'Thickening Up' Digital Synth Tracks?

Discussions on sound production outside the synthesizer such as mixing, processing, recording, editing and mastering.
User avatar
JSRockit
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 3911
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: New York City

Re: 'Thickening Up' Digital Synth Tracks?

Post by JSRockit » Fri Sep 11, 2009 1:38 pm

I'm going through a radial JDI into a Great River ME-1NV... and I'd say that it isn't no magic box that is going to take some thin sound and make it huge. Good programming to start with, then the pre-amp is the icing on the cake.
Korg Volcas / 6 x TE POs / MicroBrute / EH Space Drum & Crash Pad

User avatar
trevordutton
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 152
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 6:35 pm
Real name: trevor
Gear: Polivoks, FR XS, MS20, MEK, Blue Lantern modular, DRM MK111, Waldorf Pulse, Mini and Microbrutes, Analog filters galore
Location: seattle area
Contact:

Re: 'Thickening Up' Digital Synth Tracks?

Post by trevordutton » Sun Sep 13, 2009 8:08 pm

Well lookee-loo:
http://www.niioanalog.com/track-thickener
Mightn't this be exactly what I've been craving? Anyone here have experience with the Niioanalog gear?

User avatar
analoglsd
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 578
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2008 7:53 am
Real name: Lance
Gear: Buchla Music Easel, TE OP-1, Korg MS-20, Yamaha RS-7000, Effects Pedals
Location: Oakland, CA
Contact:

Re: 'Thickening Up' Digital Synth Tracks?

Post by analoglsd » Sun Sep 20, 2009 6:25 pm

I run most everything through an older tube amp with spring reverb.
Any tube preamp or digital reverb would do as well.
Really, any reverb should do fine, if you're looking to "thicken" something or give something flat some depth.

Post Reply