, 2006 12:46 am

Cruel Hoax wrote:
Bill_Schroder wrote:So what's the word on the Alesis MultiMix firewire mixers? I was going to buy the smallest one. No good?

The drivers are (sad to report) c**p.

-Hoax


If you don't mind me asking - what does that mean? The only bad thing I've heard so far is that the multimix 8, the one I want to buy, can only record four tracks simultaneously. It has four mono channels and two stereo. So if it can only record four tracks at a time, can I pick and choose which channels I want to record? I would assume I could.
Ouch.
User avatar
Bill_Schroder
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2005 10:54 am
Location: Los Angeles, CA.

Postby phwb » Sun Oct 15, 2006 1:52 am

Bill_Schroder wrote:
Cruel Hoax wrote:
Bill_Schroder wrote:So what's the word on the Alesis MultiMix firewire mixers? I was going to buy the smallest one. No good?

The drivers are (sad to report) c**p.

-Hoax


If you don't mind me asking - what does that mean? The only bad thing I've heard so far is that the multimix 8, the one I want to buy, can only record four tracks simultaneously. It has four mono channels and two stereo. So if it can only record four tracks at a time, can I pick and choose which channels I want to record? I would assume I could.

Idealy you would be able to but you won't be able to do anything very much of the time because the driver's don't function properly. I bought a phonic helix board, same thing as the multimix only slightly better specs and suposedly the same A/D converters used in the Mackee Onyx line. Drivers don't work properly on this either, and then the whole thing broke down all this stuff is c**p, my whole summer was ruined why can't anyone just make something that actually works and is up to specs and has 16 discreat channels in 96khz for $1000? is that too much to ask?
User avatar
phwb
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2004 11:25 am
Location: Montreal

Postby DGX305 » Sun Oct 15, 2006 2:20 am

try the Tascam FW-1082
i have no issues with it
review: http://www.proaudioreview.com/august05/tascam.shtml
EQ mag: http://www.eqmag.com/story.asp?sectioncode=41&storycode=7674
only $600

Image
Akai MPC1000 | Alesis Fusion 8HD + Ion + 2x QS8 | Boss SYB-5 | Edirol PCR-1 | Korg Electribe EMX | Novation X-Station 25 | Roland V-Synth GT + V-Synth + VC1 + VC2 | Yamaha AN200 + DX5 + MK100
DGX305
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Posts: 220
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 7:58 pm
Location: New York

Postby monk_volcano » Sun Oct 15, 2006 2:40 am

buddy of mine has a mackie ONYX. it's friggin sweet.

great sound eq's on it, they kill any software eq's i've used. it's very sturdy as well. i'd buy one if i had the dough.
User avatar
monk_volcano
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 10:32 pm
Location: Memphis, TN

Postby Mark Grandson » Sun Oct 15, 2006 3:58 am

hey js .. im not sure if your really wanting a I/O with an intergrated mixer - if not i'd like to suggest the presonus firepod. 8in 8out. i've been really happy with mine.
Mark Grandson
No Longer Registered
 

Postby phwb » Sun Oct 15, 2006 10:55 am

DGX305 wrote:try the Tascam FW-1082
i have no issues with it
review: http://www.proaudioreview.com/august05/tascam.shtml
EQ mag: http://www.eqmag.com/story.asp?sectioncode=41&storycode=7674
only $600

Image

This is what I've been looking at actually. Glad to hear it's ok.
User avatar
phwb
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2004 11:25 am
Location: Montreal

Postby JSRockit » Sun Oct 15, 2006 1:52 pm

I went for the MOTU Ultralite. I'm sure it will be fine for my needs. Many people use the MOTU stuff with great results...so...I can't have any excuses. If I don't like the Mic Pres...I'll buy a FMR Audio RNP...which I have always wanted anyway.
Korg Volcas / 6 x TE POs / MicroBrute / EH Space Drum & Crash Pad
User avatar
JSRockit
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
 
Posts: 3911
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: New York City

Postby kk994 » Sun Oct 15, 2006 4:03 pm

aeon wrote:Do it right: Metric Halo 2882
Do it right on the "cheap": MOTU w/Black Lion mods.

I chose those two because you use a Mac, and their drivers are the business.

If RME had really solid Mac drivers, I for sure would include them as well.

That all said, at the end of the day, your A/D is vitally important - this is not an area to skimp or compromise if the sound of what you do is important to you.


cheers,
Ian


Have you heard the Black Lion mods?
User avatar
kk994
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Posts: 166
Joined: Sun Apr 23, 2006 10:06 pm
Location: Wicklow, Ireland

Postby jngpng » Sun Oct 15, 2006 5:04 pm

aeon wrote:If RME had really solid Mac drivers, I for sure would include them as well.


They do have really solid Mac drivers! At least in my experience (which is limited to the Fireface 400).
jngpng
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2006 12:05 pm
Location: UK

Postby Bill_Schroder » Wed Oct 18, 2006 7:09 am

So what am I doing? Should I buy this damn mixer or what? I want to record multiple tracks simultaneously and I am on a really tight budget. There aren't many options for me really. I'm not a professional musician in need of spot on, top notch gear. Will I atleast be happy to get by with this mixer? I don't want to buy a complete dud. I'm guessing I'll just have to try it out myself and see. I'm all very new to computer recording.
Ouch.
User avatar
Bill_Schroder
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2005 10:54 am
Location: Los Angeles, CA.

Postby JSRockit » Wed Oct 18, 2006 1:47 pm

Bill_Schroder wrote:So what am I doing? Should I buy this damn mixer or what? I want to record multiple tracks simultaneously and I am on a really tight budget. There aren't many options for me really. I'm not a professional musician in need of spot on, top notch gear. Will I atleast be happy to get by with this mixer? I don't want to buy a complete dud. I'm guessing I'll just have to try it out myself and see. I'm all very new to computer recording.


It really depends on what you are used to. If you are used to a cassette 4 track or a cheap digital recorder... I think you will be suprised by the FW mixers.
Korg Volcas / 6 x TE POs / MicroBrute / EH Space Drum & Crash Pad
User avatar
JSRockit
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
 
Posts: 3911
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: New York City

Postby JSRockit » Sun Oct 22, 2006 9:34 pm

Well, I got the MOTU Ultralite. It is exactly what I was looking for. It is simple to use, sounds great (even compared to the Metric halo ULN-2), and seems to be built well. Has to be considered one of, if not, the best FW audio interface under $550.
Korg Volcas / 6 x TE POs / MicroBrute / EH Space Drum & Crash Pad
User avatar
JSRockit
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
 
Posts: 3911
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: New York City

Postby derma_tek » Mon Oct 23, 2006 2:22 am

JSRockit wrote:Well, I got the MOTU Ultralite. It is exactly what I was looking for. It is simple to use, sounds great (even compared to the Metric halo ULN-2), and seems to be built well. Has to be considered one of, if not, the best FW audio interface under $550.


glad to here it worked out for you, and of course the nice thing is if you run into this problem again and you need more inputs, you can just buy another and daisy chain them together :) i'd also highly recommend their midi interfaces as well. i'm running a motu 828 mk2 and a motu microlite , both work seemlessly with logic :)

btw... you still using logic?
User avatar
derma_tek
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Posts: 123
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2006 4:43 pm
Location: PA , USA
Band: Derma-Tek

PreviousNext

Return to Sound Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest