Page 3 of 4

Posted: Sat Oct 14, 2006 1:31 pm
by JSRockit
I'm using a Mac.

Posted: Sat Oct 14, 2006 11:50 pm
by aeon
Do it right: Metric Halo 2882
Do it right on the "cheap": MOTU w/Black Lion mods.

I chose those two because you use a Mac, and their drivers are the business.

If RME had really solid Mac drivers, I for sure would include them as well.

That all said, at the end of the day, your A/D is vitally important - this is not an area to skimp or compromise if the sound of what you do is important to you.


cheers,
Ian

Posted: Sun Oct 15, 2006 12:46 am
by Bill_Schroder
Cruel Hoax wrote:
Bill_Schroder wrote:So what's the word on the Alesis MultiMix firewire mixers? I was going to buy the smallest one. No good?
The drivers are (sad to report) c**p.

-Hoax
If you don't mind me asking - what does that mean? The only bad thing I've heard so far is that the multimix 8, the one I want to buy, can only record four tracks simultaneously. It has four mono channels and two stereo. So if it can only record four tracks at a time, can I pick and choose which channels I want to record? I would assume I could.

Posted: Sun Oct 15, 2006 1:52 am
by phwb
Bill_Schroder wrote:
Cruel Hoax wrote:
Bill_Schroder wrote:So what's the word on the Alesis MultiMix firewire mixers? I was going to buy the smallest one. No good?
The drivers are (sad to report) c**p.

-Hoax
If you don't mind me asking - what does that mean? The only bad thing I've heard so far is that the multimix 8, the one I want to buy, can only record four tracks simultaneously. It has four mono channels and two stereo. So if it can only record four tracks at a time, can I pick and choose which channels I want to record? I would assume I could.
Idealy you would be able to but you won't be able to do anything very much of the time because the driver's don't function properly. I bought a phonic helix board, same thing as the multimix only slightly better specs and suposedly the same A/D converters used in the Mackee Onyx line. Drivers don't work properly on this either, and then the whole thing broke down all this stuff is c**p, my whole summer was ruined why can't anyone just make something that actually works and is up to specs and has 16 discreat channels in 96khz for $1000? is that too much to ask?

Posted: Sun Oct 15, 2006 2:20 am
by DGX305
try the Tascam FW-1082
i have no issues with it
review: http://www.proaudioreview.com/august05/tascam.shtml
EQ mag: http://www.eqmag.com/story.asp?sectionc ... ycode=7674
only $600

Image

Posted: Sun Oct 15, 2006 2:40 am
by monk_volcano
buddy of mine has a mackie ONYX. it's friggin sweet.

great sound eq's on it, they kill any software eq's i've used. it's very sturdy as well. i'd buy one if i had the dough.

Posted: Sun Oct 15, 2006 3:58 am
by Mark Grandson
hey js .. im not sure if your really wanting a I/O with an intergrated mixer - if not i'd like to suggest the presonus firepod. 8in 8out. i've been really happy with mine.

Posted: Sun Oct 15, 2006 10:55 am
by phwb
DGX305 wrote:try the Tascam FW-1082
i have no issues with it
review: http://www.proaudioreview.com/august05/tascam.shtml
EQ mag: http://www.eqmag.com/story.asp?sectionc ... ycode=7674
only $600

Image
This is what I've been looking at actually. Glad to hear it's ok.

Posted: Sun Oct 15, 2006 1:52 pm
by JSRockit
I went for the MOTU Ultralite. I'm sure it will be fine for my needs. Many people use the MOTU stuff with great results...so...I can't have any excuses. If I don't like the Mic Pres...I'll buy a FMR Audio RNP...which I have always wanted anyway.

Posted: Sun Oct 15, 2006 4:03 pm
by kk994
aeon wrote:Do it right: Metric Halo 2882
Do it right on the "cheap": MOTU w/Black Lion mods.

I chose those two because you use a Mac, and their drivers are the business.

If RME had really solid Mac drivers, I for sure would include them as well.

That all said, at the end of the day, your A/D is vitally important - this is not an area to skimp or compromise if the sound of what you do is important to you.


cheers,
Ian
Have you heard the Black Lion mods?

Posted: Sun Oct 15, 2006 5:04 pm
by jngpng
aeon wrote: If RME had really solid Mac drivers, I for sure would include them as well.
They do have really solid Mac drivers! At least in my experience (which is limited to the Fireface 400).

Posted: Wed Oct 18, 2006 7:09 am
by Bill_Schroder
So what am I doing? Should I buy this damn mixer or what? I want to record multiple tracks simultaneously and I am on a really tight budget. There aren't many options for me really. I'm not a professional musician in need of spot on, top notch gear. Will I atleast be happy to get by with this mixer? I don't want to buy a complete dud. I'm guessing I'll just have to try it out myself and see. I'm all very new to computer recording.

Posted: Wed Oct 18, 2006 1:47 pm
by JSRockit
Bill_Schroder wrote:So what am I doing? Should I buy this damn mixer or what? I want to record multiple tracks simultaneously and I am on a really tight budget. There aren't many options for me really. I'm not a professional musician in need of spot on, top notch gear. Will I atleast be happy to get by with this mixer? I don't want to buy a complete dud. I'm guessing I'll just have to try it out myself and see. I'm all very new to computer recording.
It really depends on what you are used to. If you are used to a cassette 4 track or a cheap digital recorder... I think you will be suprised by the FW mixers.

Posted: Sun Oct 22, 2006 9:34 pm
by JSRockit
Well, I got the MOTU Ultralite. It is exactly what I was looking for. It is simple to use, sounds great (even compared to the Metric halo ULN-2), and seems to be built well. Has to be considered one of, if not, the best FW audio interface under $550.

Posted: Mon Oct 23, 2006 2:22 am
by derma_tek
JSRockit wrote:Well, I got the MOTU Ultralite. It is exactly what I was looking for. It is simple to use, sounds great (even compared to the Metric halo ULN-2), and seems to be built well. Has to be considered one of, if not, the best FW audio interface under $550.
glad to here it worked out for you, and of course the nice thing is if you run into this problem again and you need more inputs, you can just buy another and daisy chain them together :) i'd also highly recommend their midi interfaces as well. i'm running a motu 828 mk2 and a motu microlite , both work seemlessly with logic :)

btw... you still using logic?