Using Guitar Pedals with Synths

Discussions on sound production outside the synthesizer such as mixing, processing, recording, editing and mastering.

Using Guitar Pedals with Synths

Postby SWAN » Sat Jun 02, 2007 12:46 pm

Ive noticed that whenever I hook up for example, a ditortion pedal between my synths and my mixer-when the pedal is on the output signal is significantly lower than when the pedal is off-and its just the synth signal running thru........

Is this because of the different output levels of synths and guitars>? Its a little annoying.....;)
SWAN
Active Member
Active Member
 
Posts: 448
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2007 10:21 pm

Postby JSRockit » Sat Jun 02, 2007 12:57 pm

Yeah, in order to do it properly, you need something like this:

http://www.reamp.com/

However, many people use guitar pedals without this on their synths.
Korg Volcas / 6 x TE POs / MicroBrute / EH Space Drum & Crash Pad
User avatar
JSRockit
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
 
Posts: 3911
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: New York City

Postby Uncle Screwtape » Sat Jun 02, 2007 6:22 pm

Never experimented with the issue, and I'm just guessing here, but I would think you could lower the (clean) output level of the synth to match the effected output level, then bring up the gain on the mixer.
Your... affectionate uncle,
-Screwtape
User avatar
Uncle Screwtape
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 99
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2007 7:45 am
Location: Za Doonjun, Oakhurst, NJ
Real name: Jay
Gear: Access Virus Indigo
Alesis ion
Arturia MiniBrute SE
DSI Mopho
Novation KS4
Vermona DRM1 MkIII
Roland TR-707
Korg DDD-5
Korg Volcas (4)
Band: Uncle Screwtape


Return to Sound Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests