MIDI

Discussions on sound production outside the synthesizer such as mixing, processing, recording, editing and mastering.
meneedit

MIDI

Post by meneedit » Fri Jun 08, 2007 5:43 am

Hey guys, 8)

when I eventually get my synth and everything set up I am gonna make the switch from FL 3.5 to Cubase.

It's gonna take me a while to get used to cubase but i'll live.

anyway instead of recording me playing the synth as a wav file and then importing it into the program, I want to hook it up via MIDI and use the piano roll.

I have already done this through fruityloops but when I try to change the volume of the MIDI-OUT channel (the channel that the Ion is playing through) it messes up the pitch.

Now, I am still very new to midi and dont know what it is capable of and dont know what sort of things you can do.

here are some questions I have about MIDI/Cubase...

MIDI questions:

1. Am I able to edit the envelope, cut, pitch-bend, etc... of individual notes? If so, that will make things so much easier! :D

2. In fruityloops I cant add effects to the MIDI-OUT channel. Can this be done in Cubase?

3. I currently hook up my Ion through the external box that comes with the Audigy 2 ZS. Should I connect it through something else or is it ok to do it that way?

CUBASE questions:

1. Does Cubase have a note splicer in the piano roll?

2. Does the piano roll allow you to place notes virtually anywhere or are they snapped to gridlines?

3. Does Cubase come with its own delay reverb and distortion effects?

4. How hard is it to perform sidechaining in cubase, it's pretty easy to do in fruityloops but I still

5. Even with the buffer size put right up and smart disable on for all channels, fruityloops still lags with some of my tracks.
Is Cubase better for performance?

My machine is a P4 3.0 with 512 ram and an Audigy 2 ZS.

MISC questions: