What Recording Gear Do You Use?

Discussions on sound production outside the synthesizer such as mixing, processing, recording, editing and mastering.

What Recording Gear Do You Use?

Hardware: Tape MT, HardDisk MT, SmartCard Device?
20
20%
Software: PC/Mac/?
65
66%
Other:_______Fill in the blank
3
3%
Cheese Sandwich? w/Bacon?
10
10%
 
Total votes: 98

User avatar
WDW
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 811
Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2006 4:46 am
Real name: WD
Location: Neverwhere

Post by WDW » Wed May 16, 2007 1:20 am

Typically...
Instrument/Mic-->MOTU 828mkII FW-->Mac G4-->Cubase 4

Occasionally...
Instrument/Mic-->MOTU 828mkII FW-->Mac G4-->Cubase 4-->Trash

Cheers.

WD

User avatar
i_watch_stars
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 271
Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2006 9:49 am
Location: Seattle

Post by i_watch_stars » Wed May 16, 2007 3:50 am

Cubase SE with an Audiophile 2496, and a PC.

I assumed when I put this studio together 2 years ago that I would be upgrading to full Cubase with a "better" audio interface. Truth is, this is all I need (no mics/vocals, no simultanious recording) with a pretty clear signal path. I have never needed more than the 48 audio tracks that Cubase SE is limited by, either.

Its just a no frills good sound basically.


Great forum idea BTW! Maybe this will lure the true musicians in here so we can talk about actually making music!

User avatar
spookyman
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 371
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 7:13 am
Gear: cheezy machines and some cheap analog stuff
Location: Jura, Switzerland

Post by spookyman » Wed May 16, 2007 8:02 am

Hardware : Apple Powerbook G4 (2001), external 500 Gb HDD, Digi 002R, Revox C 279 VCA Mixer, OktavaMod Mics
Software : ProTools LE 6.9 and some plugs

I also have an old analog Multitracker from Revox, but i'm not using it anymore.
It is much easier to be a good equipment purchaser than to be a great musician.

User avatar
brian.only
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 270
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2006 2:37 am
Gear: Mono/Poly, Polysix, Crumar Performer, Juno106, Ion, CS01, K Station, DX27,77' Rhodes 88 mk1
Location: SF bay
Contact:

Post by brian.only » Wed May 16, 2007 8:59 am

Interfaces- Motu 828, Tascam us-122,
Lappy- G4 Powermac/ 400G external drive
Multitrack- Teac 1/4" 2 channel, Boss Br-8
Outboard/Portable- Sony Minidisc, Dictaphone, Sp 202
Software Rec- Live/ Peak
Post- Soundforge 4.5, Cool Edit (pc desktop)
sell me your KS5!

User avatar
Meso
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 3:10 pm
Gear: Roland MV-8800, DSI MEK, Novation KS-4, Waldorf µwave XT, FutureRetro Revolution
Location: Hafnarfjörður, Iceland

Post by Meso » Wed May 16, 2007 12:15 pm

I record to my PC/laptop into Cubase via a Saffire LE

User avatar
Soundwave
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 888
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 5:36 pm

Post by Soundwave » Wed May 16, 2007 1:52 pm

Spirit Folio Lite mixing desk going into a Music Fidelity x10D valve preamp then in to the terratec Phase 28 PCI card in to Sonar 3.1 on my custom AMD dual core DAW, simple and effective(ish). :)

User avatar
hageir
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1222
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 11:57 pm
Gear: http://www.geirhelgi.com/
https://soundcloud.com/geir-helgi
Band: Geir Helgi
Location: Reykjavík, Iceland
Contact:

Post by hageir » Wed May 16, 2007 2:30 pm

I'm rolling on Image
baby! :bootyshake: :bootyshake: :bootyshake:

sometimes I use logic for sequencing (+recording)
and ableton live
Elektron MnM & MD UW, DSI MEK & Prophet REV2 16 Voices baby!, Ensoniq VFX & ESQ-1, SE-1X, Korg MS-20mini, Polysix, SH-101 (red), 707, CR-8000, KPR-77, PO-12, Yamaha C1 Music Computer, Synare PS-1, FX, mixers, some more stuff..

User avatar
Stab Frenzy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9723
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 5:41 pm
Gear: Eurorack, RYTM, Ultranova, many FX
Location: monster island*
Contact:

Post by Stab Frenzy » Wed May 16, 2007 3:17 pm

Soundwave wrote:Spirit Folio Lite mixing desk going into a Music Fidelity x10D valve preamp then in to the terratec Phase 28 PCI card in to Sonar 3.1 on my custom AMD dual core DAW, simple and effective(ish). :)
You're the second person (I think) who's posted that they go mixer -> preamp -> interface.

Why are you doing it that way? Seems to me that all you'd be doing is messing up your gain structure and overdriving the pre.

Am I missing something, or is it for the sound of the pre? If so, why not just bypass the mixer and go instrument -> pre -> interface when you want to record and just use the mixer for when you're not recording?

edit: just googled that pre, didn't realise it was a line level 'fairy dust' type unit. Makes more sense now, like putting an aural exciter in the output stage.

User avatar
divineaudio
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 301
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 8:32 pm
Gear: far too much.
Band: metria
Location: detroit
Contact:

Post by divineaudio » Wed May 16, 2007 9:13 pm

Stab Frenzy wrote: or is it for the sound of the pre? .
pretty much. my bluetube is really more of a set and forget effects processor than anyhting else (i have a second one that i use for mics). i have everything set so i can jam out with my gear w/o having the computer/recording setup powered up and running, and also so i can record direct out from the mixer or bus out through the preamp for a little extra fat and sugar. it's all about options :)

User avatar
garranimal
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 1728
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2004 8:57 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by garranimal » Thu May 17, 2007 4:29 am

Cubase + EMU 1616

User avatar
code green
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 535
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 6:58 am
Gear: prophet 600/evolver/juno 6/alpha juno 2/bassst'n/crumar performer/jv1010/suitcase rhodes 73/ '78 gibson l6-s/'73 guild mahogany/'69 fender princeton
Band: thermite zapruder
Location: brooklyn

Post by code green » Mon May 21, 2007 5:39 pm

main hardware setup:

(mic'd) tube pre from an ampex 600 something or other-->yamaha aw2816
(direct) mackie vlz pro mixer (generally, as most of my synths are patched into it)--> hbb fatman compressor (sometimes)-->aw2816

software: PT le7.1
for selected tape f*ckery: old tascam casette 4-track.

User avatar
Uncle Screwtape
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 99
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2007 7:45 am
Real name: Jay
Gear: Access Virus Indigo
Alesis ion
Arturia MiniBrute SE
DSI Mopho
Novation KS4
Vermona DRM1 MkIII
Roland TR-707
Korg DDD-5
Korg Volcas (4)
Band: Uncle Screwtape
Location: Za Doonjun, Oakhurst, NJ
Contact:

Post by Uncle Screwtape » Mon May 21, 2007 7:36 pm

Soundcraft CompACT10 -> Dual 2.0 G5 Desktop w/M-Audio 2496 Card -> GarageBand :oops:

Don't laugh, now. I put the money into the G5. Moving to Logic when I can. 8)
Your... affectionate uncle,
-Screwtape

User avatar
JSRockit
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 3911
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: New York City

Post by JSRockit » Mon May 21, 2007 10:18 pm

Synths / Drum Machines / Samplers straight into a MOTU Ultralite / Macbook...no processing, eq, compression, or mixer on the way in. Use Peak to record everything, then chop everything into loops and resequence them in Live. Then record vocals and more synths in Logic...and compress, reverberate, limit, eq, etc in Logic.
Korg Volcas / 6 x TE POs / MicroBrute / EH Space Drum & Crash Pad

User avatar
viscerallove
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 10:20 pm
Location: Tampa, FL
Contact:

Post by viscerallove » Tue May 22, 2007 3:11 am

synths/vocals/etc -> Presonus firebox -> PC (intel core duo 2.0 Ghz) -> FL Studio 6 for now. i want to use sonar 6 (mainly for 24-bit recording), but i know fl so well that i dont really want to have to learn a new daw.
my music

Clavia Nord Lead
Korg Poly 800
Korg DSS-1
Oberheim Matrix-6
Novation KS 4
Roland V-Synth

User avatar
i_watch_stars
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 271
Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2006 9:49 am
Location: Seattle

Post by i_watch_stars » Tue May 22, 2007 4:06 am

Uncle Screwtape wrote:Soundcraft CompACT10 -> Dual 2.0 G5 Desktop w/M-Audio 2496 Card -> GarageBand :oops:
LOL...why dude? :? Seriously though, you can get a lite version of any of the major sequencers for 100$....

Post Reply