audio interface

Discussions on sound production outside the synthesizer such as mixing, processing, recording, editing and mastering.
User avatar
sequentialsoftshock
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 2413
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 1:57 am
Real name: Zayne
Gear: Pro~One, MS20, MPC60, Aalto, Volca Beats, Volca Keys, Beatstep, Casio MT18, BitOne (sorta), Circle, Orbit 3, K5, Stylos, Univox Hi Flier, iPad
Band: Echo & Liora
Location: Paris / Philadelphia
Contact:

Re: audio interface

Post by sequentialsoftshock » Mon Aug 23, 2010 8:15 pm

krushing wrote: Should probably be mentioned that it "only" has 4 analog ins & 6 outs - the rest is made up of the S/PDIF, ADAT & MIDI ports. Still, powerful little package.
Ahh I see. This might sound stupid, but every interface seems to have more inputs, but only with an S/PDIF port. What exactly does one need to buy to use those extra two? I've never seen an S/PDIF interface..?
bonne chance

User avatar
Stab Frenzy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9723
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 5:41 pm
Gear: Eurorack, RYTM, Ultranova, many FX
Location: monster island*
Contact:

Re: audio interface

Post by Stab Frenzy » Tue Aug 24, 2010 1:31 am

Anything with S/PDIF ins and outs. MPCs, FX units, preamps and higher-end digital synths all have them. I use the S/PDIF IO on my interface to hook up a reverb unit.

Ashe37
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3793
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 3:43 pm
Real name: Unpronounceable
Gear: Ensoniq SD-1/32,SQR,VFX,ESQm
Virus Indigo, M3-61 , MS2000BR, Volca Bass
Emu XL-7, Matrix 6r
TG-33, K3m, Blofeld, Micron, Mopho, BS II, JV-1080
Band: Eridani V
Location: Central VA

Re: audio interface

Post by Ashe37 » Tue Aug 24, 2010 4:51 am

Let's see... my M3 has S/PDIF. I think the Emu has AES/EBU... thats about it.

User avatar
Old Iron Giant
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 385
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 6:18 am
Gear: Virus Ti2, Indig2, EmuXL7, Microkorg.
Band: KHz+
Location: Far Side of the moon
Contact:

Re: audio interface

Post by Old Iron Giant » Tue Aug 24, 2010 5:57 am

me being a noob to music recording.
could someone explain to me the purpose of having several Outputs on one interface?

for example. the Motu ultralite MK3 has 14 Outputs, and only 10 inputs? :/ I don't understand what their used for.
maybe my setup is wrong, but I only use the two main outputs to my monitors, The firewire > PC to record, and find myself needing more line inputs for my gear.

please clue me in on this. lol
I see someone above me asked a similar question.
I don't mean to upset anyone if this is a dumb question to ask, but I'm really in the dark on this one.

User avatar
Stab Frenzy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9723
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 5:41 pm
Gear: Eurorack, RYTM, Ultranova, many FX
Location: monster island*
Contact:

Re: audio interface

Post by Stab Frenzy » Tue Aug 24, 2010 6:06 am

You should just get an interface with the right amount of ins and outs for your needs, and that will change depending on what you're doing.

When I'm doing location recording I might need 16 inputs and only two outputs, but if I'm mixing something down I might need more outputs so I can run things through external effects and/or an external mixer. When I play live I don't use any inputs, but I have outputs for various tracks, clock signals for the modular, effects sends etc.

User avatar
Old Iron Giant
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 385
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 6:18 am
Gear: Virus Ti2, Indig2, EmuXL7, Microkorg.
Band: KHz+
Location: Far Side of the moon
Contact:

Re: audio interface

Post by Old Iron Giant » Tue Aug 24, 2010 6:12 am

that makes sense.
thanks.

Post Reply