What Recording Gear Do You Use?

Discussions on sound production outside the synthesizer such as mixing, processing, recording, editing and mastering.
Post Reply

What Recording Gear Do You Use?

Hardware: Tape MT, HardDisk MT, SmartCard Device?
20
20%
Software: PC/Mac/?
65
66%
Other:_______Fill in the blank
3
3%
Cheese Sandwich? w/Bacon?
10
10%
 
Total votes: 98

User avatar
Tardis
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 380
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2006 4:34 am
Location: Seeking out new life and new civilizations...

What Recording Gear Do You Use?

Post by Tardis » Tue May 15, 2007 1:11 am

What are you recording with?
I try to use a PS-04, but get nowhere. That little thing is complicated! I tried using a crappy Mic through my PC, didn't work. Need the right software.
I've been thinking about getting some recording software. Maybe one of those MT built-in-burner set-ups...What do you guys use? :idea:
"When natural inclination develops into a passionate desire, one advances towards his goal in seven-league boots." ~Nikola Tesla~

User avatar
portland
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 380
Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 10:33 pm
Real name: Zakarias
Gear: Elektron Machinedrum UW+, GEM S2, Roland S-760, Korg SDD-3300, Kawai Q-80, Yamaha TG-77, Yamaha 01x, Adam A7s, Logic Studio, Reaktor 5
Band: Romeo Alfa
Location: The Mind Dimension
Contact:

Post by portland » Tue May 15, 2007 1:13 am

Powerbook G4 right now. Not because I want to, just because it's what's there.

User avatar
Motavis
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 79
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2005 6:35 am
Location: Jackson Township, Ohio
Contact:

Qbase

Post by Motavis » Tue May 15, 2007 1:22 am

Cubase and Wavelab <<

in from my TC Electronic 24d
ImageImage

Wiglaf
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 254
Joined: Fri May 06, 2005 4:06 am
Real name: Tyler
Gear: I don't even remember half of it
Band: width full
Location: Michigan, U.S...but not Detroit

Post by Wiglaf » Tue May 15, 2007 3:40 am

I've tried the cheese sandwich, but never with bacon! Maybe that's where the fatness is.


(Sorry)
"I thought all you did was push a button and sounds came out!" - Mom on synths
"Not quite, Mom." - Me on synths

User avatar
Stab Frenzy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9723
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 5:41 pm
Gear: Eurorack, RYTM, Ultranova, many FX
Location: monster island*
Contact:

Post by Stab Frenzy » Tue May 15, 2007 4:18 am

Either Digi 002 -> Pro Tools 7 (serious at home recording)
Digi 002 -> Live 6 (getting ideas down/composing at home)
or Motu 828mkII -> Live 6 (at my bandmate's)

All on my Macbook or my bandmate's Powerbook.

I wouldn't recommend Pro Tools unless you're planning on moving stuff to bigger studios with an HD system or have learnt PT inside out. It has a lot of drawbacks (tied to Digi hardware, limited tracks, good plugs are expensive, no plug-in delay compensation (STILL?!)) but is great for mixing on, the mix engine sounds nicer than Live's by a fair way. Live is way better for midi and building tracks up in layers, and adding quasi-random things to the mix. I'll often build up arrangements in Live then bounce all tracks to mix them in PT. Best of both worlds.

User avatar
Sweetnothing
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 2:03 am
Location: Madrid Spain

Post by Sweetnothing » Tue May 15, 2007 4:24 am

Software here, my crappy PC with emu 0404 pci soundcard, either live 5 or sonar 4 ( trying cubase LE right now because of the "my midi timing sucks" thread, it seems to be the only sequencer that lets you choose btw emulated and non emulated midi ports)

Sticking at 24 bits/44.1, going higher than that is not something I need right now.

User avatar
supermel74
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 962
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2006 8:56 am
Location: Maine
Contact:

Post by supermel74 » Tue May 15, 2007 6:43 am

Hardware. Korg D1600 16 track digital recorder
Last edited by supermel74 on Wed Feb 06, 2008 1:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
wiss
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 2138
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2006 10:03 pm
Gear: it's all being sold to fund new gear
Location: Chicago

Post by wiss » Tue May 15, 2007 8:35 am

adats......then I dump it to a computer...
"All we used was the explosion and the orchestra hit. The Fairlight was a $100,000 waste of space."

User avatar
Jack Spider
Retired Moderator
Retired Moderator
Posts: 902
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 7:42 pm
Gear: -
Bit One
Boss DR-220
Boss DR-660
DSI Mono Evolver Keyboard
Korg LP-10
Roland XP-50
Yamaha QX21
Location: Old Blighty

Post by Jack Spider » Tue May 15, 2007 10:37 am

Goldwave.
I didn't get where I am today by posting on internet forums.
http://www.myspace.com/thegreenalsatian
http://www.soundclick.com/greenalsatian

User avatar
Tofuik
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 169
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2006 1:49 am
Location: Crawfish Country, LA
Contact:

Post by Tofuik » Tue May 15, 2007 11:16 am

Mbox2 and Live 5.2
the cheese stands alone

User avatar
nathanscribe
VSE Review Contributor
VSE Review Contributor
Posts: 2889
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 1:03 pm
Location: The right side of the Pennines
Contact:

Post by nathanscribe » Tue May 15, 2007 11:45 am

Cubase and Firepod. Used to use an Edirol UA25 but it wasn't my cup of char. I also used to use an MMT8 and record live mixes in stereo straight to tape - it was cheap, and it worked, although I used to make a lot of mistakes...

User avatar
redchapterjubilee
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 846
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 3:59 pm
Location: Arden, NC
Contact:

Post by redchapterjubilee » Tue May 15, 2007 2:29 pm

Echo Layla PCI card & Adobe Audition 1.5 on Dell P4 2GHz PC.
http://facebook.com/greatunwashedluminaries
ANALOG SYNTHESIZERS + EFFECTS + COMPUTERS

User avatar
divineaudio
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 301
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 8:32 pm
Gear: far too much.
Band: metria
Location: detroit
Contact:

Post by divineaudio » Tue May 15, 2007 3:38 pm

for studio work - a pc running sonar and live (2 actually, one in each room), in and out through a delta1010 (mine) and a presonus firebox (his). for live and field recordings an el cheapo sony condenser mic into a portable minidisc recorder. and sometimes my roommate will break out his old fostex four track.

User avatar
PitchBender
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 160
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 3:04 pm
Gear: 4 electribes and a case of beer.
Band: Pigslice
Location: Texas

Post by PitchBender » Tue May 15, 2007 3:42 pm

Korg MM8 8ch. harddisk recorder (40gigs, 8 inputs, 2 stereo outs, 2 headphone outs)
works pretty good I'd say, fairly straight forward operation.
I've yet to do any heavy production with it, so i havnt put it through a good heavy testing of all the features.
you export wav files via USB, sometimes it works with my PC, sometimes it doesn't *shrugs* I havnt figured out what the prob is with my PC.
Thankfully it is pretty portable, I've taken to work, plugged it into a mac G5 and it worked instantly.
Other than the odd USB issue with my PC i wish the MM8 had built in compression. small complaint.

User avatar
Twiddler
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2004 7:43 pm

Post by Twiddler » Tue May 15, 2007 11:52 pm

G4 1.67Mhz

RME Hammerfall Multiface, and I just bought a Presonus Firebox for portability w/ preamps.

Logic (6.4.3, thinking of upgrading). I love it.

Have a new Mackie 14 ch. mixer, for preamps, dreaming of something really classy like Neve's Portico or so... Avalon... Manley... (probably I'll get a used Behringer something, it's more my pricerange...)

Post Reply