Large LCD TV as studio monitor

Discussions on sound production outside the synthesizer such as mixing, processing, recording, editing and mastering.
User avatar
mung
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 78
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2008 4:38 am
Gear: Nord Electro, Yamaha DX 7, Alesis Ion, Crumar Orchestrator, Roland Juno-G, Korg R3, Casiotone 7000, Edirol PCR-M80, Boss RE20, Boss RT20, Boss GT-8
Location: Jeffersonville, Indiana
Contact:

Re: Large LCD TV as studio monitor

Post by mung » Wed Oct 13, 2010 2:41 pm

D-Collector, who designed that studio? It looks ALOT like Morrissound Studios in Tampa, Florida.

User avatar
rharris07
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1124
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 4:41 am
Real name: Ryan
Band: Ghost Fires, The Witch Family
Location: Austin, TX
Contact:

Re: Large LCD TV as studio monitor

Post by rharris07 » Wed Oct 13, 2010 2:51 pm

This one looks easy enough to read...

Image

MEK | SixTrak | DrumTraks | Motif 8 | DW8000 | MicroKorg | EMX1 & ESX1 | Soviet TOM | Arp Quartet | SD-1 32V | Elka 490 | Indigo 2 | E6400 | Morpheus | SQ2 | DotCom Modular

User avatar
D-Collector
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1229
Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 3:01 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Large LCD TV as studio monitor

Post by D-Collector » Wed Oct 13, 2010 3:36 pm

mung wrote:D-Collector, who designed that studio? It looks ALOT like Morrissound Studios in Tampa, Florida.
It was some norwegian acoustician.. Don't remember who.

User avatar
Esus
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 741
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 10:58 am

Re: Large LCD TV as studio monitor

Post by Esus » Wed Oct 13, 2010 4:27 pm

Nice Studers. Is that an SSL console?

User avatar
D-Collector
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1229
Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 3:01 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Large LCD TV as studio monitor

Post by D-Collector » Wed Oct 13, 2010 4:35 pm

SSL 6000 E/G.

He's a total nut about compressors and preamps. Sad thing is he does not have a single synth or sampler. I keep telling him now all he needs is a wall of synths. :lol:

User avatar
Esus
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 741
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 10:58 am

Re: Large LCD TV as studio monitor

Post by Esus » Wed Oct 13, 2010 4:51 pm

Wow. He has some serious coin invested in that room. All I see is analog--does he run Pro Tools or Nuendo, etc. in there as well?

It would be awesome to see a Moog III in there as well. ;)

User avatar
D-Collector
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1229
Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 3:01 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Large LCD TV as studio monitor

Post by D-Collector » Wed Oct 13, 2010 5:10 pm

Yes the studios big draw is analog recording. He runs Pro-Tools. I help him out with the occasional soft-synth and drum programming.

That would be awesome, yes!

User avatar
tallowwaters
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4998
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2005 4:11 am
Gear: LC-MS/MS
Location: snake's belly in a wagon rut

Re: Large LCD TV as studio monitor

Post by tallowwaters » Wed Oct 13, 2010 6:40 pm

I use a 42" LCD with a computer and it looks great. I had to f**k with API settings for a while, but it's gorgeous, nothing blurry about it.
Brains can be used like a "stress ball," but only once.

User avatar
krzeppa
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 597
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 2:27 pm
Real name: Kevin J
Band: Where the Embers Fall
Location: Michigan, USA
Contact:

Re: Large LCD TV as studio monitor

Post by krzeppa » Wed Oct 13, 2010 7:18 pm

rharris07 wrote:This one looks easy enough to read...

Image
why suck a small monitor? :lol:

User avatar
filtermod
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 179
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2007 7:07 pm
Location: trolling some internet forum

Re: Large LCD TV as studio monitor

Post by filtermod » Wed Oct 13, 2010 7:19 pm

tallowwaters wrote:I use a 42" LCD with a computer and it looks great. I had to f**k with API settings for a while, but it's gorgeous, nothing blurry about it.
What make/ model? What did it run you?
you can't fix stupid

User avatar
novielo
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1221
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 2:37 pm
Gear: in order of appearence:
sh2000 s612 nord modular mpc1000 kp3 ms-something cp-251 gameboy s6000 and other crappy stuff
Band: one-man band
Location: by the river, st-jerome, quebec, canada, north america
Contact:

Re: Large LCD TV as studio monitor

Post by novielo » Wed Oct 13, 2010 7:21 pm

i got a toshiba regza lcd 1080p 120hz. nothing blurry here, it's plugged with hdmi and i run cubase and sony vegas pro with it
-Save yourself the time and have a conversation with a plastic chair. -RobotHeroes

User avatar
Esus
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 741
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 10:58 am

Re: Large LCD TV as studio monitor

Post by Esus » Wed Oct 13, 2010 8:26 pm

rharris07 wrote:This one looks easy enough to read...

Image
Is that Klaus Schulze's studio?

User avatar
tallowwaters
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4998
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2005 4:11 am
Gear: LC-MS/MS
Location: snake's belly in a wagon rut

Re: Large LCD TV as studio monitor

Post by tallowwaters » Wed Oct 13, 2010 10:35 pm

filtermod wrote:
tallowwaters wrote:I use a 42" LCD with a computer and it looks great. I had to f**k with API settings for a while, but it's gorgeous, nothing blurry about it.
What make/ model? What did it run you?
It's a Sanyo, not sure of the model #. I traded a POS .38 (legally) for it so not sure of actual cost at the time.
Brains can be used like a "stress ball," but only once.

User avatar
sequentialsoftshock
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 2413
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 1:57 am
Real name: Zayne
Gear: Pro~One, MS20, MPC60, Aalto, Volca Beats, Volca Keys, Beatstep, Casio MT18, BitOne (sorta), Circle, Orbit 3, K5, Stylos, Univox Hi Flier, iPad
Band: Echo & Liora
Location: Paris / Philadelphia
Contact:

Re: Large LCD TV as studio monitor

Post by sequentialsoftshock » Wed Oct 13, 2010 11:19 pm

I don't really think I like the projector setup. It looks kind of blurry even in the photo...
bonne chance

User avatar
gmeredith
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 707
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 5:06 am
Band: Warning Will Robinson
Location: Tasmania, Australia
Contact:

Re: Large LCD TV as studio monitor

Post by gmeredith » Thu Oct 14, 2010 12:49 am

Wow, thanks guys for your feedback! Seems like its variable, dependent much on the TV chosen. I'll be having the screen just over 1m away from my eyes. Getting my g450 card today so I can start fiddling. I'll see how it looks hooked up to my friends 50" plasma TV and try and get resolutions and refresh rates right, then I'll know what I'm up against when I go to buy a TV of my own.

Ashe: yes the G450 will do 1920x1080 using a custom resolution utility provided by Matrox for widescreen monitors.

Cheers, Graham
Casio: FZ1, CZ101, PG380, VZ10M, SK8, SK60, RAP10, DP1 drums, DH100, CDP200, DM100
Yamaha: TX81z, TX802, SHS10, DTXv2
Roland: SH101, DR660, MS1, PM16, TR33
Others: Korg MicroKontrol, ES-1, Alesis MMT8, Emu ESi2000 & card reader, BCR2000, V-Machine

Post Reply