Kinda need some tips on getting some good sound of a...

Discussions on sound production outside the synthesizer such as mixing, processing, recording, editing and mastering.
Cirrus Winery

Kinda need some tips on getting some good sound of a...

Post by Cirrus Winery » Sun Mar 02, 2008 2:06 pm

Roland SH-1000.

I'm kindof a n00b when it comes to real synthesizers. I know how to work some of the classics like the arp 2600 and moog modular thanks to virtual emulations so i can get some good sounds out of THEM, but this thing i just can't get the hang of.

The sound is so incredibly boring no matter how much i attempt to play around with the knobs. Is there some way to make this thing sound atleast decent? I don't know anything about pedal effects etc seeing as i'm fairly new to non-virtual synths in general.

Got any tips? Anyone?

Bitexion
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Gear: Alesis Andromeda A6
Roland D-50
Creamware Minimax
Yamaha DX7s
Analogue Systems modular
Ensoniq SQ-80
Waldorf Blofeld

Post by Bitexion » Sun Mar 02, 2008 2:20 pm

Firstly, the VST synths you have tried have more than 1 oscillator, and usually heaps of effects (at least the arturia ones). This is a basic 1VCO synth, so it takes some skill to get it to sound interesting. It's also Roland's first produced synth, so it's old and basic.

Read some articles online about subtractive synthesis if you don't know what filters and envelopes are supposed to do.
How to get good sound out of THAT particular synth, I can't say. 1VCO synths tend to sound pretty boring compared to synths with several, and usually external effects are used to make them more interesting on albums.

Here you can get the manual
http://www.vintagesynth.com/roland/sh1000.shtml
Last edited by Bitexion on Sun Mar 02, 2008 2:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Cirrus Winery

Post by Cirrus Winery » Sun Mar 02, 2008 2:27 pm